fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Ibeyi and Jorja Smith become deities of destiny on new single

The twin duo Ibeyi team up with British r&b and soul singer Jorja Smith in their new single and music video “Lavender & Red Roses” embodying the Greek deity trio the Moires.

After releasing the bewitching “Made of Gold”, featuring Pa Salieu, and “Sisters II Sisters”, the French-Cuban sisters continue to unveil their album Spell 31 scheduled for May 6th.

With “Lavender & Red Roses”, they offer a neo soul track carried by their captivating voices that sing in chorus. For the story, they were inspired by the Moires, three deities of destiny in Greek mythology: Clotho (“the Spinner”), Lachesis (“the Repairer”) and Atropos (“the Inflexible”). The first weaves the thread of life, the second unwinds it and the third cuts it.

We connect with open hearts, baby

But you still walk towards the dark lately

I’ve welcomed you with open arms, baby

But you still walk towards the dark lately

Lavender & Red Roses

‘Lavender & Red Roses’ is about how we all feel when we love someone who is suffering,” says Lisa-Kaindé. “A lover, a sibling, a parent, a friend… And how it triggers in us the desire to hold them in our arms, and for their pain to fade away, under a shower of lavender and red roses. But the truth is, we can’t save them. If they draw us into their darkness, we must protect ourselves and allow them to find their own strength, light and path.

As their fourth album approaches, the Ibeyi sisters continue to explore a music at the borders of folk, RnB, soul, electronic music or jazz that bridges the gap between ancestral heritage (especially from the Yoruba culture) and the present. Offering a universal style, their tour will be just as universal with the announcement of their first dates: New York (May 1), London (May 14) and Paris (May 17).

Listen to “Lavender & Red Roses” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Le duo Ibeyi invite Jorja Smith sur « Lavender & Red Roses »

Les jumelles du duo Ibeyi s’associent à la chanteuse britannique Jorja Smith dans leur nouveau single : « Lavender & Red Roses ».

Après avoir publié l’envoûtant « Made of Gold », en featuring avec Pa Salieu, et « Sisters II Sisters », les soeurs franco-cubaines continuent de dévoiler leur album prévu le 6 mai prochaine : Spell 31.

Avec « Lavender & Red Roses », elles proposent un morceau néo soul porté par leurs voix captivantes qui chantent en choeur. Pour l’histoire, elles se sont inspirées des Moires, trois divinités du destin dans la mythologie grecque : Clotho (“la Fileuse”), Lachesis (“la Réparatrice”) et Atropos (“l’Inflexible”). La première tisse le fil de la vie, la deuxième le déroule et la troisième le coupe.

Nous nous connectons avec des cœurs ouverts Bébé
Mais tu marches toujours vers l’obscurité ces derniers temps
Je t’ai accueilli à bras ouverts, Bébé
Mais tu marches toujours vers le noir ces temps-ci 

Lavender & Red Roses

« Lavender & Red Roses parle du sentiment que nous éprouvons tous lorsque nous aimons quelqu’un qui souffre,» confie Lisa-Kaindé. « Un amoureux, un frère ou une sœur, un parent, un ami… Et comment cela déclenche en nous le désir de les serrer dans nos bras, et que leurs peines s’évanouissent, sous une pluie de lavande et de roses rouges. Mais la vérité, c’est qu’on ne peut pas les sauver. S’ils nous attirent dans leurs ténèbres, on doit se protéger et leur permettre de trouver leur propre force, lumière et chemin. »

A l’approche de leur quatrième album, les sœurs d’Ibeyi continuent d’explorer une musique aux frontières de la folk, du RnB, de la soul, de la musique électronique ou du jazz qui fait le pont entre patrimoine ancestral (notamment de la culture yoruba) et actuel. Proposant un style définitivement universel, leur tournée le sera tout autant avec l’annonce de leurs premières dates : New York (1er mai), Londres (14 mai) et Paris (17 mai).

Écoutez « Lavender & Red Roses » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé