→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Awori x Twani - Hold Me (Official Music Video)

Awori and Twani invent new worlds in video for “Hold Me”

In response to the climate emergency, the French-Swiss-Ugandan duo takes refuge in their dreamy and utopian new visuals. 

Following the release of her album Ranavalona in collaboration with beatmaker Twani in March 2021, Swiss-Ugandan singer Awori returns with the video for “Hold Me.” Taken from her previous project, the track evokes the climate emergency and the consequences of capitalism on human societies, all wrapped in hip-hop, neo-soul, R&B and electronic sounds. For director Mei Fa Tan, the track also references more intimate feelings, such as “emotional discomfort, our insecurities to overcome, and ultimately how small a thing man and his problems are in the face of the grandeur of the world and the universe.”

To portray this thematic density, the video shows Awori moving through three different worlds inspired by the singer’s many states of consciousness: a modern, concrete and drifting world, a utopian and dreamy world, and a third world consisting of “nature untouched by man.” Throughout the video, Awori travels in these three worlds, going from an unfulfilled desire to find her place in the first world to a total symbiosis with nature in the final one. 
Having met through Lyon-based label Galant Records for the “Seeds” single series, Swiss-Ugandan singer-rapper Awori and Lyon-based producer Twani had begun their collaboration with the track “Cortex Luxta” in 2019. The duo took advantage of the quarantine period to produce the album Ranavalona. The project, paying tribute to the last queen of Madagascar, mixes Afrobeats, hip-hop and electronic sounds, while Awori delivers powerful and politically engaged lyrics.

Find « Hold Me » in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Awori x Twani - Hold Me (Official Music Video)

Awori et Twani inventent de nouveaux mondes dans « Hold Me »

En réaction à l’urgence climatique, le duo franco-suisso-ougandais se réfugie dans un nouveau clip rêveur et utopique. 

Après avoir dévoilé son album Ranavalona en collaboration avec le beatmaker Twani en mars 2021, la chanteuse suisse-ougandaise Awori revient avec le clip de « Hold Me ». Tiré de son précédent projet, le morceau fait écho à l’urgence climatique et aux conséquences du capitalisme sur les sociétés humaines, le tout enveloppé de sonorités hip-hop, néo-soul, R&B et électroniques. Pour la réalisatrice Mei Fa Tan, le titre fait également références à des sentiments plus intimes, tels que « l’inconfort émotionnel, nos insécurités à surmonter, et finalement la si petite chose que l’homme et ses problèmes sont face à la grandeur du monde et de l’univers ». 

Pour mettre en image cette densité de thèmes, le clip de « Hold Me » voit Awori évoluer dans trois mondes différents inspirés des états de conscience de la chanteuse : un monde moderne, bétonné et à la dérive, un monde utopique et rêvé, et un troisième monde constitué de « nature intouchée par l’homme ». Tout au long du clip, Awori voyage au travers de ces trois mondes, passant d’une impossibilité à trouver sa place à une symbiose totale avec la nature. 

Réunis par le label lyonnais Galant Records pour la série de single « Seeds », la chanteuse-rappeuse suisse-ougandaise Awori et le producteur lyonnais Twani avaient entamé leur collaboration avec le titre « Cortex Luxta » en 2019. Le duo avait ensuite profité de la période de confinement pour réaliser l’album Ranavalona. Le projet, rendant hommage à la dernière reine de Madagascar, mêle sonorités afrobeats, hip-hop et électroniques, tandis qu’Awori y livre des textes puissants et engagés.

Retrouvez « Hold Me » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé