→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers returns with a dancefloor‑friendly double part EP

Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers unveils “Agwetaroyo”, the first track of their upcoming two-parts EP entitled Ayiti Kongo Dub, that will be released separately later on.

The Belgian duo Ångströmers and the Haïtan band Chouk Bwa met back in 2016 to combine the electro sounds of Brussels’ alternative scene with the raw strength of Chouk Bwa’s vodou infused musical style. An unusual collaboration which bore fruit as the two groups released the acclaimed Vodou Alé in 2020. Together they managed to make the vodou musical traditions more legible to the public by staying true to its roots and without losing the essence of its intense spirituality. But they weren’t ready to go their separate ways yet as they started working on a two part EPs entitled Ayiti Kongo Dub. The first part should be released on the 19th of June but, in the meantime, Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers have just unveiled “Agwetaroyo”, the first track of this anticipated EP.

Chouk Bwa promises an “exhilarating trip into their bush of ghosts by introducing a new stripped down line-up to fire up the dance floor, based exclusively on the drums and rhythms of the Haitian Kongo rite and deep electronic dub expansions by their trusted Belgian counterparts”. In Haitian Vodou, the lwa are spirits from the African diaspora that play a role of mediators between humanity and Bondyé, a transcendent creator divinity. These spirits are divided into different groups derived from the way in which enslaved West Africans were divided into “nations” upon their arrival in Haiti. There are different rites for each nation. The Kongo rite is about the Bantu lwa from Central Africa. They are celebrated in the Gonaïves from which the vodou group comes from.

For Ayiti Kongo Dub, Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers experimented with this new format on tour, back in 2018 and 2019. Improvisation, which is one the main characteristics of Kongo drumming, takes a major place in this EP. Indeed, the style was developed for ceremonial purposes and was not initially intended for performance. It is a feature the Ångströmers have strived to mimic by performing a large part of their interventions in an improvised manner. Ayiti Kongo Dub is a detour from their previous album Vodou Alé. Now aiming to produce a more danceable sound, more suited for the dancefloor, the band focuses further on the trance aspect of their music and have moved away from elaborate structures. “Deep bass, reverbs and delays inspired by Dub: this is music for clubs and sound systems of endless nights”.

Ayiti Kongo Dub EP#1 out July 1st.

Listen to “Agwetaroyo” in our afro + club playlist.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers font un retour fracassant avec un nouvel EP

Le groupe dévoile « Agwetaroyo », la chanson-titre de leur nouvel EP Ayiti Kongo Dub divisé en deux parties qui sortiront séparément.

Le duo belge The Ångströmers et le groupe haïtien Chouk Bwa s’étaient associés en 2016 pour combiner le son électro de la scène alternative de Brussels à la force brute du style musical aux influences vaudoues de Chouk Bwa. Une collaboration étonnante et réussie puisqu’elle a permis la sortie de l’excellent Vodou Alé en 2020. Ensemble, ils sont parvenus à rendre les traditions musicales vaudoues plus accessibles au public tout en y restant fidèles et en conservant l’essence de son intense spiritualité. L’album n’aura pas marqué la fin de cette entente pour autant puisque les groupes décident de remettre le couvert avec un EP en deux parties intitulé Ayiti Kongo Dub. La première partie devrait voir le jour le 19 juin. Pour patienter, Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers nous proposent de découvrir « Agwetaroyo », le premier morceau de cet EP très attendu.

Chouk Bwa propose ainsi un « voyage exaltant parmi les esprits pour enflammer la piste de danse avec un nouveau line-up épuré, qui s’appuie exclusivement sur les tambours et les rythmes du rite congo haïtien agrémenté par la dub électro de leurs homologues belges. » Dans le vaudou haïtien, les lwa sont des esprits issus de la diaspora africaine qui jouent un rôle d’intermédiaires entre l’humanité et le créateur suprême Bondyé. Ces esprits sont divisés en « nations » comme l’étaient les esclaves ouest-africains à leur arrivée en Haïti. Il existe des rites différents pour chaque nation. Le rite congo concerne les lwa bantous d’Afrique centrale. Ils sont célébrés dans la commune des Gonaïves où le groupe s’est formé.

C’est pendant leurs tournées en 2018 et en 2019 que Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers commencent à expérimenter avec ce nouveau format. L’improvisation y occupe une place centrale. Initialement développée pour les cérémonies religieuses vaudoues, la musique du rite congo n’est pas originellement destinée aux performances musicales. Une caractéristique dont se sont inspirés The Ångströmers en réalisant une grande partie de leurs interventions de manière improvisée. Ayiti Kongo Dub marque un virage par rapport à leur précédent album Vodou Alé. Le groupe cherche désormais à produire un son plus dansant et plus adapté aux pistes de danse. Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers se concentrent ainsi davantage sur l’aspect transe et s’éloignent des structures élaborées. « Des basses profondes, des échos et des delays inspirés par le dubstep : c’est de la musique de clubs et de sound systems pour des nuits sans fin. »

Ayiti Kongo Dub EP#1 sort le 1er juillet.

Écoutez « Agwetaroyo » dans notre playlist afro + club.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé