→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 albums to discover this week

This week, Prettyboy D-O, Skillibeng and Loski spit their Afrobeats, dancehall and drill fire. We dance to Machance, DJ Abbas and Baja Frequencia’s kwaito and reggaeton, while TRESOR delivers a particularly tender album. Finally, Tribe From The Ashes offers us a jazz interlude, and Savage drops his debut Afro-fusion project. 

Love Is War

Prettyboy D-O

A fierce sonic fusion tracking the mental struggles of a man on his way up, Love Is War is Prettyboy D-O’s masterful debut. The project is disturbing, harsh and raw, immersing us in the Nigerian artist’s deepest concerns and fantasies, alternating between police brutality and dreams of romance. Fusing afrobeats, dancehall, rap and alté, the album is also profoundly punk, advocating for a complete burn down of authorities and establishment. Spanning over fourteen fiery tracks, Love Is War features IAMDDB, Nissi, Pa Salieu and MOJO AF. 

Listen here

Crocodile Teeth LP

Skillibeng

Skillibeng is a mainstay in the Jamaican dancehall and rap industry, notably thanks to his hit “Crocodile Teeth” which has been remixed by top artists such as Nicki Minaj, Tory Lanez and Prettyboy D-O. Crocodile Teeth LP consists of 12 tracks, much less than 2020’s The Prodigy Mixtape, which featured 35. The album features American rappers Rich The Kid and Bobby Shmurda, alongside central Jamaican artists such as Popcaan and Spice, in addition to the British-Jamaican diva Stefflon Don.

Listen here

Motion

TRESOR

Congolese and South Africa-based artist TRESOR is one of the main voices of African pop. Having collected multiple awards and toured the world in his many years of career, the artist has been on a roll in the recent months, dropping an album with DJ Maphorisa and Kabza Da Small, co-writing a song for Drake in Certified Lover Boy and collaborating with Metallica on “Nothing Else Matters”. Motion is the name of his new album. “This is firstly a token of appreciation for my journey in the last five years, and also the closing of a journey and a bridge”, he told PAM in an upcoming interview. “Understanding that I’m entering a brand new chapter of my life as an artist and as a young African man. That’s pretty much what the music and the story of this album tell”. 

Listen here

Censored

Loski

In 2021, after emerging from his third prison sentence, Loski had his mind on some good old days. But far from dwelling on events of his past, the South London drill rapper was on a path of rediscovery. On Censored, the young artist walks a tightrope between cheeky indifference and downright disrespect, with thrilling results. Rising Camden MC (and one-time jail mate) Suspect joins for the tape’s most infectious drill heater (“Woosh and Push”), SD trades flows on sputtering synth patterns for the Harlem throwback piece (“Break It”) and all ten tracks lean into the complex, belligerent rhymes that characterised Loski’s teen rise. 

Listen here

Drums of Pitori

Machance, DJ Abbas

Drums of Pitori is a compilation of seven kwaito bombs from South African producers Machance and DJ Abbas (who passed away in 2008). Machance performs the majority of the vocals in sePitori, Pretoria’s street slang, while DJ Abbas adds a percussive touch to the production. The tracks were originally quietly released on CD format in Pitori, a name referring to Pretoria, between 2005 and 2006. At the time, kwaito was just beginning to merge with the new South African house, resulting in Machance and Abbas’ hybrid genre. This project was the first official release from Machance and Abbas, and is now the first compilation released on PSSNGR, who teamed up with the Parisian label, Promesses, for the occasion.

Listen here

Tribe From The Ashes

Tribe From The Ashes

Conceived during the first confinement by Sandra Nkaké, Jî Drû and Marion Rampal, Tribe From the Ashes is a collective of 16 musicians born in response to the urgency of the situation. For an antidote to troubled times, the group mixes jazz, spiritual music and soul music. This is a soundscape that captures the energy of the group’s 16 members and honors all forms of Great Black Music, from groove to gospel, from Coltrane-like walls of notes to Sun Ra-like melodies, from fusion swerves to powerful folk-tinged ballads. The album, which was performed live in different forms and with guests, is not only a hymn to freedom, union and joint creation, but also a musical proposition never before heard in France.

Listen here

Utopia

Savage

With Utopia, Nigerian fast-rising artist Savage releases his exciting debut album, transcending Afro-fusion and rap while touching an Afro-pop dance-driven spirit. The project encompasses daily reflection of lust and romance, as Savage recognises love is a changing factor. He explores sensuality in songs like “Button”, as he sings about a woman’s body against the percussive afrobeats backdrop. “Pariwo” sees the artist jump on the sonic 808s,  afro-swing sizzler “Mana Gyalis” enlists UK hard-hitters Kojo Funds and Kida Kudz while African hip hop heavy weights Khaligraph Jones and Emtee feature on enigmatic rap number “Daddy”.

Listen here

SudAmericat

Baja Frequencia

Following a debut EP in 2017 and an album in 2019, the explosive duo Baja Frequencia presents SudAmericat, an interesting cocktail of reggaeton beats, baile funk and cumbia mixed with acid-techno, juke and trap influences. In this new opus, which takes the form of a real-life journey, the Marseille-based producers meet alternative reggaeton MCs and South American LGBT+ artists: Chocolate Remix from Argentina; Yanna, a Peruvian MC with a razor sharp flow; Frank Takuma, a Colombian rapper from Bogota’s vibrant hip-hop scene…

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

8 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, Prettyboy D-O, Skillibeng et Loski crachent leur feu afrobeats, dancehall et drill. Machance, DJ Abbas et Baja Frequencia mènent la danse entre kwaito et reggaeton, tandis que TRESOR livre un album tout en douceur. Enfin, Tribe From The Ashes et NEC+ nous offrent une parenthèse jazz. 

Love Is War

Prettyboy D-O

Love Is War est le premier album de Prettyboy D-O, une fusion sonore féroce évoquant les luttes mentales d’un homme sur le chemin de son ascension. Le projet est dérangeant, dur et brut, nous plongeant dans les préoccupations et les fantasmes les plus profonds de l’artiste nigérian, évoquant tour à tour brutalité policière et rêves de romance. Un mélange d’afrobeats, de dancehall, de rap et d’alté, l’album est aussi profondément punk, prônant l’anéantissement complet des autorités et de l’establishment. Composé de quatorze titres flamboyant, Love Is War réunit IAMDDB, Nissi, Pa Salieu et MOJO AF. 

Ecoutez ici

Crocodile Teeth LP

Skillibeng

Depuis quelques mois, Skillibeng est sous le feu des projecteurs de l’industrie jamaïcaine du dancehall et du rap depuis son titre « Crocodile Teeth », qui a été remixé par des artistes de premier plan tels que Nicki Minaj, Tory Lanez et Prettyboy D-O. Crocodile Teeth LP comprend 12 titres, soit moins que The Prodigy Mixtape (2020) qui en comptait 35. L’album fait intervenir les rappeurs américains Rich The Kid et Bobby Shmurda, aux côtés d’artistes jamaïcains incontournables tels que Popcaan et Spice, ainsi que la Britannique-Jamaïcaine Stefflon Don. 

Ecoutez ici

Motion

TRESOR

Artiste congolais basé en Afrique du Sud, TRESOR est l’une des principales voix de la pop africaine. Ayant récolté de multiples récompenses et fait le tour du monde au cours de ses nombreuses années de carrière, l’artiste a eu le vent en poupe ces derniers mois, entre son album avec DJ Maphorisa et Kabza Da Small, l’écriture d’une chanson pour Drake dans Certified Lover Boy et sa collaboration avec Metallica sur « Nothing Else Matters ». Motion est le nom de son nouvel album. « C’est d’abord un témoignage de reconnaissance pour mon parcours au cours des cinq dernières années, et aussi la clôture d’un voyage et un pont », a-t-il déclaré à PAM dans une interview à venir. « Comprendre que j’entre dans un tout nouveau chapitre de ma vie en tant qu’artiste et en tant que jeune homme africain. C’est à peu près ce que la musique et les histoires de cet album racontent ». 

Ecoutez ici

Censored

Loski

En 2021, après sa troisième peine de prison, Loski avait l’esprit tourné vers le bon vieux temps. Mais loin de ressasser les événements de son passé, le rappeur de South London était en réalité sur la voie de la redécouverte. Sur Censored, le jeune artiste alterne entre indifférence insolente et manque de respect pur et simple, avec des résultats qui ne laissent personne indifférent. Le MC de Camden (et ancien compagnon de prison) Suspect se joint à lui pour le banger du projet (« Woosh and Push »), SD place ses flows synthétiques et féroces sur son morceau de retour (« Break It ») et les dix autres titres s’appuient sur les rimes complexes et belliqueuses qui ont caractérisé la jeune ascension de Loski.

Ecoutez ici

Drums of Pitori

Machance, DJ Abbas

Drums of Pitori est une compilation de sept bombes kwaito des producteurs sud-africains Machance et DJ Abbas (disparu en 2008). Machance y interprète la majorité des vocaux en sePitori, l’argot des rues de Pretoria, tandis que DJ Abbas ajoute une touche percussive aux productions. À l’origine, ces morceaux étaient sortis sur format CD sous les radars à Pitori, l’autre nom de Pretoria, entre 2005 et 2006. A l’époque, le kwaito commence seulement à se fondre dans la nouvelle house sud-africaine, donnant le style hybride de Machance et DJ Abbas. Ce projet a été la première sortie officielle des deux producteurs, et est aujourd’hui la première compilation sortie sur PSSNGR, qui fait équipe pour l’occasion avec le label parisien Promesses.

Ecoutez ici

Tribe From The Ashes

Tribe From The Ashes

Imaginé dans l’urgence du premier confinement par Sandra Nkaké, Jî Drû et Marion Rampal, Tribe From The Ashes est un collectif de 16 musiciens. Le groupe brasse le jazz, les musiques spirituelles et la soul music, si nécessaire en des temps particulièrement troublés. Les 16 membres ont de l’énergie à transmettre, et font honneur à toutes les formes de la Great Black Music, du groove au gospel, des murs de notes à la Coltrane aux mélodies dignes de Sun Ra, des embardées fusion aux imparables ballades teintées de folk. L’album, qui se déploie en live sous différentes formes et avec des invités, est non seulement un hymne à la liberté, à l’union et à la création commune mais aussi une proposition musicale inédite en France.

Ecoutez ici

SudAmericat

Baja Frequencia

Après un premier EP en 2017 et un album en 2019, le duo aux productions explosives Baja Frequencia présente SudAmericat, une délicieuse bouillabaisse de beats reggaeton, baile funk, cumbia et d’influences plus acid–techno, juke et trap.  Dans ce dernier opus en forme de voyage, les producteurs marseillais rencontrent les MCs du reggaeton alternatif et des artistes LGBT+ sud-américains: l’argentine Chocolate Remix ; Yanna, MC péruvienne au flow affuté comme une lame ; Frank Takuma, MC colombien issu de la bouillonnante scène hip-hop de Bogota…

Ecoutez ici

Time Will Tell

Nec +

Fondé par Etienne Mbappe, NEC+ réunit autour du bassiste aux mains gantées de soie noire, les baguettes magiques de Nicolas Viccaro à la batterie, la finesse harmonique, la beauté mélodique et l’archet déchirant de Christophe Cravero au piano, aux claviers et au violon. Une musique intense, surprenante, chantante, dansante… aux sonorités résolument jazz, où soufflent parfois les vents d’Afrique et d’ailleurs. Une musique aérienne, quand les harmonies cristallines enlacent des mélodies caressantes. Terrienne, quand les rythmiques sauvages expriment une audacieuse soif de liberté. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé