→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Nervous Horizon Vol. 4: a summer trance made in East London 
Ehua

Nervous Horizon Vol. 4: a summer trance made in East London

It’s spring and Nervous Horizon reminds us of the good times of the English clubbing season. With part four of its compilation series, the East London label has put together thirteen tracks you will hear on all the dancefloors of the summer.

From the Cockney Rejects, local icons of the Punk Oi! scene, to the founders of the grime movement, from Wiley to Dizzee Rascal to Kano… East London has dominated the capital’s underground for almost half a century. And it’s not the industrious production of the electronic label Nervous Horizon that risks sounding the end of its reign. 

At the head of the small record company, we find a trio of Italians: all three from Pisa, Federico, Tommaso (Wallwork on stage) and Guglielmo (aka TSVI) did not meet in their native Tuscany, but in parties organized in the many warehouses of East London.

Fans of production and the digital cross-over that electrifies London, they founded Nervous Horizon. A label with finely tuned ears under the direct influence of pioneer companies like Hyperdub, and of course, Night Slugs.

UK funky, break beat, techno, gqom (check out the Da Soul Boyz EP, released by the label in 2018) or jungle… Nervous Horizon has been breaking new ground, producing in its studio and deploying an international catalog of bass music artists for almost a decade: “in fact, we are very influenced by certain regional scenes around the world, while remaining attentive to those who listen to and are inspired by the London scene” confided the trio a short while ago. “There is a loop here, a sonic round trip that is played between London and the rest of the world. We are often labelled as a club, but for us, it goes further.” Clearly.

On April 8, 2022, the London-based label will release the fourth installment of its compilations, featuring thirteen of its representatives and supporters. Ranging from 90 to 160 bpm, this fourth part will launch the summer trance.

Between the nu-dancehall project of Montrealer SIM, the hard drum of Italian-Ivorian producer Ehua or the work of Australian DJ Plead*, who has fun with drum’n bass, dabke or mahraganat, Nervous Horizon’s vision of the dancefloor pushes the walls of the club to new experiences and unexpected alliances, all Made in East London 

Nervous Horizon Vol. 4, available April 8th 2022.

Listen to the first single by TSVI in our afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

TSVI & Wallwork
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Nervous Horizon Vol. 4 : la transe estivale made in East London 
Ehua

Nervous Horizon Vol. 4 : la transe estivale made in East London

C’est le printemps et Nervous Horizon se rappelle au bon souvenir du clubbing anglais… Mieux : avec le quatrième volet de ses compilations, le label est-londonien vient juste de poser treize des titres que vous entendrez sur tous les dancefloors de l’été.

Des Cockney Rejects – tauliers locaux de la scène Punk Oi! –, aux fondateurs du mouvement grime – de Wiley à Dizzee Rascal en passant par Kano… East London domine l’underground de la capitale depuis près d’un demi-siècle. Et ce n’est pas l’industrieuse production du label électronique Nervous Horizon qui risque de sonner la fin de règne. 

Au lancement de la petite maison discographique, on trouve un trio d’italiens : tous les trois originaires de Pise, Federico, Tommaso – Wallwork à la scène – et Guglielmo (alias TSVI) ne se sont pourtant pas rencontrés dans leur Toscane natale, mais bien dans lors de fêtes organisées dans les nombreux entrepôts de l’Est de Londres.

Mordus de production et du cross-over digital qui électrise Londres, ils fondent alors Nervous Horizon. Un label sans œillères et aux oreilles bien décollées, sous influence directe de maisons pionnières comme Hyperdub, et bien entendu Night Slugs.

UK funky, break beat, embardées en terres technoïdes, gqom (jetez-vous sur le EP des Da Soul Boyz, sorti par le label en 2018) ou jungle… Nervous Horizon défriche, produit dans son studio et déploie un catalogue international d’artistes bass music depuis près d’une petite décade : “en fait, on est très influencés par certaines scènes régionales de part le monde, tout en restants attentifs à ceux qui écoutent et s’inspirent de la scène londonienne confiait il y a peu le trio. “Il y a ici une boucle, un aller-retour sonore qui se joue entre Londres et le reste du monde. On nous adosse souvent l’étiquette club, mais pour nous, cela va plus loin.” Clairement.

Le 8 avril 2022, le label londonien libérera le quatrième volet de ses compilations, avec treize de ses représentants et sympathisants. Comprise entre 90 et 160 bpm, ce quatrième volet va lancer la transe estivale.

Entre le projet nu-dancehall du montréalais SIM, la hard drum de la productrice italo-ivoirienne Ehua ou le travail de l’australien DJ Plead*, qui s’éclate autant avec de la drum’n bass, que la dabke ou du mahraganat… La vision du dancefloor par Nervous Horizon pousse les murs du club jusqu’à des nouvelles expériences et des alliances inattendues… Made in East London. 

Nervous Horizon Vol. 4, disponible le 8 avril 2022.

Retrouvez le premier single de TSVI dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

TSVI & Wallwork
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé