→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

BBE reissues two albums by mysterious Victor Chukwu

The British label gives a second life to the albums Akalaka and The Power, recorded by the figure of igbo highlife, Victor Chukwu. John Armstrong, curator of the Tabansi reissues, provides some background.

Recorded between the late 70s and early 80s, Akalaka and The Power have both become as untraceable as their mysterious creator. Singer and saxophonist, Victor Chukwu – deceased for more than 20 years – left almost no trace of his spiritual highlife, except for a bunch of LPs now sold on Discogs for a few ingots. Forty years later, BBE aims to resurrect this pocket of positive waves with a double reissue. The release features seven long songs in total, ones that preach the pride, dignity and identity of the Igbo people, as seen on the exclusive track below. The journalist John Armstrong shares a slice of culture about the guitar bands from eastern Nigeria and the peaceful controversy between Ghana and Nigeria over the appropriation of the highlife genre.

Uncle Victor Chuks & The Black Irokos – Nwanne Bu Nwanne

“I’ve seen several social media controversies raging on West African music lovers’ threads recently -mostly good-natured- about the origins of highlife. Sometimes, Ghanaians light-heartedly ‘accuse’ Nigerians of appropriating ‘their’ music, but frankly, all the Nigerian musicians I’ve spoken to readily identify Ghana as the birthplace of highlife, and the inspiration for Nigerian highlife- especially the Igbo styles from the South East.

The Ghana influence on Nigerian guitar bands has been extensive since the early days, both on the juju groups in the West and on the Palm-Wine (acoustic guitar/percussion) groups in the Midwest and East. As early as the 1930s ‘Konkomba’ Ghana  drumming bands were touring Nigeria, and in 1935 Ghana’s legendary Cape Coast Sugar Babies orchestra and the Axim Trio toured, followed in the early 1950s by the great E.T. Mensah’s Tempos orchestra and E.K. Nyame’s band.

Mensah’s influence was probably the greatest, inspiring Yoruba bands led by Bobby Benson, Victor Alaiya, Roy Chicago, Victor Uwaifo and others, as well as Igbo Eastern Nigerian groups like Rex Lawson’s, E,C,Arinze’s, and BBE’s own Zeal Onyia. Zeal actually went to Ghana in the early 50s and played in Mensah’s band (for more, see my sleevenotes on BBE’s reissue of ‘Trumpet King Zeal Onyia returns’).

But as the 50s bled into the 60s, the Igbo guitar-band highlife style came to prominence, with its stripped down bass/electric guitar/percussion line-up, only occasionally augmented by a horn section. Later, Oliver De Coque added a distinctive Congolese soukous guitar flavour to proceedings, and it was this train of events that finally gave birth to a totally distinctive, Igbo guitar highlife genre, beloved not least by the ‘picoteros’ of the colombian coastal Champeta carnival soundsystems, where Igbo highlife rarities such as Victor Chukwu’s Akalaka changed hands for massive sums, later to be ‘covered up’ (like  Northern Soul rarities and Dub reggae plates), but with Spanish titles, like this one of Victor’s :

El Estafador / Oge Chukwu

After the fierce and bloody Biafran War, Juju music started to replace Highlife in the mainly-Yoruba north but highlife remained popular in the South. The highly influential Rex Lawson’s Rivermen changed their name to the Professional Seagulls after Rex’ death, Celestine Okwu’s Philosophers National held down a more melancholy highlife style, whilst Sonny Okosun added on an occasional reggae lilt. Chief Stephen Osadebe, Goddy Ezeke and Eddie Akonta continued the solid Igbo highlife style with occasional brass (Okonta was himself a trumpeter), while Godwin Kakaka’s Oriental Brothers really nailed the guitar-band sound, leading ultimately to Prince Nico’s world-famous ‘Sweet Mother’, the  lodestone of Igbo guitar highlife.

All this time, Uncle Victor continued to tour continuously, although his records are few and far between, the Tabansi releases and one LP on JetStar being the full tally that we know of.

Uncle Victor Chukwu -aka Chuks, Actor Victor- passed away quietly almost a quarter of a century ago, Today, he’s scarcely remembered, even by Igbo highlife diehard collectors and fans. And yet his tiny recorded output is up there with Stephen Osadebe’s 45 LPs and Oliver De Coque’s 70-odd releases, in my opinion.

John Armstrong

The albums will be out on November 6. Pre-order here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

BBE réédite deux albums du mystérieux Victor Chukwu

Le label britannique donne une seconde vie aux albums Akalaka et The Power, enregistrés par Victor Chukwu, figure du highlife igbo. John Armstrong, curateur des rééditions Tabansi, nous donne quelques éléments de contexte.

Enregistrés à cheval entre la fin des années 70 et le début des années 80, les disques Akalaka et The Power sont devenus tout aussi introuvables que les informations concernant leur géniteur. Chanteur et saxophoniste, Victor Chukwu – décédé depuis plus de 20 ans – n’a presque pas laissé de trace de son highlife spirituel, si ce n’est une poignée de LPs aujourd’hui vendus sur Discogs pour quelques lingots. 40 ans plus tard, BBE propose de ressusciter ce condensé d’ondes positives avec une double réédition composée de sept longues chansons qui prônent la fierté, la dignité et l’identité du peuple igbo, à l’image du morceau ci-dessous que nous vous offrons en avant-première. Le journaliste John Armstrong nous partage une tranche de culture au sujet de ces guitar-bands de l’est du Nigéria et de la controverse pacifique entre le Ghana et le Nigéria pour l’appropriation du genre highlife. 

Uncle Victor Chuks & The Black Irokos – Nwanne Bu Nwanne

« J’ai récemment vu plusieurs débats faire rage sur les réseaux sociaux, sur des fils de discussion de mélomanes d’Afrique de l’Ouest – pour la plupart bienveillants – au sujet des origines du highlife. Parfois, les Ghanéens « accusent » avec légèreté les Nigérians de s’approprier « leur » musique, mais franchement, tous les musiciens nigérians avec qui j’ai parlé identifient volontiers le Ghana comme le berceau du highlife et l’inspiration du highlife nigérian, en particulier les styles igbo du sud-est.

L’influence du Ghana sur les guitar-bands nigérians a été considérable depuis le début, à la fois sur les groupes de juju dans l’ouest et sur les groupes de Palm-Wine music (guitare acoustique/percussions) dans le midwest et l’est. Dès les années 30, les groupes de percussions du peuple Konkomba du Ghana partaient en tournée au Nigéria, puis en 1935, le légendaire orchestre Cape Coast Sugar Babies du Ghana et l’Axim Trio a également tourné, suivi au début des années 1950 par le grand orchestre E.T.Mensah & the Tempos et le groupe E. K. Nyame.

L’influence de Mensah était probablement la plus importante, inspirant des groupes yorubas dirigés par Bobby Benson, Victor Alaiya, Roy Chicago, Victor Uwaifo et d’autres, ainsi que des groupes igbo de l’est nigérian comme Rex Lawson, E.C. Arinze et Zeal Onyia. Zeal s’est en fait rendu au Ghana au début des années 50 et a joué dans le groupe de Mensah (pour en savoir plus, voir mes notes sur la réédition de BBE de « Trumpet King Zeal Onyia Returns »).

Mais alors que les années 50 filaient vers les années 60, le style highlife des guitar-bands igbo a pris de l’importance, avec son line-up dépouillé de basse / guitare électrique / percussion, parfois augmenté d’une section de cuivres. Plus tard, Oliver De Coque y ajouta une touche distincte de guitare soukous congolaise, et c’est cette succession d’événements qui a finalement donné naissance à un genre highlife igbo totalement caractéristique. Ce style était particulièrement apprécié par les « picoteros », les soundsystems de champeta des carnavals colombiens. Les raretés igbo highlife telles que l’Akalaka de Victor Chukwu s’y échangeaient pour des sommes d’argent énormes, pour être reprises plus tard – à la manière des raretés Northern Soul et des dubplates reggae – mais avec des titres espagnols, comme ce titre de Victor :

El Estafador / Oge Chukwu

Après la guerre féroce et sanglante du Biafra, la musique Juju a commencé à remplacer le highlife dans le nord (principalement yoruba), mais le highlife est restée populaire dans le sud. Les très influents Rivermen de Rex Lawson ont changé leur nom en Professional Seagulls après la mort de Rex.  Celestine Ukwu and his Philosophers National ont maintenu un style highlife plus mélancolique, tandis que Sonny Okosun ajoutait de temps à autre un peu de reggae. Chief Stephen Osadebe, Goddy Ezeke et Eddie Akonta ont conservé le solide style highlife Igbo avec des cuivres occasionnels (Okonta était lui-même trompettiste), tandis que Godwin Kakaka and his Oriental Brothers ont sublimé le son des guitar-bands, conduisant finalement au mondialement célèbre « Sweet Mother » de Prince Nico, pierre angulaire de la guitare Igbo highlife.

Pendant tout ce temps, Oncle Victor a continué à tourner sans interruption. Ses disques sont rares, les sorties sur Tabansi ainsi qu’ un LP sorti sur JetStar sont les seuls que nous connaissons.

Oncle Victor Chukwu – alias Chuks, Actor Victor – est décédé en silence il y a près d’un quart de siècle.  Aujourd’hui, on s’en souvient à peine, même chez les collectionneurs et les fans inconditionnels d’Igbo highlife. Et pourtant, ses quelques enregistrements sont là-haut aux côtés des 45 LPs de Stephen Osadebe et des quelques 70 albums d’Oliver De Coque, à mon humble opinion. »

John Armstrong

La réédition sera disponible dès le 6 novembre. Précommandez-la ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé