→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Gorillaz, Bachar Mar-Khalifé, Songhoy Blues, Y’akoto and more.

Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (Deluxe) 
Gorillaz

The music world is still mourning the death of Tony Allen, the boss of Afrobeat and huge Nigerian drum player who passed away on May 2, 2020. In response, the British group Gorillaz decided to pay him tribute and revealed the track “How Far”, recorded in the Londoner studios a few days before the Lockdown. A dark piece in which the rapper Skepta, pioneer of the Drill movement is kicking some shady lyrics, haunted by Tony Allen’s laugh in the background.

Listen here.

Classe Tendresse – EP
Pierre Kwenders et Clément Bazin 

A suave and delicious patchwork of African sounds and pop vocals just like this duo: two years after the release of his latest album, French producer and instrumentalist Clément Bazin is back with Nowadays alongside Montreal singer and activist Pierre Kwenders, from the hot collective Moonshine, for this delightful first EP.

Listen here.

On / Off
Bachar Mar-Khalifé

Five years after the inevitable Ya Balad (InFiné), Bachar Mar-Khalifé is back with ON/OFF: vibrant ballads, hypnotic piano, oriental lyricism and electronic power ups, the multi-instrumentalist remains faithful to what makes his personality. On this fifth album recorded in his native Lebanon, he also proves that he has lost nothing of his capacity for indignation.

Listen here.

Optimisme
Songhoy Blues 

Sons of Mali, revolutionary artists, refugees, virtuosos, survivors, rockstars, the Songhoy Blues represent the future of African rock’n’roll. Their Malian music impregnated with desert sonorities recalls the black roots of rock based on blues scales, and gives back to the African continent its legacy.

Listen here.

Jazz is Dead 4 
Azymuth, Ali Shaheed Muhammad & Adrian Younge

Four years after their last album to date, the instrumental trio Azymuth is back with an update of their jazz-funk-samba fusion. Their collaboration with the duo Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammed (ex-member of A Tribe Called Quest’s group) for the label Jazz Is Dead offers a samba in permanent revolution.

Listen here.

OBAA YAA – EP 
Y’aKoto

Her soul music influenced by afrobeats and swaying rhythms make a very trendy album, and it works. After having spent a large part of her life between Germany, France and Ghana, it is to the latter that she pays tribute on the four tracks of this EP. “Life is not a long quiet river, but you have to know how to accept it in order to live it as serenely as possible. Ghanaian culture has taught me to put things into perspective. “she says on the first track.

Listen here.

Amapiano Selections
Teno Afrika

Teno Afrika traces the seedlings of the electronic music movement in South Africa, the amapiano. Long considered a hybrid subgenre of house music, the amapiano first developed in the townships of Gauteng province before conquering the hearts of an entire country.

Listen here.

ELEMENTS Vol.1
TOBi

Resilience has been a prominent feature in the work of this Lagos-born artist who lived in Brampton, Canada. It is therefore not surprising that his new project addresses themes such as the fight against racism and resistance to violence suffered by immigrants from the African diaspora on the American continent. His mix of Afrobeats, grime and soul makes him one of the artists to focus on.

Listen here.

Rose Hertz
Caleb Kunle

For his latest release, Rose Hertz, Caleb’s music undulates towards an airy and sensitive atmosphere, where solid yet unattached voices intermingle with melodies. The artist dissects love in all its forms and probes the human soul for answers, becoming the spokesman for an introspective era, in particular by questioning idea of love through the prism of familial roles for Nigerian women.  

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 1 mois

Les 9 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine : l’hommage de Gorillaz au grand batteur Tony Allen, le mélange afro-pop délicieux du duo Pierre Kwenders et Clément Bazin, le lyrisme oriental de Bachar Mar-Khalifé et le rock africain de Songhoy Blues. Une samba revisitée sur le label Jazz is Dead, des regards sensibles à notre époque avec TOBi et Caleb Kunle, un voyage immobile sur les traces de l’amapiano avec Teno Afrika et pour terminer, des petits pas chaloupés sur les sonorités soul et afrobeats de Y’akoto. 

Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (Deluxe) 
Gorillaz

Alors que le monde de la musique est en deuil depuis le décès le 02 mai dernier du boss de l’afrobeat et grand batteur Tony Allen, le groupe britannique Gorillaz a décidé de lui rendre hommage sur leur nouvel album en dévoilant le morceau « How Far? » enregistré peu de temps avant le confinement dans les studios londoniens. Un morceau très sombre sur lequel le rappeur Skepta distille son flow avec le rire de Tony Allen en arrière-plan.

Écoutez ici.

Classe Tendresse – EP
Pierre Kwenders et Clément Bazin 

Un patchwork suave de sonorités africaines et de chant pop à l’image de ce duo : deux ans après la sortie de son dernier album, le producteur et instrumentiste français Clément Bazin est de retour chez Nowadays aux côtés du chanteur et activiste montréalais Pierre Kwenders, du brûlant collectif Moonshine, pour ce premier EP délicieux.

Écoutez ici.

On / Off
Bachar Mar-Khalifé

Cinq ans après l’incontournable Ya Balad (InFiné), Bachar Mar-Khalifé fait son retour avec ON/OFF : ballades vibrantes, piano hypnotique, lyrisme oriental et montées en puissance électroniques, le multi-instrumentiste reste fidèle à ce qui fait sa signature. Sur ce cinquième album enregistré dans son Liban natal, il prouve aussi qu’il n’a rien perdu de sa capacité d’indignation.

Écoutez ici.

Optimisme
Songhoy Blues 

Fils du Mali, artistes révolutionnaires, réfugiés, virtuoses, survivants, rockstars, les Songhoy Blues représentent l’avenir du rock’n’roll africain. Leur musique malienne, imprégnée des sonorités du désert, évoque les racines noires du rock, basé sur les gammes du blues, et rend au continent africain cette culture qui est son héritage.

Écoutez ici.

Jazz is Dead 4 
Azymuth, Ali Shaheed Muhammad & Adrian Younge

Quatre ans après leur dernier album en date, le trio instrumental Azymuth est de retour avec une remise à jour de sa fusion jazz-funk-samba. Leur collaboration avec le duo Adrian Younge et Ali Shaheed Muhammad (ancien membre du groupe A Tribe Called Quest) pour le label Jazz Is Dead propose une samba en révolution permanente.

Écoutez ici.

OBAA YAA – EP 
Y’aKoto

Sa soul influencée par l’afrobeats et des rythmes chaloupés forme un album très tendance, et ça marche. Après avoir passé une grande partie de sa vie entre l’Allemagne, la France et le Ghana, c’est à ce dernier qu’elle rend hommage sur les quatre titres de cet EP. « La vie n’est pas un long fleuve tranquille, mais il faut savoir l’accepter pour la vivre le plus sereinement possible. La culture ghanéenne m’a appris à relativiser les choses. » affirme-t-elle sur le premier titre. 

Écoutez ici.

Amapiano Selections
Teno Afrika

Sur ce premier album, Teno Afrika revient sur les traces du plus jeune mouvement de musique électronique d’Afrique du Sud, l’amapiano. Longtemps considéré comme un sous-genre hybride de la house, il a d’abord connu les townships de la province de Gauteng avant de conquérir les cœurs d’un pays tout entier.

Écoutez ici.

ELEMENTS Vol.1
TOBi

La résilience a été un trait marquant dans l’œuvre de cet artiste né à Lagos et ayant grandi à Brampton (Canada). Il n’est donc pas étonnant que son nouveau projet aborde des thèmes comme la lutte contre le racisme et la résistance face aux violences que subissent les immigrants de la diaspora africaine sur le continent américain. Son mélange d’afrobeats, de grime et de soul en fait l’un des artistes à suivre de près en ce moment.

Écoutez ici.

Rose Hertz
Caleb Kunle

Caleb fait onduler sa musique dans une atmosphère aérienne et sensible, où s’entremêlent mélodies et voix solides, pourtant sans attaches. L’artiste y décortique l’amour sous toutes ses formes et sonde avec justesse les âmes humaines en devenant le porte-parole d’une époque introspective, notamment en explorant les rôles et les défis auxquels sont confrontées les femmes du Nigéria au sein de leur famille.

Écoutez ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé