→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

David Walters remixes "Toca Y Toca" by El Gato Negro

The French singer, composer and DJ of West Indian origin continues to build bridges between Africa and the West Indies with this new electro-creole remix from the album Ouvre la porte – Remix Album, by the eternal adventurer El Gato Negro.

David Walters and El Gato Negro share an admiration for Calypso Rose, who David remixed on his track “Back to Africa.” Yet “Toca Y Toca” opens new doors, reflecting the vast dialogue between the West Indies and Africa. Indeed, Gato Negro never ceases to radiate Soleil Kréyol, the name of his album (released last January) featuring Seun Kuti, the youngest son of Afrobeat legend Fela Kuti. Since then, there has been no shortage of opportunities for uniting these two shores of the Atlantic: Gato Negro shows good humour in visuals that see him travel to the market places of Kampala for the shooting of his video “Manyè” last October.

El Gato Negro – Toca Y Toca (David Walters Remix)

This new remix, from the forthcoming album Ouvre la porte, is part of a multicultural project by this veritable migratory bird, who has been travelling South America for 15 years as part of the group Calle 13, taking stock of the traditional rhythms like cumbia, salsa, paso, cha cha and bolero. This journey gave rise to an attachment to the African continent, from the trance of Afro-Colombian rhythms to the reggaeton of Cuba.

To orchestrate his vision, he summoned the greatest gurus of the world’s tropical scene: artists from Argentina, Canada, Venezuela, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Guatemala, as well as French composers David Walters, DjeuhDjoah & Lieutenant Nicholson, all under the watchful eye of Guts and his remastering skills. A cosmopolitan release whose mantra can be summed up in a single sentence: “The sky does not belong to you, the ground does not belong to you, my blood does not belong to you.

Ouvre la porte – Remix Album will be released on November 20 via Cosmovision Records.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

David Walters remixe le « Toca Y Toca » d’El Gato Negro

D’origine antillaise, le chanteur, compositeur et DJ français continue de créer des ponts entre les Antilles et l’Afrique avec ce nouveau remix électro-créole extrait de l’album Ouvre la porte – Remix Album de l’éternel baroudeur El Gato Negro.

David Walters et El Gato Negro ont en commun leur admiration pour Calypso Rose, que David avait d’ailleurs remixé sur son titre « Back to Africa ». Une nouvelle porte s’ouvre avec ce nouveau remix « Toca Y Toca », reflet d’un énième dialogue musical entre les Antilles et l’Afrique pour l’artiste qui ne cesse de faire rayonner son Soleil Kréyol sorti en janvier dernier, où il invitait Seun Kuti – le cadet des fils de la légende de l’afrobeat Fela Kuti – à le rejoindre. Depuis, les occasions d’unir les deux rives de l’Atlantique ne manquent pas : David sème sa bonne humeur jusque sur les places de marché de Kampala sur le tournage de son clip « Manyè » en octobre dernier. 

El Gato Negro – Toca Y Toca (David Walters Remix)

Ce nouveau remix extrait de l’album à venir Ouvre la porte s’inscrit dans un projet multicolore de l’oiseau migrateur El Gato Negro, qui a parcouru pendant 15 ans l’Amérique du Sud sur les chansons de Calle 13 pour prendre la mesure des rythmes traditionnels de cumbia, de salsa, de paso, de cha cha et de boléro. Ce voyage lui a fait prendre conscience de son attachement au continent africain, depuis la transe des rythmes afro-colombiens, jusqu’au reggaeton de Cuba.

Pour orchestrer sa vision, il convoque les plus grands gourous de la scène tropicale mondiale sur cet album de remix : des artistes d’Argentine, du Canada, du Venezuela, du Chili, de Colombie, du Mexique et du Guatemala  ainsi que les compositeurs français David Walters, DjeuhDjoah & Lieutenant Nicholson sous l’œil bienveillant de Guts pour remasteriser l’album. Un résultat cosmopolite dont le mantra tient en une seule phrase : « Le ciel ne t’appartient pas, le sol ne t’appartient pas, mon sang ne t’appartient pas. »

Ouvre la porte – Remix Album sortira le 20 novembre via Cosmovision Records.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé