→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 albums to discover this week

This week, Omar Sosa, Seckou Keita and Orquesta Akokán put Cuba on the map. London's Nubya Garcia and Angola's Ikoqwe remix their album and Young Stunna showcases his amapiano. Finally, Kandy Guira and Obeka pay tribute to their Burkinabe and Bermudian roots. 

16 Rayos

Orquesta Akokán

As well as being Daptone Record’s first Spanish album, Orquesta Akokán’s eponymous 2018 debut quickly garnered a very eclectic and eager audience. The Cuban-American ensemble is now back with 16 Rayos, an album recorded in the famous Egrem studios in Havana (Buena Vista’s spot). It is comprised of 10 original songs that illustrate all the magic and creativity of this unique combo. Driven by a sense of limitless possibility, the Cuban-American ensemble continues to explore the island’s rich palette of rhythms and repertoires, pushing the boundaries and drawing on folk and religious traditions.

Listen here

SUBA

Omar Sosa, Seckou Keita

Though they share an ancestral connection to Africa, the respective birthplaces of piano virtuoso Omar Sosa and kora maestro Seckou Keita, Cuba and Senegal, are separated by the Atlantic Ocean. Recorded during lockdown, the pair’s second album, SUBA, is a hymn to hope, to a new dawn of compassion and real change in a post-pandemic world. The album title means “sunrise” in Mandinka, Seckou’s native language, representing his favourite time of day and a moment of freshness and hope. Joining Omar and Seckou in the studio, and for live performances, is the inimitable Venezuelan percussionist Gustavo Ovalles.  

Listen here

Move Like So EP

Obeka

Young DJ and producer Obeka is one of the standard bearers for the Afro-Caribbean identity in England, where he has been living since he was 16. Based in Manchester, he has absorbed the carnival ambiance and sound system infrabasses, pulled by the ever-changing UK club scene, always ahead of its time. When these blend with Obeka’s roots, the mixed influences result in the Move Like So EP, released on the Polish label Basy Tropikalne. You might have already listened to “Duppy Drum” on PAM.

Listen here

SOURCE + WE MOVE

Nubya Garcia

London-based saxophonist and composer Nubya Garcia released her debut album, SOURCE, last year. The project met with considerable critical success and was even shortlisted for the prestigious Mercury Prize. The musician now returns with a remix album, SOURCE + WE MOVE. The reworked versions of the original tracks preserve the composer’s musicality, which blends jazz and other influences, while introducing a more rhythmic and electronic dimension. Guests include Dengue Dengue Dengue, Kaidi Tatham, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Moses Boyd and more. 

Listen here

Nagtaba

Kandy Guira

With Nagtaba, which means “together” in the Moorish language, Kandy Guira has released her very first official solo album. Having accompanied the continent’s greatest artists for a long time, this project marks a new beginning for the singer, who brings African pop, electro and a hint of local rhythms to link her two homelands, her country of origin Burkina Faso and France, her adopted country. “It’s an achievement, after all the time we’ve taken to work, it’s a kind of musical maturity,” she said in our interview with her.

Listen here

Falta Muito?

Ikoqwe

Following up on release of their debut album on Crammed Discs, the fictional extraterrestrial duo Ikoqwe drops Falta Muito?, an EP composed of tracks culled and remixed from the album. The title track was created in collaboration with South African maestro Spoek Mathambo. Next comes a remix by Lagos and London-based artist Ekiti Sound, who reinterprets elements from “Vai de [email protected]@” in a deep, bass-heavy context. The third track is the Ekiti Sound Dub of the same remix. We are then treated to a rework of “Makumba” by Sunken Cages, aka Indian-born, New You based producer and drummer Ravish Momin, who explains that he wanted to “channel inspirations from Alice Coltrane and rhythmic heat from the streets of Mumbai, Durban and Chicago”. The EP is rounded off with a hypnotic instrumental version of “Quarantena”.

Listen here

Notumato

Young Stunna

Amapiano is known to be a fast burning genre with a new hit dropping every second day, but Young Stunna’s “Adiwele” is probably here to stay. The track first dropped on the street and had everyone begging for it at every party. After becoming a popular anthem, big Youtube channels and TikTok challenges took over. The track is the fire and fuel behind Notumato, Young Stunna’s new album. Having recently signed with Kabza De Small’s Piano Hub label, the artist has enlisted some of the best in the South African music industry such as Big Zulu, Black Motion, Blxckie, DJ Maphorisa, Daliwonga, Felo Le Tee, and Mellow & Sleazy just to mention a few.

Listen here

The Landlord

De Mthuda

Producing amapiano since the mid-2010s, Thuthuzeli Khoza aka De Mthuda releases his third LP with The Landlord. Preferring a private school amapiano ambiance, and deferring to producer Da Muziqal Chef to create a sense of musicality, The Landlord is a downtempo must for any amapiano library. While the album manages to turn up the temperature with features from Focalist and Njelic on “Jaiva”, the project truly shines with the Sophiatown jazz on tracks like “Mhlaba Wonke” and lead single “Jola” with vocals from Sino Msolo. The album opener “Emlanjeni” is also an easy standout, with Sir Trill setting a rich soulful vibe right from the jump. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

8 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, Omar Sosa, Seckou Keita et Orquesta Akokán font rayonner la musique cubaine. La londonienne Nubya Garcia et les Angolais de Ikoqwe remixent leur album et Young Stunna nous emmène dans son amapiano. Enfin, Kandy Guira et Obeka rendent hommage à leurs racines burkinabées et bermudiennes. 

16 Rayos

Orquesta Akokán

Premier album en espagnol pour Daptone Records, le disque éponyme d’Orquesta Akokán sorti en 2018 avait rapidement convaincu un public très éclectique. L’orchestre cubano-américain revient aujourd’hui avec 16 Rayos, un disque enregistré dans les célèbres studios Egrem de La Havane, composé de 10 chansons originales illustrant toute la magie et la créativité de ce combo unique. Guidé par un sentiment de possibilités illimitées, l’ensemble continue d’explorer la riche palette de rythmes et de répertoires de l’île, repoussant les limites des conventions musicales et puisant dans des traditions folkloriques et religieuses.

Ecoutez ici

SUBA

Omar Sosa, Seckou Keita

L’océan Atlantique sépare Cuba et le Sénégal, les lieux de naissance respectifs du pianiste Omar Sosa et du maestro de la kora Seckou Keita, une distance diminuée par leur lien commun avec l’Afrique. Enregistré pendant le confinement, le deuxième album du duo, SUBA, est un hymne à l’espoir et à la compassion dans un monde post-pandémique. Le titre de l’album signifie « lever du soleil » en mandingue, la langue maternelle de Seckou, et le lever du soleil est son moment préféré de la journée, un moment de fraîcheur et d’espoir. L’inimitable percussionniste vénézuélien Gustavo Ovalles s’est également joint à Omar et Seckou en studio et sur scène. 

Ecoutez ici

Move Like So EP

Obeka

Le jeune DJ et producteur Obeka est l’un des porte-drapeaux de l’identité afro-caribéenne en Angleterre, où il est installé depuis ses 16 ans. Basé à Manchester, il y absorbe l’ambiance des carnavals et les infrabasses des sound systems, tiré par cette locomotive qu’est la scène club UK. Lorsqu’elles trébuchent sur les racines d’Obeka, ces influences donnent les expérimentations de Move Like So EP, nouvelle sortie du label polonais Basy Tropikalne. PAM vous avait fait découvrir le titre « Duppy Drum » en exclusivité. 

Ecoutez ici

SOURCE + WE MOVE

Nubya Garcia

Avec son premier album SOURCE publié l’année dernière, la saxophoniste et compositrice londonienne Nubya Garcia rencontra un succès critique considérable, figurant même dans les finalistes du prestigieux Mercury Prize. La musicienne est aujourd’hui de retour avec un album de remixes, SOURCE + WE MOVE. Les versions retravaillées des morceaux originaux préservent la musicalité de la compositrice, un mélange de jazz et d’autres influences, tout en amenant une dimension plus rythmée et plus électronique. La liste des invités comprend Dengue Dengue Dengue, Kaidi Tatham, Georgia Anne Muldrow ou encore Moses Boyd.

Ecoutez ici

Nagtaba

Kandy Guira

Avec Nagtaba, « ensemble » en langue mooré, Kandy Guira signe son tout premier album solo officiel. Celle qui a longtemps accompagné les grands du continent vole désormais de ses propres ailes avec ce projet, qui oscille entre pop africaine, électro et un soupçon de rythmes locaux pour faire le lien entre ses deux patries, son pays d’origine le Burkina Faso et la France, son pays d’adoption. « C’est un accomplissement, après tout ce temps qu’on a pris pour travailler, c’est une sorte de maturité musicale », s’était-elle réjouie lors de notre interview avec elle.

Ecoutez ici

Falta Muito?

Ikoqwe

Après la sortie de leur premier album sur Crammed Discs, le duo extraterrestre fictif Ikoqwe sort Falta Muito?, un EP composé de titres extraits et remixés de l’album. Le morceau éponyme a été créé en collaboration avec le maestro sud-africain Spoek Mathambo, suivi par un remix d’Ekiti Sound, artiste basé entre Londres et Lagos, qui réinterprète des éléments de « Vai de [email protected]@ ». La troisième piste est un remix du même titre, cette fois-ci fait par Ekiti Sound Dub. Nous avons ensuite droit à une reprise de « Makumba » par Sunken Cages, alias Ravish Momin, producteur et batteur né en Inde et basé à New York, qui explique qu’il a voulu « canaliser les inspirations d’Alice Coltrane et la chaleur rythmique des rues de Mumbai, Durban et Chicago ». L’EP se clôt par une version instrumentale hypnotique de « Quarantena ».

Ecoutez ici

Notumato

Young Stunna

L’amapiano est connu pour être un genre en pleine effervescence avec un nouveau hit qui sort tous les deux jours, mais le « Adiwele » de Young Stunna est probablement là pour rester. Le titre s’est d’abord propagé dans la rue, pour finir dans les soirées. Après être devenu un hymne populaire, les chaînes Youtube importantes et les défis TikTok ont pris le relais. Ce titre est le feu et le carburant de Notumato, le nouvel album de Young Stunna. Ayant récemment signé avec le label Piano Hub de Kabza De Small, l’artiste a fait appel à certains des meilleurs acteurs de l’industrie musicale sud-africaine, comme Big Zulu, Black Motion, Blxckie, DJ Maphorisa, Daliwonga, Felo Le Tee et Melow & Sleezy, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns.

Ecoutez ici

The Landlord

De Mthuda

Fabriquant d’amapiano depuis le milieu des années 2010, Thuthuzeli Khoza aka De Mthuda sort son troisième album, The Landlord. Préférant une ambiance de “private school” amapiano (celui des débuts, dans un style plus jazzy), et s’en remettant au producteur Da Muziqal Chef pour créer un sens de la musicalité, The Landlord est un downtempo incontournable pour toute bibliothèque amapiano. Même si l’album arrive à faire monter la température grâce à la participation de Focalist et de Njelic sur « Jaiva », le projet brille véritablement par le jazz de Sophiatown sur « Mhlaba Wonke » ou avec le single principal « Jola » avec la voix de Sino Msolo. Le premier morceau de l’album, « Emlanjeni », est également une réussite, sur lequel Sir Trill amène dès le départ une ambiance soul bien chaleureuse. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé