→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

PAM Club : the rhythmic elevator of Mafou

Senegalese artist based in Basel, Switzerland, Mafou is shaking up his adopted city by bringing his rhythmic background to European clubs. He gives us a glimpse of that promise in a beat-centric PAM Club.

Resident of the club Elysia and co-founder of the crew and events Somatic Rituals, Mafou intends to spread his knowledge of the beat to the four corners of the city of Basel. Born from a Senegalese father and djembe teacher, Mafou was naturally imbibed with the science of rhythm, transmitted by his father before landing on the European continent. Far from his country, the DJ and producer promised not to break his intrinsic link with West African music, educated in contact with popular mbalax songs. He proves today with “Warda”, a track released on the recent Rhythm Section compilation, that he does not intend to bury his roots. In this track born from the need to reconnect with dance floor bangers after the Covidian period, Mafou combines traditional percussive patterns with club sounds, with a penchant for trends from across the Channel. Drawing his influences as much from Led Zeppelin as from West Indian urban music or African reggae Mafou delivers a hypnotic and tense mix in which the beat is definitely king. A good detour before the release of his EP Khezu which plans to translate his Senegalese rhythmic heritage through the language of machines.

“During Covid I unfortunately didn’t have access to gear to record my mixes and Podcasts. So this one is one of the first ones where I really could do some mixing again. I did less preparation for the mix and freestyle’d more, witch I prefer to do, with new tunes I recently got.”

Pan African Music · PAM Club : Mafou

Tracklist:

1. OnominO – Prell
2. Simo Cell – Not All It’s Cracked Up to Be
3. PPC – Raw Riddim
4. Kaval – Sunken Riddim 
5. Mr. Mitch – Stinky Leg
6. Swordman Kitala – Kimbalagala (Kouslin remix)
7. Glimmerman – Step Mode
8. Andria – Bedroom
9. Skillibeng – Coke
10. E-Unity – Not for me
11. Kindohm – deck
12. JV & Palf – JBNT
13. Hagan – Ashanti War Dub
14. Mafou – Evom
15. Tano – Granita 
16. T5UMUT5UMU – They Call it Gqomish Techno
17. Big Ever – Apti
18. Paracusia – Am i real enough for you
19. Less-O – Bumblebee
20. Jennifer Walton – Flash (w/BFTT)

The Rhythm Section compilation is still available here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

PAM Club : l’ascenseur rythmique de Mafou

Sénégalais basé à Bâle en Suisse, Mafou secoue sa ville d’adoption en mettant son background rythmique au service des clubs européens. Il nous donne un aperçu de cette promesse dans un PAM Club centré sur le beat.

Résident du club Elysia et co-fondateur du crew et des évènement Somatic Rituals, Mafou entend bien répandre sa connaissance du beat aux quatre coins de la ville de Bâle. Né d’un père sénégalais et professeur de djembé, Mafou s’est naturellement imprégné de la science du rythme transmise par son paternel avant de débarquer sur le continent européen. Loin de son pays, le DJ et producteur a promis de ne pas casser son lien intrinsèque avec la musique ouest-africaine, lui qui fut éduqué au contact des chansons populaires mbalax. Il prouve aujourd’hui avec « Warda », morceau paru sur la récente compilation Rhythm Section, qu’il n’a pas l’intention de faire une croix sur ses racines. Dans ce morceau né du besoin de renouer avec les sensations du dancefloor durant la période covidienne, Mafou combine des patterns percussifs traditionnels aux sons des clubs, avec un penchant pour les tendances d’outre-Manche. Celui qui pioche autant ses influences chez Led Zeppelin que dans la musique urbaine antillaise ou le reggae africain délivre ici un mix hypnotique et tendu dans lequel le beat est définitivement roi. Un bon entraînement avant la sortie de son EP Khezu qui prévoit de traduire son héritage rythmique sénégalais grâce au langage des machines.

« Pendant la crise, je n’avais malheureusement pas de matériel à disposition pour enregistrer mes mixes et mes podcasts. Ce mix est donc l’un des premiers que je sors depuis le début de cette période. Je l’ai moins préparé et me suis plus basé sur le freestyle, ce que je préfère, en mixant des morceaux récents. »

Pan African Music · PAM Club : Mafou

Tracklist :

1. OnominO – Prell
2. Simo Cell – Not All It’s Cracked Up to Be
3. PPC – Raw Riddim
4. Kaval – Sunken Riddim 
5. Mr. Mitch – Stinky Leg
6. Swordman Kitala – Kimbalagala (Kouslin remix)
7. Glimmerman – Step Mode
8. Andria – Bedroom
9. Skillibeng – Coke
10. E-Unity – Not for me
11. Kindohm – deck
12. JV & Palf – JBNT
13. Hagan – Ashanti War Dub
14. Mafou – Evom
15. Tano – Granita 
16. T5UMUT5UMU – They Call it Gqomish Techno
17. Big Ever – Apti
18. Paracusia – Am i real enough for you
19. Less-O – Bumblebee
20. Jennifer Walton – Flash (w/BFTT)

La compilation Rhythm Section est toujours disponible ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé