→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Poté unveils "Young Lies" with Damon Albarn

The single, co-written with Damon Albarn, heralds the producer and singer’s new album, A Tenuous Tale of Her, due for release on June 4.

Poté, whose real name is Sylvern Mathurin, is an English artist from Saint Lucia, an island state in the West Indies. With a background in club and electronic scenes, the producer and singer has been moving into more mainstream territory, as evidenced by his track “Open Up,” performed on the Colors show last February.  For his new track “Young Lies,” which announces the release of his first album, A Tenuous Tale of Her, Poté called on the British Damon Albarn, founding member of the bands Blur, Gorillaz and The Good, the Bad and the Queen.

In the video, Poté plunges us into a pre-apocalyptic universe, fully assuming his vulnerability. We follow a man who tries his best to resist a fatal destiny. Despite the anxiety-inducing atmosphere, the funky rhythms bring a whirlwind of both fear and suspense as well as freedom, with a particularly theatrical edge. Poté sings foreboding lyrics on the track: “There’s something in the air … ” The single reflects a new album whose intention is to explore the artist’s own emotions.

Following on from his experiences as a producer, Poté fully assumes his new vocation as a vocalist, as well as his new pop angle: “I think that it is by working with other people, artists who really write songs, and not just producers, that I really sharpened my ear, my sense of melody and writing.” We feel the many musical influences the artist draws on: like kuduro, a musical genre from Angola, developed in Portugal, which consists of mixing break dance, Angolan semba, electronic and traditional African music. As for Damon Albarn, he commented: “I like it when tracks evolve like the one we did together.

The album A Tenuous Tale of Her will be released on June 4, 2021, via OUTLIER.

Listen to Poté and Damon Albarn in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 3 semaines

Poté dévoile le titre « Young Lies » en duo avec Damon Albarn

Ce single, co-écrit avec Damon Albarn, annonce le nouvel album du producteur et chanteur, A Tenuous Tale of Her, dont la sortie est prévue pour le 4 juin.

Poté, Sylvern Mathurin de son vrai nom, est un artiste britannique originaire de Sainte-Lucie, un État insulaire des Antilles. Issu des scènes club et électroniques, le producteur et chanteur se lance de plus en plus dans la chanson, comme en témoigne son titre « Open Up », chanté chez Colors en février dernier. Pour son nouveau titre « Young Lies », qui annonce la sortie de son tout premier album, A Tenuous Tale of Her, Poté a fait appel au britannique Damon Albarn, membre fondateur des groupes Blur, Gorillaz et The Good, the Bad and the Queen.

Dans ce clip, Poté nous plonge dans un univers pré-apocalyptique, en assumant pleinement sa vulnérabilité. Nous y suivons un homme qui tente tant bien que mal de résister à un destin fatal. Malgré l’ambiance anxiogène, la musique aux sonorités funky nous entraîne dans un tourbillon mêlant peur, suspense et liberté, avec une performance particulièrement théâtrale. Poté se met également à chanter, l’air inquiet : « Il y a quelque chose dans l’air… » Ce single est à l’image de l’ensemble du nouvel album, dont l’intention consiste notamment à explorer ses propres émotions, de façon très personnelle.

Dans la continuité de son expérience de producteur, Poté assume pleinement sa vocation de vocaliste, mais aussi son côté pop : « Je pense que c’est en travaillant avec d’autres gens, des artistes qui écrivent vraiment des chansons, et pas juste des producteurs, que j’ai vraiment aiguisé mon oreille, mon sens de la mélodie et de l’écriture. » On y retrouve de nombreuses influences musicales, à l’instar du kuduro, musiques électroniques et traditionnelles africaines. Quant à Damon Albarn, il dévoile : « J’aime quand les morceaux évoluent comme celui que nous avons fait ensemble. »

L’album A Tenuous Tale of Her sortira le 4 juin 2021, via OUTLIER.

Écoutez Poté et Damon Albarn dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé