→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
2 weeks ago

Nyami Nyami reissues classic Zimbabwean record from Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles

With their album SOWETO, the band brought a new sound in the Harare of the 1980’s. Discover a track from the record exclusively on PAM. 

Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles were formed in 1980 and built up a discography of eight solid albums. Born in Petauke, in eastern Zambia, Banda was an aspiring freedom fighter who failed to cross into Mozambique to join the Liberation War. Instead, he ended up in Kadoma, where he started his music career. While his roots were foreign, his music was quintessentially Zimbabwean, as these lively mid-eighties recordings show. 

Based in Chegutu, the newly formed group recorded their debut, Sidhudla, and the chart-topping Dzinomwa MunaSave, before crafting their magnum opus: SOWETO. Nyami Nyami Records has announced the reissue of the Zimbabwean classic, produced at the peak of jit’s popularity in the mid-1980s, with the same tracklist and original artwork. 

In SOWETO, Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles injected a vibrant musical sensibility into the cultural landscape of their homeland, fusing the rapid rhythms of jit and the more intimate musicality of chimurenga, two major genres of the time. Two tracks are already available: the title track “Soweto,” an uplifting declaration of solidarity with victims of Apartheid, and “Farirai Mwana Auya,” which employs traditional chimurenga rhythms to celebrate the return of a child from work in the big city. Experience the track “Masvingo Netara” on PAM, a nightclub staple that opens on a pumping bassline. It is part love song, part social commentary, applying a style popular among Zimbabwean artists of the time, in which the male artist feigns a woman’s voice to warn men about social ills and bad behaviour.

SOWETO by Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles, out on October 24 via Nyami Nyami Records.

Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles – Masvingo Netara
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

Nyami Nyami Records réédite un classique zimbabwéen de Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles

Avec son album SOWETO, le groupe a introduit un nouveau son dans le Harare des années 1980. PAM vous en fait découvrir un extrait.

Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles ont été formés en 1980 et ont huit albums solides à leur actif. Banda est né à Petauke, dans l’est de la Zambie. Aspirant à devenir un « freedom fighter », il ne réussit pas à atteindre le Mozambique et à rejoindre la guerre de libération. C’est donc à Kadoma qu’il s’est retrouvé et où il a commencé sa carrière musicale. Bien que ses racines aient été étrangères, sa musique a été typiquement zimbabwéenne, comme en témoignent ces enregistrements particulièrement vivants du milieu des années 80. 

Basé à Chegutu, le groupe nouvellement formé a enregistré son premier album Sidhudla et Dzinomwa MunaSave qui a figuré au hit-parade, avant de créer le chef-d’œuvre SOWETO. Nyami Nyami Records a annoncé la réédition de ce classique zimbabwéen, avec la même tracklist et la pochette originale, produite au sommet de la popularité du jit au milieu des années 1980. 

Avec SOWETO, Robson Banda et les New Black Eagles ont injecté une sensibilité musicale particulière dans le paysage culturel de leur pays natal, mêlant les rythmes rapides du jit et la musicalité plus intime du chimurenga. Deux titres sont déjà disponibles : le titre « Soweto », une déclaration édifiante de solidarité avec les victimes de l’apartheid, et « Farirai Mwana Auya », qui utilise les rythmes traditionnels du chimurenga pour célébrer le retour d’un enfant de son travail dans la grande ville. Découvrez le titre « Masvingo Netara » sur PAM, un incontournable des boîtes de nuit qui s’ouvre sur une ligne de basse entraînante. C’est à la fois une chanson d’amour et un commentaire social, dans un style populaire parmi les artistes zimbabwéens de l’époque, où l’artiste masculin utilise la voix d’une femme pour mettre en garde les hommes contre les maux sociaux et les mauvais comportements.

SOWETO de Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles, disponible le 24 octobre sur Nyami Nyami Records.

Robson Banda and the New Black Eagles – Masvingo Netara

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé