→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Sun Ra Arkestra meets Salah Ragab and the Cairo Jazz Band in new reissue

Strut Records presents the final installment in their series of Sun Ra reissues with this new project recorded in Egypt in 1983. 

Egyption percussionist Salah Ragab’s first interaction with Sun Ra was at a concert in 1971. This event happened five years after the creation of the Cairo Jazz Band, founded by Ragab himself alongside German musician Hartmut Geerken and Eduard “Edu” Vizvari. While serving as “Chief of Egypt’s Military Department of Music”, he chose 25 professional musicians of the thousands-large group he was in charge of, and organized the Cairo Jazz Band’s first concert in 1969, while Geerken and Vizvari arranged and composed for the group.

Although Ragab and Sun Ra did not interact extensively in 1971, Sun Ra had come to Gerkeen’s invitation, they did bond together when Ra returned to Egypt in 1983 after a European tour, leading the musician and his orchestra to record an entire album with the Cairo Jazz Band. At El Nahar Studios in Heliopolis, the two bands played the studio versions of Ragab’s compositions “Egypt Struth” and “Dawn”, and recorded three other songs with Ragab on congas. The original record of ​​Sun Ra Arkestra Meets Salah Ragab In Egypt was released in 1983 via Greek label Praxis. 

British label Strut Records is now set to reissue the project. A true dive into history, each track of the album has a special anecdote, from “A Farewell Theme” being played at president Gamal Abdel Nasser’s funeral to “Ramadan” and “Oriental Mood” being first heard on the Cairo Jazz Orchestra album Egypt Strut. This reissue will also feature previously unseen photos and memorabilia alongside brand new liner notes by Hartmut Geerken and Paul Griffiths. You can already listen to “Egypt Strut”, already available and remastered by Technology Works.

Sun Ra Arkestra Meets Salah Ragab In Egypt, out on April 8 via Strut.

Listen to Sun Ra Arkestra in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Le Sun Ra Arkestra rencontre Salah Ragab et le Cairo Jazz Band dans une nouvelle réédition

Strut Records présente le dernier volet de sa série de rééditions de Sun Ra avec ce nouveau projet, enregistré en Égypte en 1983. 

La première interaction entre le percussionniste égyptien Salah Ragab et Sun Ra a eu lieu lors d’un concert en 1971. L’événement s’est produit cinq ans après la création du Cairo Jazz Band, fondé par Ragab lui-même avec le musicien allemand Hartmut Geerken et Eduard « Edu » Vizvari. Alors que le percussionniste était « chef du département militaire égyptien de la musique », il avait choisi 25 musiciens professionnels parmi les plusieurs milliers dont il avait la charge, et avait organisé le premier concert du Cairo Jazz Band en 1969, tandis que Geerken et Vizvari avaient arrangé et composé pour le groupe.

Bien que Ragab et Sun Ra n’aient pas beaucoup échangé en 1971 – Sun Ra était venu à l’invitation de Gerkeen -, ils se sont rapprochés lorsque Ra est revenu en Égypte en 1983 après une tournée européenne, menant le musicien et son orchestre à enregistrer un album entier avec le Cairo Jazz Band. Aux studios El Nahar à Héliopolis, les deux groupes ont joué les versions studio de « Egypt Struth » et « Dawn », composées par Ragab, et ont enregistré trois autres chansons avec Ragab aux congas. Le disque original de Sun Ra Arkestra Meets Salah Ragab In Egypt est sorti en 1983 sur le label grec Praxis. 

Le label britannique Strut Records s’apprête désormais à rééditer le projet. Véritable plongée dans l’histoire, chaque morceau de l’album a une anecdote particulière, de « A Farewell Theme » joué lors des funérailles du président Gamal Abdel Nasser à « Ramadan » et « Oriental Mood », entendus pour la première fois sur l’album Egypt Strut du Cairo Jazz Orchestra. Cette réédition comprendra également des photos et des souvenirs inédits, ainsi que de nouvelles notes de Hartmut Geerken et Paul Griffiths. En attendant la sortie, écoutez « Egypt Strut », déjà disponible et remastérisé par Technology Works.

Sun Ra Arkestra Meets Salah Ragab In Egypt, sortie le 8 avril via Strut.

Écoutez Sun Ra Arkestra dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé