→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 albums you should listen to this week

Guts releases a new compilation with Afro-tropical sounds, while Praktika continues to explore West African music. João Selva also navigates African influences in Brazil, as does Vhoor, inspired by the Quilombola communities. Kady Diarra honors the diversity of Burkina Faso, in five different languages. Gary Bartz brings together all the musical currents of his career. As for Kaidi Tatham and Piers Faccini, they invite us to question ourselves, in a spiritual journey.

Benkadi
Praktika

After five years spent in West Africa, French producer and DJ Jérôme Fouqueray, better known as Praktika, has released his debut album Benkadi. It is a record shaped by encounters with musicians, human relationships and “this life that is completely different from ours.

Praktika’s new release marks an obviously human and intimate piece of work with a tracklist evoking backpacking trip vibes. We travel to Bobo-Dioulasso for a beer (the famous “Tchapalo”), then hear the ironworkers in the Bamako market banging on metal before catching a bus destined for Segou.

Listen here

Shapes of the Fall
Piers Faccini

In each of Piers Faccini’s albums there is an environmental concern which draws on Anglo-American heritage and the Mediterranean, Maghreb and West African traditions as well as on ancient or baroque music. On Shapes of the Fall, his ninth album, the artist reflects on our collapsing world, observing it in his fiftieth year on the planet.

“Dunya” is reminiscent of Sufi chants, while “All Aboard,” in collaboration with Ben Harper and Abdelkebir Merchane, carves out an ecological and modern rereading of Noah’s Ark. Piers Faccini states: “We would rather let our home, our planet, our own paradise burn before us than embrace a new green narrative and embark together on a path that avoids an apocalyptic scenario.

Listen here

Navegar
João Selva

For his second album, the artist constructs a symbiosis between disco, jazz and funk, while remaining faithful to a Brazilian spirit, cadenced by the irresistible rhythms of the forró, kompa, funaná or even the funa. The work also has a relationship to “saudade,” that melancholic feeling of dreaming and desire for a bitter-sweet happiness. Songs like “Tudo vai dar pé” or “Camará” form odes to better days while denouncing the tyranny of the current president. He also collaborates with Flavia Coehlo and Patchworks. A tribute to the Black Atlantic.

Listen here

An Insight To All Minds
Kaidi Tatham

Following his 2018 album It’s A World Before You, the British artist dedicates An Insight To All Minds to empathy: “Nothing in this world can torment you as much as your own thoughts … We all go through it. We can all feel what our fellow man feels, believe it or not. It’s a matter of learning to use it.” The man who is nicknamed the “Herbie Hancock of the United Kingdom” by Benji B, producer and host of BBC Radio 1, has concocted a very rich project at the intersection of breakbeat, jazz-funk, percussion, samba and deep Afro house. He continues his varied collaborations, having worked with Amy Winehouse several years ago, as well as with Uhmeer and Stro Elliot. A breath of fresh air for the British music scene.

Listen here

Ritmo
Vhoor

The Brazilian producer offers his seventh release in less than a year in homage to Coco rhythms,  a dance and musical genre that has always been present in the popular parties of the Brazilian North. “My approach on this release was to show that folk music is still rooted in the sound we make today.“His inspiration comes from Quilombola communities, colonies founded by escaped slaves, an often overlooked phenomenon of Afro-Brazilian culture that the beatmaker wanted to highlight by marrying the essence of these sounds with his own electronic music. While he is known for his fresh and modern interpretation of baile funk, Vhoor is also comfortable with hip-hop and trap, considering himself a “Brazilian and Afro-Latino beatmaker above all” who absorbs all the styles of music his huge country has to offer, appropriating “the ancestral influences that each genre has in common.”

Listen here

Jazz Is Dead 006
Gary Bartz, Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad

Gary Bartz, a hugely important figure in the lineage of Great Black Music, continues his adventure as a saxophonist on the Jazz Is Dead label, produced by his admirers and future torchbearers, Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad. This 80-year-old artist represents a massive tangle of influences that he has been weaving since the 60’s: bepop, hard bop, free jazz, spiritual jazz, soul jazz, jazz funk, fusion and acid jazz. Adrian Younge describes the collaboration as follows: “Collaborating with Gary Bartz has literally, for us, illustrated the whole aesthetic behind Jazz Is Dead. He’s been a beacon for us, contributing enormously to our musical culture for decades. His musical ability continues to grow as he ages, and we’re honored to be a part of his world now.

Listen here

Straight from the decks 2
Guts

Following the success of the Beach Diggin’ series as well as the Straight From The Decks Vol. 1, Guts returns with a second volume, continuing his “quest for a forgotten novelty or rarity.” He also battles the “digital steamroller that crushes the rhythm to set the tempo, leaving behind a dying drummer whose only crime is to have been carried away by his energy“. Celebrating imperfections within DJ sets, Guts is thrilled to present sixteen tracks (available on vinyl) including rarities acquired during “grueling bidding battles.” It marks an Afro-tropical project that comes at the right time, with the arrival of spring, featuring The Dutch Benglos, the French Voilaaa, the Ghanaian Pat Thomas or the Franco-Cameroonian Pat Kalla.

Listen here

Burkina Hakili
Kady Diarra

For her third album, the Burkinabe artist advocates a kind of universalism of difference, affirming her humanism while celebrating her plural and West African roots. Here, Kady Diarra succeeds in integrating a thousand-year-old tradition within a globalized modern society. She sings in five different languages: Bambara, Bwaba, Dioulaba, Moré and French, reflecting the plurality of the “spirit of Burkina,” as the name of the album indicates, from the pan-Africanism of Thomas Sankara to an homage dedicated to her distant griot ancestry Lastly, and above all, the project engages with her spiritual family, Niamakara, a caste of weaving artists. Her nephews Moussa Koita, Samba Diarra and Mabouro Diarra play several instruments, while her daughter Assetou Koita accompanies her on the chorus. The spirit of trance pervades the track “Sou” (Night), while “Mousso” celebrates femininity by drawing on the Bambara tradition.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

8 albums à écouter cette semaine

Guts sort une nouvelle compilation aux sonorités afro-tropicales, pendant que Praktika continue d'explorer les musiques d'Afrique de l'Ouest. João Selva navigue également sur les influences africaines au Brésil, tout comme Vhoor, inspiré par les communautés Quilombola. Kady Diarra honore la diversité burkinabè, dans cinq langues différentes. Gary Bartz met tous les courants musicaux de sa carrière en symbiose. Quant à Kaidi Tatham et Piers Faccini, ils nous invitent à nous remettre en question, dans un voyage spirituel.

Benkadi
Praktika

Suite à cinq années passées en Afrique de l’Ouest, le producteur et DJ français Jérôme Fouqueray, plus connu sous le nom de Praktika, dévoile Benkadi, son tout premier album. Un disque façonné avant tout par des rencontres avec les musiciens, les relations humaines et « cette vie qui est complètement différente de la nôtre ».

Praktika dévoile une pièce manifestement humaine et intimiste dont la tracklist à elle seule sonne déjà comme un voyage en sac à dos. On se pose à Bobo-Dioulasso pour boire une bière (le fameux « Tchapalo »), puis on entend les ferronniers du marché de Bamako frapper le métal, avant d’attraper un bus qui nous mènera à Ségou.

Lisez notre chronique.

Écoutez ici

Shapes of the Fall
Piers Faccini

Dans chaque album de Piers Faccini résonne une inquiétude environnementale dans laquelle il se nourrit autant de l’héritage anglo-américain, des traditions de la Méditerranée, du Maghreb et de l’Afrique de l’Ouest que de la musique ancienne ou baroque. Sur Shapes of the Fall (les formes de chute), son neuvième album, l’artiste se penche sur notre monde en cours d’effondrement, observé par un homme qui vient d’entrer dans sa cinquantième année.

Son titre « Dunya » nous rappelle incontestablement les chants soufis, tandis qu’ « All Aboard », en collaboration avec Ben Harper ainsi qu’Abdelkebir Merchane, permet d’effectuer une relecture écologique et moderne de l’Arche de Noé. Piers Faccini affirme ainsi : « Nous préférerions laisser notre maison, notre planète, notre propre paradis brûler devant nous plutôt que d’embrasser un nouveau récit vert et d’embarquer tous ensemble vers un chemin nous évitant un scénario apocalyptique. »

Écoutez ici

Navegar
João Selva

Pour son deuxième album, l’artiste met en symbiose disco, jazz et funk, tout en demeurant fidèle à un esprit brésilien, cadencé par les rythmes irrésistibles du forró, du kompa, du funaná ou encore du semba. Cette oeuvre semble proche de la « saudade », ce sentiment mélancolique de rêverie et de désir d’un bonheur à la fois doux et amer. Des chansons comme « Tudo vai dar pé » ou « Camará » sont des odes à l’espoir de jours meilleurs tout en dénonçant la tyrannie de l’actuel président. João Selva collabore également avec Flavia Coehlo ou encore Patchworks. Un hommage à l’Atlantique noir.

Écoutez ici

An Insight To All Minds
Kaidi Tatham

Suite à son album It’s A World Before You, paru en 2018, l’artiste britannique consacre An Insight To All Minds à l’empathie : « Rien dans ce monde ne peut vous tourmenter autant que vos propres pensées… Nous passons tous par là. Nous pouvons tous ressentir ce que notre prochain ressent, croyez-le ou non. Il s’agit d’apprendre à s’en servir. » Celui qui est surnommé le « Herbie Hancock du Royaume-Uni » par Benji B, producteur et animateur à la BBC Radio 1, a concocté un album très riche, entre breakbeat, jazz-funk, percussions, samba ou encore deep afro house. Il poursuit ses collaborations avec d’autres artistes, à l’instar d’Amy Winehouse il y a plusieurs années, avec Uhmeer ou encore Stro Elliot. Un nouveau souffle pour la scène musicale britannique.

Écoutez ici

Ritmo
Vhoor

Le producteur brésilien propose sa septième sortie en moins d’un an, en hommage aux rythmes Coco, genre musical et danse très présente durant les fêtes populaires du Nord brésilien. « Mon approche sur cette sortie était de montrer que la musique folklorique est toujours enracinée dans le son que l’on fait aujourd’hui ». Il s’inspire notamment des communautés Quilombola, colonies fondées par des esclaves en fuite, un phénomène souvent négligé de la culture afro-brésilienne que le beatmaker a voulu mettre en exergue en mariant l’essence de ces sons à la musique électronique qui lui est propre. S’il est réputé pour son interprétation fraîche et moderne du baile funk, Vhoor est aussi à l’aise avec le hip-hop et la trap, et se considère comme un « beatmaker brésilien et afro-latin par-dessus tout » qui absorbe tous les styles de musiques que son immense pays peut lui offrir, s’appropriant « les influences ancestrales que chaque genre a en commun ».

Écoutez ici

Jazz Is Dead 006
Gary Bartz, Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad

Gary Bartz, figure importante de la Great Black Music, poursuit son aventure de saxophoniste au sein du label Jazz Is Dead, produit par ses admirateurs Adrian Younge et Ali Shaheed Muhammad. Cet artiste âgé de 80 ans nous dévoile un enchevêtrement d’influences, depuis les années 60 : bepop, hard bop, free jazz, spiritual jazz, soul jazz, jazz funk, fusion ou encore acid jazz. Adrian Younge décrit ainsi cette collaboration : « Collaborer avec Gary Bartz a littéralement, pour nous, illustre toute l’esthétique derrière Jazz Is Dead. C’est un phare pour nous, qui a énormément contribué à notre culture musicale, durant des décennies. Son habileté musicale ne cesse de se développer, l’âge avançant, et on est honoré de faire partie de son univers désormais. »

Écoutez ici

Straight from the decks 2
Guts

Suite au succès de la série Beach Diggin’, puis du premier volume de la compilation Straight From The Decks, Guts revient avec un deuxième volume, fier de sa « quête d’une nouveauté ou d’une rareté oubliée ». Il lutte également contre le « rouleau compresseur numérique qui écrase le rythme pourfixer le tempo en laissant derrière lui un batteur à l’agonie dont le seul crime est de s’être laissé emporter par son énergie ». Célébrant les imperfections au sein des DJ sets, Guts est ravi de présenter seize titres, disponibles en vinyle, dont des raretés acquises durant des « batailles d’enchères éprouvantes ». Un projet afro-tropical qui tombe à pic, avec l’arrivée du printemps, entre les Néerlandais The Dutch Benglos, les Français Voilaaa, le Ghanéen Pat Thomas ou encore le Franco-camerounais Pat Kalla.

Écoutez ici

Burkina Hakili
Kady Diarra

Pour son troisième album, l’artiste burkinabè prône une sorte d’universalisme des différences, en affirmant son humanisme, tout en célébrant ses racines plurielles et ouest-africaines. Kady Diarra réussit ainsi à intégrer une tradition millénaire au sein d’une modernité mondialisée. Elle y chante en cinq langues différentes : le bambara, le bwaba, le dioulaba, le moré et le français, à l’image de la pluralité de « l’esprit du Burkina », comme l’indique le nom de l’album, du panafricanisme de Thomas Sankara à l’hommage consacré à son ascendance lointaine de griots, mais aussi et surtout à sa famille spirituelle Niamakara, une caste d’artistes tisserands. Ses neveux Moussa Koita, Samba Diarra et Mabouro Diarra y jouent plusieurs instruments, pendant que sa fille Assetou Koita l’accompagne dans les choeurs. L’esprit de transe envahit le titre « Sou » (La nuit), tandis que « Mousso » célèbre la féminité en puisant dans la tradition bambara.

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé