→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Balaphonics celebrates 10th anniversary with new album Spicy Boom Boom

Their single “Incredible Energy Vibes” featuring
Jamaican rapper Franz Von Song from K.O.G & The Zongo Brigade announces this new project.

Balaphonics is a collective of nine musicians specialized in Afro-fusion. Their name comes from the African percussion instrument, the balafon, also known as “bala” or “balani,” a kind of xylophone that has a very important place in Mandingo music. All kinds of balafons exist in different African regions and therefore the choice of this instrument is anything but insignificant, bringing together the whole continent. This brass band from Paris mixes funk, jazz and traditional African music, passing through groove and highlife. Their drums and guitars offer vibrating, frantic rhythms. Since the success of AfroMassivSoundSystem, released in 2016, the musicians have participated in many festivals, from France to Malta, through Cyprus, London and Bamako.

After recording their EP Balamako with the griot Moriba Diabaté, Balaphonics have continued their artistic encounters on the album Spicy Boom Boom. Recorded in the Mastoïd studio in Pantin, this project brings together groove, highlife, makossa, pop and Congolese rumba with harmony. All these musicians were supported by the great Manu Dibango, as well as Tiken Jah Fakoly and Hilaire Penda. It also features Kandy Guira of the Amazones d’Afrique group and Moriba Diabaté.

The single “Incredible Energy Vibes,” which can be experienced exclusively on PAM, pays tribute to the essential power of music, which “heals our lost souls since the dawn of time,” according to Balaphonics. The purpose of the track is perfectly summed up by Franz Von Song, who raps: “Let the music free your mind.

The album Spicy Boom Boom will be released digitally on April 30, 2021 via Vlad Productions.

Catch Balaphonics in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Balaphonics - Incredible Energy Vibes feat. Franz Von

Balaphonics fête ses 10 ans avec le nouvel album Spicy Boom Boom

En compagnie du rappeur jamaïcain Franz Von Song de K.O.G & The Zongo Brigade, le groupe dévoile le clip de « Incredible Energy Vibes ».

Balaphonics est un collectif de neuf musiciens, spécialisés dans l’afro-fusion. Leur nom est tiré de l’instrument africain de percussion, le balafon, aussi nommé « bala » ou « balani ». Il s’agit d’une sorte de xylophone, dont la place est considérablement importante au sein de la musique mandingue. Toutes sortes de balafons existent, au sein de plusieurs régions africaines. Le choix de cet instrument n’est donc pas anodin, réunissant l’ensemble du continent. Ce brass band francilien mêle ainsi funk, jazz et musiques traditionnelles d’Afrique, en passant par le groove ainsi que le highlife. Leurs batteries et guitares nous font vibrer sur des rythmes effrénés. Depuis le succès de leur album AfroMassivSoundSystem, sorti en 2016, les musiciens ont participé à de nombreux festivals, de l’Hexagone à Malte, en passant par Chypre, Londres et Bamako.

Après avoir enregistré leur EP Balamako auprès du griot Moriba Diabaté, les Balaphonics ont souhaité poursuivre leurs rencontres artistiques dans l’album Spicy Boom Boom. Enregistré au sein du studio Mastoïd à Pantin, ce projet réunit groove, highlife, makossa, pop et rumba congolaise avec harmonie. Tous ces musiciens ont été soutenus par Manu Dibango, Tiken Jah Fakoly ainsi que Hilaire Penda. Nous pouvons également y reconnaître Kandy Guira des Amazones d’Afrique ainsi que Moriba Diabaté, participant à ce projet.

Le single « Incredible Energy Vibes », à découvrir en exclusivité sur PAM, rend hommage au pouvoir essentiel de la musique, qui « guérit nos âmes égarées depuis la nuit des temps » selon les Balaphonics. L’objectif de ce titre est parfaitement résumé par Franz Von Song, qui rappe : « Laisse la musique libérer ton esprit. »

L’album Spicy Boom Boom sortira en numérique le 30 avril 2021 via Vlad Productions.

Retrouvez les Balaphonics dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé