→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Enny celebrates the beauty of black women on "Peng Black Girls"

The rapper and singer from South East London has released “Peng Black Girls” with singer Amia Brave, carrying a strong message of empowerment.

Black is beautiful, y’know …” This message seems obvious and yet, on closer inspection, the reality is more complex and difficult In the UK and elsewhere, Afro hair is under-catered for and women have trouble finding a hairdresser who understands the challenges of matching conventional beauty tropes to Afro hair textures. Black women are also under-represented in the cinema, with other models of beauty taking center stage. With her silky, muffled voice, rapper Enny becomes a vector of sorority, denouncing damaging beauty standards, and underlining the fact that there isn’t just one way to look beautiful or to be black.

Enny – Peng Black Girls (feat. Amia Brave)

As Enny recounts: “PBG was written in a state of absolute trance. When I look around me, at my family, friends or even random women, I hallucinate that society and even our own culture tells us that we are not pretty because of the color of our skin or certain physical features. Looking back, PBG was just a first step for me to detach myself from all this and to be happy the way I am … An Anglo-Nigerian woman from South East London, complex and with particularly African physical features.”

Carrying this message of empowerment, the new rising star of English rap is also breaking into the mainstream by signing to Jorja Smith’s FAMM label. After the release of her first single, “He’s Not Into You,” and an improved reputation in mainland Europe, she is already experiencing a remarkable upward trajectory.

Listen to Enny in our playlist Women Power on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Enny célèbre la beauté des femmes noires sur « Peng Black Girls »

Signée sur le label de Jorja Smith, la rappeuse du sud-est londonien s’associe avec la chanteuse Amia Brave et porte un message fort d’empowerment sur son dernier single.

« Black is beautiful, y’know… » Ce message semble évident et pourtant, en y regardant de plus près, le constat est tout autre : en France les cheveux afro ont encore du mal à trouver un coiffeur pour se faire dorloter et les femmes noires sont encore sous-représentées dans le cinéma. Avec sa voix soyeuse et feutrée, la rappeuse Enny devient vecteur de sororité et souligne l’importance de rappeler qu’il n’y a pas qu’une seule façon de regarder ou d’être une femme noire en dénonçant les normes de beauté établies. 

Comme le raconte Enny : « PBG a été écrit dans un état de transe absolue. Lorsque je regarde autour de moi, ma famille, mes amis ou même des femmes au hasard, j’hallucine en pensant au fait que la société et même notre propre culture nous répètent que nous ne sommes pas jolies à cause de la couleur de notre peau ou de certains traits physiques. Avec du recul, PBG était juste un pour moi un premier pas vers le détachement de tout cela et le fait d’être heureuse comme je suis… Une Anglo-nigériane du sud-est de Londres, complexe et avec des traits physiques particulièrement africain. »

Enny – Peng Black Girls (feat. Amia Brave)

En portant ce message d’empowerment, la nouvelle étoile montante du rap anglais s’affirme elle aussi en tant qu’artiste en signant sur le label FAMM de Jorja Smith. Après la sortie de son tout premier single, « He’s Not Into You », et la naissance d’une dynamique forte outre-Manche, la rappeuse et chanteuse anglaise Enny, originaire du sud-est de Londres, connaît déjà une trajectoire ascendante marquante. 

Écoutez Enny dans notre playlist Women Power sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé