→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
1 month ago

Vis‑A‑Vis: Ghanaian highlife classic album reissued

The Canadian label We Are Busy Bodies has reissued the ultra rare and seminal 1977 album Obi Agye Mi Dofo from the Ghanaian highlife group Vis-A-Vis, one of whose members was none other than the legend K. Frimpong.

The 1970s were a booming era for the record industry in Ghana. Highlife flirted with many genres, including afrobeat and jazz, which were soon exploited by the musicians in Vis-A-Vis. Both popular on stage and in demand in the studio, the group released no less than thirteen albums between 1975 and 1982, of which Obi Agye Me Dofo remains the most sought-after. Led by singer Isaac Yeboah, it was comprised by Sammy Cropper on guitar, Slim Manu on bass and Gybson Papra on drums, but also and above all, Vis-A-Vis helped propel singer K. Frimpong to the ranks of the most popular stars in Ghana in the 1970s. The Ghanaian singer also had his own band of musicians, the Cubano Fiestas, with whom he recorded the very popular “Kyenkyen Bi Adi M’awu.” The eponymous track from Obi Agye Me Dofo, on the other hand, perfectly encapsulates the formula that made Frimpong  so successful: a vocal afrobeat groove with jazz horns, touches of cosmic synthesizer and a fascinating, wandering guitar solo. 

Vis-A-Vis – « Obi Agye Me Dofo »

Obi Agye Me Dofo was briefly released as an LP in the United States in 1980 and again in 2011 by Continental Records. With Frimpong’s presence, it remains one of the most valued West African records of Ghana’s golden age, not least because highlife, meaning “beautiful life” in English, continues to inspire the new generation that brings its own modern touch to a genre still vibrating in the Ghanan scene. 

Released on January 29, 2021 via We Are Busy Bodies.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 1 mois

Vis‑A‑Vis : un classique du highlife ghanéen réédité

Le label canadien We Are Busy Bodies réédite l’album ultra rare et essentiel de 1977, Obi Agye Mi Dofo du groupe ghanéen de highlife Vis-A-Vis, dont l’un des membres n’était autre que la légende K. Frimpong.

Les années 70 sont une époque florissante pour l’industrie du disque au Ghana. Le highlife flirte alors avec de nombreux genres, notamment l’afrobeat et le jazz que les musiciens de Vis-A-Vis ont très vite su séduire. À la fois populaire sur scène et très demandé en studio, le groupe a sorti pas moins de treize albums entre 1975 et 1982, dont Obi Agye Me Dofo reste le plus recherché. Dirigé par le chanteur Isaac Yeboah, il se compose de Sammy Cropper à la guitare, Slim Manu à la basse et Gybson Papra à la batterie, mais aussi et surtout, Vis-A-Vis a contribué à propulser le chanteur K. Frimpong au rang des stars les plus populaires du Ghana des années 1970. Le chanteur ghanéen avait également sa propre bande de musiciens, celle des Cubano Fiestas avec qui il a enregistré le titre très populaire « Kyenkyen Bi Adi M’awu ». La chanson éponyme de l’album Obi Agye Me Dofo quant à elle, correspond exactement au moule dans lequel Frimpong a connu ses succès : un groove afrobeat chantant agrémenté de cuivres de jazz, de touches de synthétiseur cosmique et d’un solo de guitare ambulant et fascinant. 

Vis-A-Vis – « Obi Agye Me Dofo »

Obi Agye Me Dofo a été brièvement publié en tant que LP aux États-Unis en 1980, puis à nouveau en 2011 par Continental Records. Avec la présence de Frimpong, il reste parmi les disques ouest-africains les plus recherchés de l’âge d’or ghanéen, notamment parce que le highlife, signifiant « belle vie » en français, ne cesse d’inspirer la nouvelle génération qui apporte sa propre touche de modernité au genre qui fait toujours vibrer le Ghana. 

Sortie le 29 janvier 2021 via We Are Busy Bodies.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé