→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Hermeto Pascoal and his Grupo unveil an exclusive live recording from 1981

The Brazilian sorcerer has announced the release of Planetário Da Gávea, the recording of a magical concert held on a warm Rio night. 

Growing up on a farm in Brazil’s northeastern state of Alagoas, Hermeto has always been deeply in tune with his environment. In his youth, he would build scrap-metal instruments in his blacksmith grandfather’s forge, and sit for hours by the lake listening to the sounds of nature. On a balmy Brazilian night in February, 1981, together with his new band formation known simply as “O Grupo” (The Group), he gathered a crowd in Rio de Janeiro’s Gávea neighbourhood under the city’s Planetário (Planetarium). Alongside musicians like Helio Delmiro and Milton Nascimento (who were in the audience that night), the public was to see the great “Bruxo” (sorcerer) in action, a man who electrified and challenged Brazilian standards to a rare level. 

The series of concerts at the Planetário marked the birth of “O Grupo” which would last for the next eleven years (apart from Zé Eduardo Nazário). It was one of saxophonist/flautist Carlos Malta’s first gigs with the group, and the concert unusually featured two drummers, Zé Eduardo Nazário and Marcio Bahia. Acclaimed keyboard player Jovino Santos Neto was on keyboards, piano and organ, and the great Itiberê Zwarg (who remains in Hermeto’s band to this day), played bass. Rounding the group off was the percussionist Pernambuco. 

Across the recording of the Planetário concert, wild improvisation meets groovy, virtuosic vamping on progressive, extended psychedelic jams. Many compositions are unique to this album, including the wild “Homônimo Sintróvio”, “Vou Pra Lá e Pra Cá”, “Bombardino”, which features Hermeto’s wonderfully absurd call and response mouthpiece soliloquy, and the exaltant “Samba Do Belaqua”, already available. The powerfully delivered rhythms and wild solos are punctuated by Hermeto’s unpredictable, at times comical sonic antics. 

Planetário Da Gávea by Hermeto Pascoal, out on February 4, 2022 via Far out Recordings.

Hermeto Pascoal – Samba do Belaqua

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Hermeto Pascoal et son Grupo dévoilent un enregistrement live exclusif de 1981

Le sorcier brésilien a annoncé la sortie de Planetário Da Gávea, l’enregistrement d’un concert magique tenu lors d’une nuit chaude carioca. 

Ayant grandi dans une ferme de l’État d’Alagoas, dans le nord-est du Brésil, Hermeto a toujours été profondément en phase avec son environnement. Dans sa jeunesse, il fabriquait des instruments en ferraille dans l’atelier de son grand-père forgeron et restait assis pendant des heures au bord du lac à écouter les sons de la nature. Par une douce nuit brésilienne de février 1981, avec son nouveau groupe de l’époque connu simplement sous le nom de « O Grupo » (le groupe), il rassembla une foule dans le quartier de Gávea à Rio de Janeiro, sous le Planetário (planétarium) de la ville. Aux côtés de musiciens comme Helio Delmiro et Milton Nascimento (présents dans le public ce soir-là), le public vint voir le grand « Bruxo » (sorcier) en action, un homme ayant  électrisé et défié les normes brésiliennes à un niveau rare. 

La série de concerts au Planetário marqua la naissance de « O Grupo » qui allait durer pendant les onze années suivantes (à part pour Zé Eduardo Nazário). Ce fut l’un des premiers concerts du saxophoniste/flûtiste Carlos Malta avec le groupe, et le concert présenta de façon inhabituelle deux batteurs, Zé Eduardo Nazário et Marcio Bahia. Le célèbre claviériste Jovino Santos Neto était au synthé, au piano et à l’orgue, et le grand Itiberê Zwarg (qui fait toujours partie du groupe d’Hermeto à ce jour), jouait de la basse. L’ensemble était complété par le percussionniste Pernambuco. 

Dans l’enregistrement de ce concert mythique, l’improvisation sauvage rencontre le groove et la virtuosité dans des jams psychédéliques progressifs et prolongés. De nombreuses compositions sont uniques à cet album, notamment le déchaîné « Homônimo Sintróvio », « Vou Pra Lá e Pra Cá », « Bombardino », qui présente le soliloque merveilleusement absurde d’Hermeto, et l’exaltant « Samba Do Belaqua », déjà disponible. Les rythmes puissamment livrés et les solos endiablés sont ponctués par les pitreries sonores imprévisibles, parfois comiques, d’Hermeto. 

Planetário Da Gávea de Hermeto Pascoal, disponible le 4 février 2022 sur Far out Recordings.

Hermeto Pascoal – Samba do Belaqua
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé