→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 albums to discover this week

This week, Eugy and Seyi Shay lead the way in Ghana and Nigeria, while South Africa hosts Ayanda Sikhade's jazz project and Mr JazziQ's label compilation. Habibi Funk explores Majid Soula’s Amazigh songs, Elza Soares and João de Aquino cover Brazilian standards, and El Dragón Criollo focuses on Colombian genres. Finally, Moses Sumney presents his utopian Blackalachia and Shay Hazan bridges the gap between Arab music. 

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est image-1-1010x1010.png.

Home Run – EP

Eugy

Following the release of his massive hit “My Touch”, Ghanaian-British artist Eugy wants to shine a light on his home country… and score. A true homecoming experience, his new EP attempts to cover all the biggest genres of the moment in the West-African country, and develop the highly creative dialogue taking place between the continent and its Afro-diasporic population. “It is actually for the world”, he told us in an interview. “I’m paying my respect to Ghana but I did make it with the aim of the world hearing the talent coming out of Ghana.”

Listen here

Live From Blackalachia

Moses Sumney

Moses Sumney is widely considered as one of the most beautiful revelations of the new American soul scene. Originally from Accra but now based in Los Angeles, the singer and composer impressed critics with his album græ released last year, which explored and revisited his soul and R&B inspirations. Following this success, Moses retired in the bucolic North Carolina Blue Ridge Mountains to record Live From Blackalachia, his first live album scheduled for release on December 10. “Live From Blackalachia is a wild imagining of what can happen when we seek not just to reclaim nature, but to reintegrate with it”, he explained in a statement.

Listen here

Umakhulu

Ayanda Sikade

One of South African jazz’s most respected drummers, Ayanda Sikade returns with Umakhulu, his long-awaited sophomore release as a bandleader. Dedicated to his grandmother, Umakhulu features the talents of Nduduzo Makhathini on piano, young Simon Manana on alto sax and Nhlanhla Radebe on bass. The album’s nine tracks, composed and produced by Sikade, pay homage to the artist’s heritage — most noticeably on “Mdantsane” and “Nxarhuni River”, while forging onwards to a brave new world on others, like “Imithandazo Yeengelosi” (Prayer of Angels) and “Space Ship”. 

Listen here

Chant Amazigh

Majid Soula

Majid Soula is an Amazigh artist, singer, and activist who has lived in Paris since the 1990s. Emblematic of a new wave of Algerian artists emerging in the 1980s, he brings together the best of Arab-disco, highlife, and funk in his captivating productions. The explorative label Habibi Funk publishes today Chant Amazigh, an album of his best songs. “I am not a politician. I am above all an artist whose main concern is to present quality work, to contribute modestly to the development and enrichment of our Amazigh cultural heritage”, Majid says.

Listen here

Black Is Brown Entertainment Compilation, Vol. 1

Black Is Brown Entertainment

Known for South African anthems like “Woza” and “GUPTA”, former half of duo JazziDisciples, Mr JazziQ is undoubtedly one of the main leaders of the amapiano wave. With Black Is Brown Compilation, Vol. 1, he establishes himself not only as a serial hitmaker, but also as an ambassador to the next generation of talented and upcoming artists through his very own music structure. The project delivers an impressive lineup of vocalists and producers with 31 soon-to-be club bangers. 

Listen here

Pase Lo Que Pase

El Dragón Criollo

On his debut album as El Drágon Criollo, Colombian producer, musician and singer Paulo Olarte Toro finds a meeting place between bouncing Caribbean cadences and dance floor-ready beats. The project puts in contrast joyful and danceable melodies (opening track “La Número Uno”,  90s rock infused “La Brisa”, party-designed “Cumbia Fantasia”) with gloomy themes, Pase Lo Que Pase being inspired by “the situation that Latin America is experiencing at the moment. It talks about how the new generations are afraid of a situation that is no longer bearable, that people want a change and that they no longer care at what price, they no longer care if the price they have to pay is their life”. 

Listen here

Reclusive Rituals

Shay Hazan

Tel-Aviv based musician Shay Hazan is a composer, producer, bassist and bandleader. His versatile bass is frequently heard on national radio, providing the North African Gnawa grooves or the Afrobeat hits of tomorrow. For Reclusive Rituals, he composed from his home and then sent the recordings to a drummer in Berlin or a saxophonist in Tel Aviv to add a complementary rhythm or melody. “I made this album In order to satisfy the inner urge for simple grooves and the search for a different and new sound that draws inspiration from ancient places with great tradition, but still corresponds with the world and the period in which I live and the way I express myself”, he comments.

Listen here

Big Girl

Seyi Shay

On her new album, Nigerian singer and actor gradually progresses through all aspects of becoming a “Big Girl”, an experience propelled from the tumultuous emotions of relationships gone wrong to the hunger of an underdog in the entertainment industry, independent and a woman. With a combination of Afro-fusion, hip-hop and R&B, she dives into her sensual essence, showcasing her artistry through groovy upbeat records filled with 90s era nostalgia, speaking on self-love, break ups, broken friendships, and realized dreams. 

Listen here

Elza Soares & João de Aquino

Elza Soares

With Elza Soares e João de Aquino, the Brazilian diva Elza Soares returns in all simplicity accompanied by the guitar of João de Aquino. This is not the first time the two artists have worked together, having shared the stage for a long time in shows such as “Cantar ainda é remédio bom” and “Arrepios”. The album includes Brazilian standards such as “Que Maravilha” by Jorge Ben and Toquinho, “Super Homem, a Canção” by Gilberto Gil or “Meu Guri” by Chico Buarque. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

9 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, Eugy et Seyi Shay mènent la danse au Ghana et au Nigéria, tandis que l’Afrique du Sud reçoit le projet jazz d’Ayanda Sikhade et la compilation du label de Mr JazziQ. Habibi Funk défriche les chants amazigh de Majid Soula, Elza Soares et João de Aquino reprennent des standards brésiliens, et El Dragón Criollo se penche sur les musiques colombiennes. Enfin, Moses Sumney nous présente son utopie Blackalachia et Shay Hazan fait le pont entre les musiques arabes. 

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est image-1-1010x1010.png.

Home Run – EP

Eugy

Après la sortie de son énorme tube « My Touch », l’artiste ghanéo-britannique Eugy souhaite mettre en lumière son pays d’origine… et marquer des points. Véritable retour aux sources, son nouvel EP tente de couvrir tous les grands genres du moment dans ce pays ouest-africain, et de développer le dialogue très créatif qui s’instaure entre le continent et sa population afro-diasporique. « C’est en fait pour le monde entier », nous a-t-il confié dans une interview. « Je rends hommage au Ghana mais je l’ai fait dans le but que le monde entende les talents qui viennent du Ghana ».

Ecoutez ici

Live From Blackalachia

Moses Sumney

Moses Sumney est largement considéré comme l’une des plus belles révélations de la nouvelle scène soul américaine. Originaire d’Accra mais désormais basé à Los Angeles, le chanteur et compositeur avait impressionné la critique avec son album græ sorti l’année dernière, qui explorait et revisitait ses inspirations soul et R&B. Fort de ce succès, Moses s’est retiré dans les bucoliques montagnes du Blue Ridge (Caroline du Nord) pour enregistrer Live From Blackalachia, son premier album live. « Live From Blackalachia imagine sauvagement ce qui peut arriver lorsque nous cherchons non seulement à reconquérir la nature, mais aussi à nous réintégrer avec elle », a-t-il expliqué dans un communiqué.

Ecoutez ici

Umakhulu

Ayanda Sikade

Ayanda Sikade, l’un des batteurs les plus respectés du jazz sud-africain, revient sur AfroSynth avec Umakhulu, son deuxième album très attendu en tant que chef d’orchestre. Dédié à sa grand-mère, Umakhulu fait appel aux talents de Nduduzo Makhathini au piano, du jeune Simon Manana au sax alto et de Nhlanhla Radebe à la basse. Les neuf titres de l’album, composés et produits par Sikade, rendent hommage à l’héritage de l’artiste – notamment sur « Mdantsane » et « Nxarhuni River », tout en ouvrant la voie de nouveaux horizons sur d’autres titres, comme « Imithandazo Yeengelosi » (Prayer of Angels) et « Space Ship ». 

Ecoutez ici

Chant Amazigh

Majid Soula

Majid Soula est un artiste, chanteur et activiste amazigh, installé à Paris depuis les années 90. Emblématique d’une nouvelle vague d’artistes algériens apparue dans les années 80, l’homme convoque le meilleur de l’arab-disco, du highlife et du funk dans ses productions captivantes. Le label défricheur Habibi Funk publie aujourd’hui Chant Amazigh, un album rassemblant ses plus beaux titres. « Je ne suis pas un politicien. Je suis avant tout un artiste dont la préoccupation principale est de présenter un travail de qualité, pour contribuer modestement au développement et à l’enrichissement de notre patrimoine culturel amazigh », dit le chanteur.

Ecoutez ici

Black Is Brown Entertainment Compilation, Vol. 1

Black Is Brown Entertainment

Connu pour avoir produit des tubes sud-africains comme « Woza » et « GUPTA », l’ancienne moitié du duo JazziDisciples Mr JazziQ est sans aucun doute l’un des principaux leaders de la vague amapiano. Avec Black Is Brown Compilation, Vol. 1, il s’impose non seulement comme un serial hitmaker au style reconnaissable, mais aussi comme ambassadeur de la talentueuse nouvelle génération de producteurs. Le projet réunit une impressionnante brochette de chanteurs et de producteurs sur 31 morceaux prêts pour la réouverture des clubs. 

Ecoutez ici

Pase Lo Que Pase

El Dragón Criollo

Dans son premier album sous le nom d’El Drágon Criollo, le producteur, musicien et chanteur colombien Paulo Olarte Toro fait rencontrer les cadences caribéennes avec la musique club. Le projet, publié sur El Palmas, met en contraste de joyeuses et dansantes mélodies (le morceau d’ouverture « La Número Uno », « La Brisa » aux accents rock des années 90, « Cumbia Fantasia » aux allures de fête) avec des thèmes sombres, Pase Lo Que Pase étant inspiré par « la situation que connaît l’Amérique latine en ce moment. Il raconte comment les nouvelles générations ont peur d’une situation qui n’est plus supportable, que les gens veulent un changement et qu’ils ne se soucient plus si le prix à payer est leur vie. » 

Ecoutez ici

Reclusive Rituals

Shay Hazan

Shay Hazan, musicien basé à Tel-Aviv, est un compositeur, producteur, bassiste et chef d’orchestre. Sa basse polyvalente est fréquemment entendue sur les radios nationales, sur des morceaux de gnawa Nord Africain comme d’afrobeat. Pour Reclusive Rituals, Hazan a composé depuis sa maison, en envoyant ensuite les enregistrements à un batteur à Berlin ou à un saxophoniste à Tel Aviv pour ajouter un rythme ou une mélodie complémentaire. « J’ai fait cet album afin de satisfaire le besoin intérieur de grooves simples et la recherche d’un son différent et nouveau qui s’inspire d’anciens lieux de grande tradition, tout en correspondant au monde et à l’époque dans lesquels je vis et à la façon dont je m’exprime », commente-t-il. 

Ecoutez ici

Big Girl

Seyi Shay

Dans son nouvel album, la chanteuse et actrice nigériane aborde progressivement tous les aspects de la vie d’une « Big Girl », allant des émotions tumultueuses des relations qui tournent mal à la faim d’une outsider femme et indépendante dans l’industrie du divertissement. Avec une combinaison d’afro-fusion, de hip-hop et de R&B, elle plonge dans son essence sensuelle, mettant en valeur son art à travers des sonorités groovy nostalgique des années 90, évoquant l’amour de soi, les ruptures, les amitiés brisées et les rêves réalisés. 

Ecoutez ici

Elza Soares & João de Aquino

Elza Soares

Avec Elza Soares e João de Aquino, la diva brésilienne Elza Soares revient en toute simplicité accompagnée de la guitare de João de Aquino. Les deux artistes n’en sont pas à leur première collaboration, ayant longtemps partagé la scène dans des spectacles tels que « Cantar ainda é remédio bom » ou « Arrepios ». L’album reprend des standards brésiliens tels que « Que Maravilha » de Jorge Ben et Toquinho, « Super Homem, a Canção » de Gilberto Gil ou « Meu Guri » de Chico Buarque. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé