→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Music Yared and Mikey Young build bridges between East Africa and Oceania in new video

The Eritrean artist Anbessa Gebrehiwot, the Ethiopian Haftu Reda and Australian Mikey Young announce the release of Sindayo (Mikey Young remixes), an EP supported by the “Music in Exile” initiative. In an exclusive, PAM unveils the new video.

Anbessa Gebrehiwot and Haftu Reda are originally from Eritrea and Ethiopia respectively. These musicians have mastered the krar, a five-stringed lyre, as well as the masinko, a one-stringed violin. An engineer in his native country, Haftu Reda left for Australia in 2013, hoping to find a better future for his wife and their four children. It was there that he met Anbessa Gebrehiwot. At the Asylum Seekers Resource Centre in Melbourne, the two eventually met Dale Gorfinkel, a producer and multi-instrumentalist who supports the rights of people who were in Australia before the arrival of Europeans.

Together, they participated in Music in Exile, an initiative led by Dale Gorfinkel. The objective of the project is to create a space for artistic creation for all people from diverse cultures in Australia. This initiative supports the group Music Yared, formed by Anbessa Gebrehiwot and Haftu Reda.

Following their eponymous album released back in 2020, the collective is back with a new EP of remixes from the project made by the Australian producer Mikey Young, who is well known in Melbourne. The video for the first track, “Sindayo (Mikey Young’s Masinko Remix)” takes us through whirlwind visuals representing various landscapes. The Music Yared artists also use the video to illustrate their experience of uprooting, a real bridge between the past and the present, bringing hope to many immigrants.

Pre-order the EP Sindayo (Mikey Young Remixes) ahead of its April 9, 2021 release, via Music in Exile.

Find Music Yared in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Music Yared et Mikey Young, le pont entre l’Afrique de l’Est et l’Océanie

L’Erythréen Anbessa Gebrehiwot, l’Ethiopien Haftu Reda et l’Australien Mikey Young annoncent la sortie de l’EP Sindayo (Mikey Young remixes), soutenu par l’initiative « Music in Exile ». En exclusivité, PAM vous dévoile le clip du titre éponyme.

Anbessa Gebrehiwot et Haftu Reda sont originaires d’Érythrée et d’Éthiopie. Ces musiciens maîtrisent notamment le krar, lyre à cinq cordes, ainsi que le masinko, un violon à une corde. Ingénieur dans son pays natal, Haftu Reda quitte ce dernier en 2013 pour l’Australie, dans l’espoir de trouver un avenir meilleur pour sa femme et leurs quatre enfants. C’est là qu’il rencontre Anbessa Gebrehiwot. Au centre de ressources pour demandeurs d’asile de Melbourne, ces deux hommes finissent par croiser Dale Gorfinkel, producteur et multi-instrumentiste qui soutient la défense des droits des populations présentes en Australie avant l’arrivée des Européens.

Ensemble, ils participent à Music in Exile, initiative de Dale Gorfinkel. L’objectif du projet : créer un espace de création artistique pour toutes les personnes issues de diverses cultures en Australie. Cette initiative soutient notamment le groupe Music Yared, formé par Anbessa Gebrehiwot ainsi que Haftu Reda.

Suite à leur album éponyme sorti en 2020, évoquant leur déracinement, le collectif revient avec un nouvel EP de remixes de cet album, effectué par le producteur australien Mikey Young, très connu à Melbourne. Le clip du premier titre, « Sindayo (Mikey Young’s Masinko Remix) » nous transporte dans un tourbillon d’images, représentant divers paysages, mais aussi les artistes de Music Yared, illustrant parfaitement leur expérience d’arrachement. Un véritable pont entre le passé et le présent, porteur d’espoir pour de nombreux immigrés.

Précommandez l’EP Sindayo (Mikey Young Remixes) qui sortira le 9 avril 2021, via Music in Exile.

Retrouvez Music Yared dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé