→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Marcus Harvey drops intimate video for “You Wouldn’t Understand”

The song is the first track from You Still Don’t Know Me, the South African artist’s latest project.

One of two children raised by a single mother, Marcus discovered his passion for music at a young age. His mother owned a Jukebox at her shebeen (informal bar) and while he helped her sell beers, customers would play their favourite songs from Brenda Fassie, Michael Jackson, Fela Kuti and more. The young boy then embarked on his music career as a teenager under the stage name Hipnautik. He garnered local attention in the township with his fusion of rap and RnB, and released I Am Marcus Harvey in 2020. Following the success of this debut project, the artist returns with You Still Don’t Know Me, of which “You Wouldn’t Understand” is the first track.

The song describes Marcus’ feelings for his lover. Trying to quiet down his insecurities and attempting to delve into her thought process, he lets her know he would risk it all for her. The rest of the EP explores other aspects of romance (“Reflection”), evokes the harsh environment of the Alexandra township (“Chilling in Alex”) and advocates for rest and relaxation (“‘Don’t Think About Too Much”). 

This EP is the embodiment of so many things that I live up to and also of how I touch on social issues that I face on a daily basis,” Marcus explains. I took my experience from growing up and residing in Alexandra and turned those into music, pouring out my frustrations about the pandemic we’re in, expressing my respect towards all the artists trying to push their work through these trying times. This is a chance of a lifetime and I know music is all there is for me. I will pursue it until I’m too old to hold a note. But until then, I’ll continue making music that everyone can relate to and appreciate.”

Listen to “You Wouldn’t Understand” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

You Still Don’t Know Me by Marcus Harvey, out on all platforms.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Marcus Harvey dévoile le clip intime de « You Wouldn’t Understand »

La chanson est le premier titre de You Still Don’t Know Me, le dernier projet de l’artiste sud-africain.

Elevé par une mère célibataire, Marcus a découvert sa passion pour la musique à un jeune âge. Cette dernière possédait un jukebox dans son shebeen (bar informel) et pendant qu’il l’aidait à vendre des bières, les clients lui faisaient écouter leurs chansons préférées de Brenda Fassie, Michael Jackson, Fela Kuti et bien d’autres. C’est sous le nom d’Hipnautik que le jeune garçon lancera sa carrière, attirant l’attention des habitants de son township avec son mélange de rap et de RnB mélancolique. En 2020, Harvey sortait I Am Marcus Harvey, un premier projet acclamé par la critique. Il est aujourd’hui de retour avec You Still Don’t Know Me, dont « You Wouldn’t Understand » est le premier titre.

La chanson décrit les sentiments de Marcus pour son amante. Essayant de calmer ses insécurités et tentant de s’immiscer au plus profond de sa pensée, il lui fait savoir qu’il risquerait tout pour elle. Le reste de l’EP explore d’autres aspects de la romance (« Reflection »), évoque l’environnement rude du township d’Alexandra (« Chilling in Alex ») et prône le repos et la détente (« Don’t Think About Too Much »). 

« Cet EP est l’incarnation de la façon dont j’aborde les questions sociales auxquelles je suis confronté au quotidien », explique Marcus. « J’ai transformé en musique l’expérience que j’ai acquise en grandissant et en résidant à Alexandra, en exprimant mes frustrations face à la pandémie dans laquelle nous nous trouvons et en exprimant mon respect envers tous les artistes qui tentent de faire avancer leur travail en ces temps difficiles. C’est la chance de ma vie et je sais que la musique est tout ce qu’il y a pour moi. Je la poursuivrai jusqu’à ce que je sois trop vieux pour tenir une note. Mais d’ici là, je continuerai à faire de la musique que tout le monde peut comprendre et apprécier. »

Écoutez « You Wouldn’t Understand » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

You Still Don’t Know Me de Marcus Harvey, disponible sur toutes les plateformes.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé