fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Jazz Is Dead assembles the greats for 11th compilation
DR

Jazz Is Dead assembles the greats for 11th compilation

Jazz Is Dead welcomes its eleventh edition with Tony Allen, Lonnie Linston Smith, and Jean Carne under the direction of Californian multi-instrumentalist producer Adrian Younge and founding member of A Tribe Called Quest, Ali Shaheed Muhammad.

For this new season, Jazz Is Dead has gathered a cast to bring together the different eras of jazz. We find legends such as jazz and R&B singer Jean Carne (the 5-octave diva who was part of the Motown, Atlantic and Philadelphia International Records stables); the pianist/keyboardist who shaped jazz-funk, Lonnie Liston Smith, or the late Tony Allen. On this record, the afrobeat drummer has offered one of the last testimonies of his immense talent.

Alongside these luminaries, we find equally talented musicians who marked the history of underground jazz in the 1970’s in the United States: bassist Henry Franklin, trombonist Phil Ranelin or Garett Saracho, a forgotten vibraphonist and keyboardist from Los Angeles who released a single album in 1973. Adrian Younge  (who has collaborated with Kendrick Lamar, Jay-Z, the Wu-Tang…) and Ali Shaheed Muhammad also showcase the generation that represents today’s jazz with the group Katalyst. Hailing from Los Angeles, the nine members of Katalyst showcase their instruments, including David Otis (saxophonist for Kendrick Lamar and Usher), Jonah Levine (Grammy Award-winning trombonist and pianist) and Corbin Jones (bassist and guitarist who has also worked with Jay-Z and Beyoncé).

Inaugurated in 2020, on the label of the same name, the Jazz Is Dead series is dedicated to shedding light on jazz greats such as Americans Roy Avers, Gary Bartz or Brazilians Marcos Valle and João Donato. Each of them is invited to record, live and on analog tapes, some pieces composed or improvised the day of the studio session. With this new opus, it is a multitude of paths that cross and form a work with an elusive groove. Jazz is dead? Long live Jazz!

Jazz Is Dead 011, available on April 29th.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Jazz Is Dead de retour avec un casting de rêve
DR

Jazz Is Dead de retour avec un casting de rêve

La série de compilation de Adrian Younge et Ali Shaheed Muhammad annonce une nouvelle saison avec Tony Allen, Lonnie Liston Smith, Jean Carne et bien plus encore.

La série Jazz Is Dead s’apprête à accueillir son onzième volume le 29 avril prochain. Toujours sous la direction du producteur  multi-instrumentiste californien Adrian Younge (qui a collaboré avec Kendrick Lamar, Jay-Z ou le Wu-Tang) et du membre fondateur d’A Tribe Called Quest, Ali Shaheed Muhammad.

Pour cette nouvelle saison, ils ont réuni un casting qui fait se rencontrer les différentes époques du jazz. On retrouve ainsi des légendes comme la chanteuse de jazz et r&b Jean Carne (la diva aux 5 octaves qui a fait partie des écuries Motown, Atlantic et Philadelphia International Records) ; le pianiste/claviériste qui a façonné le jazz-funk, Lonnie Liston Smith, ou encore, le regretté Tony Allen. Sur ce disque, l’immense batteur a offert l’un des derniers témoignages de son immense talent.

À côtés de ces sommités, on retrouve des musiciens tout aussi talentueux et qui ont marqué l’histoire du jazz underground des 70s aux États-Unis : le contrebassiste Henry Franklin, le tromboniste Phil Ranelin ou encore Garett Saracho, un vibraphoniste et claviériste oublié de Los Angeles qui n’a sorti qu’un seul album, en 1973. Sans oublier qu’Adrian Younge et Ali Shaheed Muhammad font aussi la part belle à la génération qui représente le jazz actuel avec le groupe Katalyst. Originaire de Los Angeles, ses neuf membres s’illustrent à travers leurs instruments, à l’image de David Otis (saxophoniste accompagnant Kendrick Lamar et Usher), Jonah Levine (tromboniste et pianiste lauréat d’un Grammy Award) ou encore Corbin Jones (bassiste et guitariste qui a aussi travaillé avec Jay-z et Beyoncé).

Inaugurée en 2020 sur le label du même nom, la série Jazz Is Dead s’est attaché à remettre de la lumière sur des grands noms du jazz, tels que les américains Roy Avers, Gary Bartz ou les brésiliens Marcos Valle et João Donato. Chacun d’eux est invité à enregistrer, en live et sur bandes analogiques, quelques morceaux composés ou improvisés le jour de la session studio. Avec ce nouvel opus, c’est une multitude de parcours qui se croisent et forment une œuvre au groove insaisissable. Jazz is dead ? Vive le Jazz !

Jazz Is Dead 011, disponible le 29 avril.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé