→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Mhamad Safa’s Ibtihalat, an electronic take on gnawa, amazigh and rai
© Jimmy Mould

Mhamad Safa’s Ibtihalat, an electronic take on gnawa, amazigh and rai

This new project will be released via Lee Gamble’s UIQ imprint with a first single, “Bel Abbes”, already available. 

Lee Gamble is on a mission to create the future of dance music. Constantly experimenting with all kinds of composition techniques, this go around Gamble is inviting Mhamad Safa, a musician, architect and researcher, based between London and Beirut to take his stab at it. Safa’s work focuses on “multi-scalar spatial conditions and their sonic make-ups”, exploring their intersections with environments of conflict and violence, and cultural practices from North Africa and the Arabian Peninsula. His music includes sound design, micro-sampling, algorithmic sound technology, psychoacoustics and field recordings, a fit concoction for Lee Gamble’s UIQ imprint, known for its jungle, noise and techno projects. 

“Bel Abbes”, Safa’s new single, gives a precise taste of what’s to come through this collaboration. Robotic, dark and metallic, the track is a deep dive into the composer’s singular way of producing. Its futuristic feel is introduced through processes of musical synthesis and predictive algorithms, initiating rhythmic meters, accents and polyrhythms within beat-based compositions. 

This new piece is taken from Ibtihalat, Safa’s upcoming EP. A “cyclical and boundless summoning of an otherworldly force in the face of geographic calamities and contingencies”, the project will invoke musical traditions of gnawa, amazigh and North African rai, and add electronic production to it. Ibtihalat will also be deeply inspired with an overall history of cultural exchanges, with influences from Laywa music, originally from East-Africa and exported to the Gulf, or from Taggagat in Saudi Arabia, female-led performances from the region’s Afro-descendants.

Ibtihalat by Mhamad Safa, out on April 29 via UIQ.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Gnawa électronique, amazigh et raï avec le projet Ibtihalat du producteur Mhamad Safa
© Jimmy Mould

Gnawa électronique, amazigh et raï avec le projet Ibtihalat du producteur Mhamad Safa

Publié sur UIQ, le label de Lee Gamble, Mhamad Safa dévoile le single « Bel Abbes ».

Toujours en train d’expérimenter toutes sortes de techniques de composition, Lee Gamble a invité cette fois Mhamad Safa, musicien, architecte et chercheur, basé entre Londres et Beyrouth, à s’y essayer. Sa musique fait appel au design sonore, au micro-sampling, à la technologie algorithmique et aux enregistrements de terrain, un son parfait pour UIQ, le label de Lee Gamble connu pour ses productions jungle, noise et techno. Avec Safa, le producteur s’est donné pour mission de créer les nouvelles sonorités de la dance music, en expérimentant avec toutes sortes de techniques de composition. 

« Bel Abbes », le nouveau single de Safa, donne un avant-goût précis de ce qui est à venir avec cette collaboration. Robotique, sombre et métallique, le morceau est une plongée dans la manière singulière de produire du compositeur. Son aspect futuriste est introduit par un processus de synthèse musicale et par des algorithmes prédictifs, créant ainsi des accents et des polyrythmies au sein même du titre. 

Ce nouveau morceau est extrait d’Ibtihalat, le prochain EP de Safa. Un « appel cyclique et illimité à une force d’un autre monde face aux calamités et aux contingences géographiques« , le projet invoquera les traditions musicales du gnawa, de l’amazigh et du rai nord-africain, et y ajoutera une production électronique. Ibtihalat s’inspirera aussi profondément d’une histoire globale d’échanges culturels, avec des influences de la musique Laywa, originaire d’Afrique de l’Est et exportée vers le Golfe, et des Taggagat en Arabie Saoudite, performances dirigées par des femmes issues de l’afro-descendance de la région.

Ibtihalat de Mhamad Safa, disponible le 29 avril via UIQ.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé