→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Kalash Criminel, Busiswa, Yemi Alade and more.

2020 DIvision 
Jyellowl

A lyrical work that’s both personal and collective, the Irish rapper reflects on the ideals of being oneself before attempting to please others. The question of identity is also an important theme for the rapper whose music is the fruit of multiple backgrounds: born in Jamaica of Nigerian parents, he grew up in Dublin where rap took a central place in his life.

Listen here.

Sélection naturelle
Kalash Criminel

Its cover is in itself a strong political message: an albino child defending a black woman and her child from the police.A symbolic image that proves once again that Kalash has placed his album on hot coals and keeps his incisive verb, reinforced by the appearances of Niska, Damso, Jul, Nekfeu, Bigflo & Oli and 26keuss.

Listen here.

Aulos
Jimi Tenor

Jimi Tenor once again summons Africa in his new album Aulos, teleporting to Ghana from his native Finland. For more than 15 years, he has surrounded himself with African and Cuban musicians, deliberately catalyzing his desire to crossbreed his music. Here the multi-instrumentalist takes out his flute in a new opus partly shaped by Ghanaian musicians.

Listen here.

Baile & Drip
VHOOR

With Baile & Drip Brazilian producer VHOOR continues its exploration between baile funk, hip-hop, R&B, drill and other world rhythms that have already proven themselves. The album also presents a new way of using baile funk vocals, re-imagining the use of repetition, not only to enhance the lyrics but also to use vocals as a percussion instrument.

Listen here.

 Jungle Fever 
Octopizzo

A true ambassador for Kibera, Octopizzo offers a more positive image, without losing his critical eye. It’s hard to imagine Octopizzo’s youth: coming from the biggest slum in Kenya, Henry Ohanga didn’t expect much from life. Forced to steal to eat, this orphan became famous at the age of 29. Today he is one of the most popular hip-hop artists in East Africa. With his fame, he is trying to ‘de-demonize’ the image of the Kibera slum in Nairobi by supporting abandoned young people who, like him as a child, feel like the odds are stacked against them.

Listen here.

In Blue 
The Bug Ft Dis Fig

The duo composed of The Bug aka Kevin Richard Martin, and the Berlin-based American producer and singer Dis Fig, aka Felicia Chen, transposes us into a misty and melancholic mix of narco-dancehall, soul atmosphere and electronic dub. An emotional exorcism accentuated by Dis Fig’s bittersweet voice.

Listen here.

My Side of the Story
Busiswa

With this new album, Busiswa begins her fight against the “body shaming” she has been subjected to on social networks as well as violence against women. After appearing on the track “My power” in Beyoncé’s film Black is King, she intends to silence those who criticize her body. The South African star said it firmly in a video posted on her Instagram account: “If you’re an abuser, you will feel uncomfortable listening to my album, if you’re a rapist, you will feel uncomfortable listening to my album.”

Listen here.

 Empress 
Yemi Alade

The self-proclaimed queen of afropop “Iron Lady” unveils a fifth album between afrobeats, pop, dancehall and RnB. Vegedream, Dadju, Patoranking, Rudeboy are on the guest list. Sung in English, French and Lingala, the title “I choose you” is a real linguistic exchange between the Federal Republic of Nigeria, France and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Listen here.

What Have We Done (EP)
Omah Lay

The 23-year-old Nigerian singer Omah Lay, took Nigerians by surprise with the success of his song “Bad Influence”, which propelled him to fame. At the beginning of the year, the young man was just another Port Harcourt boy trying to break into music, but he quickly climbed the ladder and months later became one of the favorites.

Listen here.

A Little Story
Gystere

With an Afro-futurist theme that evokes the voodoo jazz-funk of the 70’s as much as the anti-racist and anti-sexist activism of our time, Gystere (aka Adrien Peskine) composes a subtle groove containing a whole world of references: Z series, SF pastiche, denunciation of police harassment, hand-made ships and spaceships, etc. All this in 10 psych-funk episodes carrying anti-racist and anti-sexist messages.

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 10 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine : les plumes ardentes de Jyellowl et Kalash Criminel, la musique métissée de Jimi Tenor qui n’hésite pas à donner un coup de pied dans la fourmilière conservatrice de la musique Finlandaise, un témoignage de l’effervescence artistique du bidonville de Kibera avec Octopizzo et l’univers afrofuturiste irrésistiblement groovy de Gystere. Côté expérimental, on retrouve le chant comme instrument de percussion chez VHOOR et l’exorcisme émotionnel de The Bug. Busiswa nous livre sa leçon de « body positive » sur un album pop et sexy, et Yemi Alade renforce sa position de femme de fer sur la scène nigériane très concurrentielle tandis qu’un petit nouveau fait son entrée dans la cour des grands : le chanteur nigérian Omah Lay.

2020 DIvision 
Jyellowl

Rookie de la scène rap irlandaise, la plume lyrique de Jyellowl est à la fois personnelle et collective en abordant des sujets beaucoup plus larges comme la difficulté d’être soi avant de chercher à plaire aux autres. La question identitaire est également un thème important pour le rappeur dont la musique est le fruit de ses identités multiples : né en Jamaïque de parents nigérians, il grandit à Dublin où le rap prend alors une place centrale dans sa vie.

Écoutez ici.

Sélection naturelle
Kalash Criminel

Sa cover est à elle seule un message politique fort : un enfant albinos défend une femme noire et son enfant face aux forces de l’ordre. Une image symbolique qui prouve encore une fois que Kalash a placé son album sur des charbons ardents et conserve son verbe incisif. Pour le soutenir, il s’offre les services de Niska, Damso, Jul, Nekfeu, Bigflo & Oli ou encore 26keuss.

Écoutez ici.

Aulos
Jimi Tenor

Jimi Tenor convoque une fois de plus l’Afrique dans son nouvel album Aulos, en se téléportant au Ghana depuis sa Finlande natale. Depuis plus de 15 ans, il s’entoure ainsi de musiciens africains et cubains, catalysant délibérément son envie de métisser sa musique. Ici le multi-instrumentiste pointe de nouveau le bout de sa flûte dans un nouvel opus en partie modelé par des musiciens ghanéens.

Écoutez ici.

Baile & Drip
VHOOR

Baile & Drip poursuit l’exploration de VHOOR, producteur brésilien dont les parallèles entre le baile funk, le hip-hop, le R&B, la drill et d’autres rythmes mondiaux ont déjà fait leurs preuves. L’album présente également une nouvelle façon d’utiliser le chant du baile funk, en réimaginant l’utilisation de la répétition, non seulement pour mettre en valeur les paroles mais aussi pour utiliser le chant comme un instrument de percussion.

Écoutez ici.

 Jungle Fever 
Octopizzo

Véritable ambassadeur du bidonville de Kibera, Octopizzo lui offre une image plus reluisante, sans perdre pour autant son regard critique. En mettant en avant l’effervescence artistique de son quartier, l’artiste hip-hop kenyan tente de dédiaboliser l’image de Kibera, à Nairobi, en soutenant des jeunes délaissés qui, comme lui lorsqu’il était enfant, s’estiment tout juste destinés à survivre.

Écoutez ici.

In Blue 
The Bug Ft Dis Fig

Le duo composé de The Bug alias Kevin Richard Martin, et la productrice et chanteuse américaine basée à Berlin, Dis Fig, alias Felicia Chen, nous transpose dans un mélange brumeux et mélancolique de narco-dancehall, d’atmosphère soul et de dub électronique. Un exorcisme émotionnel accentué par la voix douce-amère de Felicia Chen. 

Écoutez ici.

My Side of the Story
Busiswa

Busiswa entame sa lutte contre le « body shaming » dont elle a fait l’objet sur les réseaux sociaux ainsi que les violences faites aux femmes dans ses chansons. Celle qui avait figuré sur le titre « My power » du film Black is King de Beyoncé a bien l’intention de faire taire ceux qui critiquent son corps. La star sud-africaine l’a déclaré fermement dans une vidéo postée sur son compte Instagram : « Si vous êtes un agresseur, vous vous sentirez mal à l’aise en écoutant mon album, si vous êtes un violeur, vous vous sentirez mal à l’aise en écoutant mon album. »

Écoutez ici.

 Empress 
Yemi Alade

La reine de l’afropop auto-proclamée « Dame de fer » dévoile un cinquième album entre afrobeats, pop, dancehall et RnB. Vegedream, Dadju, Patoranking, Rudeboy figurent sur la liste des invités. Chanté en anglais, français et Lingala, le titre « I choose you » est un véritable échange linguistique entre la République fédérale du Nigéria, la France et la République Démocratique du Congo.

Écoutez ici.

What Have We Done (EP)
Omah Lay

Le chanteur nigérian Omah Lay, 23 ans, a pris les Nigérians par surprise suite au succès de sa chanson « Bad Influence », qui l’a propulsé au rang de célébrité. En début d’année, le jeune homme n’était qu’un garçon de Port Harcourt de plus qui essayait de percer dans la musique, mais il gravit rapidement les échelons et des mois plus tard, devient l’un des favoris.

Écoutez ici.

A Little Story
Gystere

Sous un thème afrofuturiste renvoyant au jazz-funk vaudou des années 70 autant qu’à l’activisme anti-raciste et anti-sexiste de notre époque, Gystere compose un groove subtil dans une écriture à tiroirs composée de nombreuses références : série Z, pastiche SF, dénonciation du harcèlement policier, vaisseau fabriqué à la main, etc. Le tout en 10 épisodes psych-funk porteurs de messages anti-racistes et anti-sexistes.

Écoutez ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé