→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

6 albums to discover this week

This week, Analog Africa and the Brazilians of Bixiga 70 bring us the best of highlife and afrobeat, while Flohio and Jamire Williams each give us their own take on rap. Namibia's Gina Jeanz explores different electronic genres, and Kabza De Small and MDU aka TRP drop hours of amapiano. 

Essiebons Special 1973 – 1984

Analog Africa

For most of the 1970s, Dick Essilfie-Bondzie’s Dix and Essiebons labels were synonymous with the best in modern highlife, and the producer’s roster made for a who’s-who of highlife legends. In the course of digitising his vast archive of master tapes, Essilfie-Bondzie found a number of Afrobeat and instrumental masterpieces that, for one reason or another, had never been released. Essiebons Special, released via Analog Africa, features a selection of obscure works from some of the label’s mid-70s golden age heaviest hitters. 

Listen here

Pretty Girls Love Amapiano 3

Kabza De Small, MDU aka TRP

If amapiano tracks and albums are notoriously long, designed to last for hours of party, Kabza De Small and MDU aka TRP might have this year’s record with Pretty Girls Love Amapiano 3. Spanning over 50 tracks, reaching almost six hours of music, the project will without a doubt invade the South African waves. It features mostly emerging artists, little known to the now vast amapiano audience, such as Acute Dose, Skroef 28, Stakev, Deeper Phil and many more. 

Listen here

But Only After You Have Suffered

Jamire Williams

Jamire Williams has an extensive resume as an avant-garde jazz and independent artist. He is known for applying the practice of sampling to modern jazz composition, beatmaking, vocals as well as impressionistic drumming styles. His new album But Only After You Have Suffered, released via International Anthem, is “a whole work,” Jamire explains, “it flows seamlessly and it’s meant to be played until you really understand what’s going on. It’s meant to be listened to until you really understand all the messages and the prayers and the screams.” We had made you discover the single “Safe Travels”. 

Listen here

Lucid Theory

Gina Jeanz

Coming off three EPs in the last two years, Gina Jeanz releases Lucid Theory, produced during the height of the Covid pandemic. The project includes future bass, deep house, alternative soul or UK garage, while featuring a cast of African vocalists such as MOONGA K., Sio, Brad Knight, Jordan Baker and AliThatDude. Speaking about the inspiration behind her album, Gina says, “I had been fighting my own battles, particularly after the passing of my mother in 2017, and I was severely anxious and could barely create music without running into creative blocks and worse, doubting my ability to bring my ideas to life. This is my story, this is my healing, this is my theory”.

Listen here

Bixiga 70

Bixiga 70

To celebrate the band’s 10th anniversary, Glitterbeat Records reissues the debut album from Brazil’s 10-piece instrumental powerhouse: Bixiga 70. The self-titled record is the bold, urgent and compromising mission statement for the acclaimed albums that followed. An inspired sound world where Afro-Brazilian traditions and retro and contemporary sonics seamlessly meld together. Keyboardist and guitarist Maurício Fleury recalls: “we could feel that we were doing something that felt important then and we tried to come up with a Brazilian answer to what we were listening to from abroad. I think that listening to this album nowadays can bring some of that hope that we shared at that time, shedding some light on the dark times we are going through.”

Listen here

Final Rage

Flohio

Flohio has been pushing out her own breed of gritty and aggressive hip hop since 2018. She unveiled her debut album No Panic No Pain in 2020, perfectly exemplifying her appetite for varied sounds: rap, grime, rock, electro… She now returns with Final Rage, a four-track EP seemingly serving as a waiting room for her next long-format album. “Don’t be shy man, nobody cares, that’s why my whole thing is ‘rage fucking rage’. I don’t just wanna perform, I want everyone to be involved”, she had told us in an interview about why rage was so present in her music. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

6 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, Analog Africa et les Brésiliens de Bixiga 70 nous ramènent le meilleur du highlife et de l’afrobeat. Flohio, Di-Meh et Jamire Williams nous livrent chacun leur interprétation du rap, et la Namibienne Gina Jeanz explore différents genres électroniques. 

Essiebons Special 1973 – 1984

Analog Africa

Pour une grande partie des années 1970, les labels Dix et Essiebons de Dick Essilfie-Bondzie ont été à la pointe du highlife moderne, et sa liste d’artistes était composée de légendes locales absolues. Au cours de la numérisation de ses vastes archives de bandes originales, Essilfie-Bondzie a trouvé un certain nombre de chefs-d’œuvre afrobeat et instrumentaux de l’âge d’or du label qui, pour une raison ou une autre, n’avaient jamais été publiés. Essiebons Special, publié par Analog Africa, présente une sélection de ces travaux brillants et obscures.

Ecoutez ici

But Only After You Have Suffered

Jamire Williams

Jamire Williams a un CV très étoffé en tant qu’artiste avant-garde de jazz et de musique indépendante, connu pour appliquer la pratique du sampling à la composition de jazz moderne. Son nouvel album But Only After You Have Suffered, publié sur International Anthem, est « une œuvre entière », explique-t-il. « Elle s’écoule de manière fluide et elle est destinée à être jouée jusqu’à ce que l’on comprenne vraiment ce qui se passe. Elle est destinée à être écoutée jusqu’à ce que vous compreniez vraiment tous les messages, les prières et les cris. » Nous vous avions parlé du morceau « Safe Travels ».

Ecoutez ici

3ayne & Mektoub

Di-Meh

Di-Meh, rappeur genevois d’origine marocaine et algérienne, avait surpris tout le monde en dévoilant en mai dernier Mektoub, un premier album fortement inspiré par son histoire familiale et sa relation à ses racines. L’artiste nous avait habitué auparavant à des flows et des ambiances beaucoup plus américaines. Son aventure continue aujourd’hui avec 3ayne & Mektoub, version augmentée de son projet. À la tracklist originale s’ajoutent huit morceaux, dont des featurings remarqués avec ses collègues Slimka, Tawsen, Smallx ou Mister V. 

Ecoutez ici

Lucid Theory

Gina Jeanz

Après avoir sorti trois EPs au cours des deux dernières années, Gina Jeanz a produit Lucid Theory au plus fort de la pandémie de Covid. Le projet voit la DJ livrer de la future bass, de la deep house, de la soul alternative ou du UK garage, tout en faisant appel à des chanteurs tels que MOONGA K., Sio, Brad Knight, Jordan Baker et AliThatDude. Evoquant l’inspiration derrière son album, Gina explique : « J’avais mené mes propres combats, notamment après le décès de ma mère en 2017, j’étais sévèrement anxieuse et je pouvais à peine créer de la musique sans me heurter à des blocages créatifs et pire, sans douter de ma capacité à donner vie à mes idées. C’est mon histoire, c’est ma guérison, c’est ma théorie. »

Ecoutez ici

Bixiga 70

Bixiga 70

Pour célébrer le 10e anniversaire du groupe, Glitterbeat Records réédite l’album épuisé des 10 musiciens brésiliens de Bixiga 70. Ce disque éponyme marque la base audacieuse, urgente et intransigeante des albums remarqués qui ont suivi. Un monde sonore inspiré par les traditions afro-brésiliennes, où les sonorités rétro et contemporaines s’entremêlent harmonieusement. Le claviériste et guitariste Maurício Fleury se souvient : « Nous sentions que nous faisions quelque chose d’important à l’époque et nous avions essayé de trouver une réponse brésilienne à ce que nous écoutions de l’étranger. Je pense que l’écoute de cet album aujourd’hui peut apporter un peu de cet espoir que nous partagions à l’époque, en éclairant les temps sombres que nous traversons. »

Ecoutez ici

Final Rage

Flohio

Depuis 2018, Flohio développe son propre style de hip-hop agressif et grinçant. Elle a dévoilé son premier album No Panic No Pain en 2020, illustrant parfaitement son appétit pour des sonorités variées : rap, grime, rock, électro… Elle revient aujourd’hui avec Final Rage, un EP de quatre titres servant possiblement de salle d’attente pour son prochain album long format. « Ne sois pas timide mec, tout le monde s’en fout, c’est pour ça que mon truc c’est ‘rage fucking rage’. Je ne veux pas seulement jouer, je veux que tout le monde soit impliqué », nous avait-elle confié dans une interview, expliquant pourquoi la rage était si présente dans sa musique. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé