fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Lèspri Ka, 30 years of gwoka music in one compilation
Guy Konket et Le Groupe Ka, 1981

Lèspri Ka, 30 years of gwoka music in one compilation

Labels Séance Centre and Time Capsule explore the innovative and radical soul of Guadeloupe through ten contemporary and past gwoka songs, composed by a multitude of artists. 

In the words of Guadeloupean composer and author Gérard Lockel, “gwoka is the soul of Guadeloupe”. Rooted in the practices of enslaved African people and their descendants in Guadeloupe, the genre has always sought to express the spirit of resistance authentic to the island, while evolving throughout the second half of the twentieth century to include funk, jazz and electronic influences. The compilation Lèspri Ka: New Directions in Gwoka Music from Guadeloupe 1981-2010 explores precisely the style’s most radical changes, and its blend of traditional repertoires with genre-defying experimentation. Whether heard in the cosmic music of Freydy Doressamy, or the jazz funk inflections of Gui Konket, the music here is united by the feeling of “santiman ka”, crucial to the identity of Guadeloupe at large.

As co-curator Cédric Lassonde (Beauty & The Beat) writes: “What unifies these selections is the depth of the compositions, the experimentation around the santiman ka, and the spirit of resistance and liberation against slavery, be it modern or ancestral. With a thirst for innovation typical of the island’s creole culture, the ka spirit is deeply rooted in collective history and in a quest for identity.”

The compilation aims to bring the sound of modern gwoka to a wider audience, with many of the featured musicians still active today. Presented as a double LP, the release features a specially commissioned essay by Guadeloupean musician Marie-Line Dahomey, and extensive liner notes from the curators. “Matla La Mouyé” by Michel Laurent is already available. 

Léspri Ka: New Directions in Gwoka Music from Guadeloupe 1981​-​2010, out on January 28, 2022 via Time Capsule and Séance Centre.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Lèspri Ka, 30 ans de musique gwoka dans une compilation
Guy Konket et Le Groupe Ka, 1981

Lèspri Ka, 30 ans de musique gwoka dans une compilation

Les labels Séance Centre et Time Capsule explorent l’âme innovante et radicale de la Guadeloupe à travers dix chansons gwoka contemporaines et passées, composées par autant d’artistes. 

D’après le compositeur et auteur guadeloupéen Gérard Lockel, « le gwoka est l’âme de la Guadeloupe ». Enraciné dans des pratiques africaines emmenées par des esclaves et alimentées par leurs descendants en Guadeloupe, le genre a toujours cherché à exprimer l’esprit de résistance authentique de l’île, tout en évoluant au cours de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle pour inclure des influences funk, jazz et électroniques. La compilation Lèspri Ka : New Directions in Gwoka Music from Guadeloupe 1981-2010 explore précisément les changements les plus radicaux de ce style, ainsi que son mélange de répertoires traditionnels avec des expérimentations défiant les genres. Qu’elle soit entendue dans la musique cosmique de Freydy Doressamy ou dans les inflexions jazz-funk de Gui Konket, la musique présentée ici est unie par le « santiman ka », crucial pour l’identité guadeloupéenne.

Comme l’écrit le co-commissaire Cédric Lassonde (Beauty & The Beat) : « Ce qui unifie ces sélections, c’est la profondeur des compositions, l’expérimentation autour du santiman ka, et l’esprit de résistance et de libération contre l’esclavage, qu’il soit moderne ou ancestral. Avec une soif d’innovation typique de la culture créole de l’île, l’esprit ka est profondément ancré dans l’histoire collective et dans une quête d’identité. »

La compilation vise à faire connaître le son du gwoka moderne à un public plus large, puisque de nombreux musiciens inclus ici sont encore actifs aujourd’hui. Présentée sous la forme d’un double LP, cette édition comprend un essai spécialement commandé à la musicienne guadeloupéenne Marie-Line Dahomey, ainsi que des notes détaillées des commissaires. Le titre « Matla La Mouyé » de Michel Laurent est déjà disponible. 

Léspri Ka: New Directions in Gwoka Music from Guadeloupe 1981​-​2010, disponible le 28 janvier 2022 sur Time Capsule et Séance Centre.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé