→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
2 weeks ago

PAM Club: Amapiano vs Amacongo by AkaNtu

Member of the Moonshine collective, the Congolese AkaNtu settles in at the PAM Club to deliver a deep and hypnotic amapiano set inspired by his homeland.

Through their mixtape series SMS For Location, Montreal’s Moonshine collective is giving an insight of funky and Afro-futuristic club bangers. The young DJ and MC AkaNtu gives us a palpable glimpse of the heat generated by the legendary Moonshine parties, with a sensual and atmospheric midtempo set tuned to South African and Congolese amapiano. Born in the Democratic Republic of Congo, AkaNtu moved to Montreal in 2015, where he quickly joined the ranks of the collective alongside Pierre Kwenders and his compatriot DJ P2N, also originally from Lubumbashi. At the age of 15, the 23-year-old artist fell in love with music via hanging out in his father’s studio, seeing musicians, popular DJs and sound engineers come and go, indirectly passing on the tricks of the trade.

AkaNtu uses his sets to tell his story and signal his origins and evolution as an artist, blending Congolese rumba and other popular genres with current trends such as deep house, amapiano and RnB. Our resident recently performed in the collective’s first Boiler Room set, delivering a deep, no-nonsense musical dialogue with MC RedBul and Congolese percussionist Huguette Tolinga from Kinshasa.

Amapiano is a new electronic music genre invented in South Africa in 2012. In this mix I wanted to introduce you to this style and also present another emerging variety that is taking more and more space in Africa and around the world. This variant that comes to us from Congo DRC -which I named AMACONGO- is an expression of South African Amapiano by local Congolese producers such as DJ P2N, RENALDO… You will also find exclusivities and sounds of great South African producers such as KABZA DE SMALL, Kelvin Momo…

Tracklist :

1. Kelvin Momo – Lately Ft Blissful_Sax
2. French Kiss (feat. Felo Le Tee, Hi Levelz, Optimist Music ZA)
3. Kabza de Small – iLog-Drum feat Daliwonga
4. En Afrik – Boma Ngai (feat. KissBeatz)
5. DJ Renaldo Feat H-Beatz & Samarino – Danze
6. Bella Ciao (feat. Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa)
7. DJ P2N – Makasi
8. DJ Renaldo – Miracle
9. Mobeti beat – Bina feat Mc RedBull
10. Dj P2N feat ShikeRebel – Muziko

Follow AkaNtu on Instagram and SoundCloud.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

PAM Club : Amapiano vs Amacongo par AkaNtu

Membre du collectif Moonshine, l’artiste congolais AkaNtu s’installe dans le fauteuil du PAM Club et puise son inspiration dans son pays pour délivrer un set amapiano deep et hypnotique.

A travers leur série de mixtapes SMS For Location, le collectif montréalais Moonshine nous a habitués à goûter aux bangers funkys et afro futuristes. L’un de leurs poulains, le jeune DJ et MC AkaNtu, nous donne un aperçu palpable de la moiteur des légendaires soirées Moonshine, avec un set midtempo sensuel et atmosphérique, tourné vers l’amapiano sud-africain et congolais. Né en République Démocratique du Congo, AkaNtu s’est installé à Montréal en 2015, où il rejoint rapidement les rangs du collectif aux côtés de Pierre Kwenders ou son compatriote DJ P2N, lui aussi originaire de Lubumbashi. Depuis l’âge de 15 ans, l’artiste aujourd’hui âgé de 23 ans s’est épris de la musique en traînant dans le studio de son père, voyant ainsi défiler des musiciens, DJs populaires ou ingénieurs du son, qui lui ont indirectement transmis les ficelles du métier.

A travers ses sets, AkaNtu raconte son histoire, fait des clins d’œil à ses origines et à son évolution en tant qu’artiste, mêlant la rumba congolaise et autres genres populaires aux courants actuels que sont la deep house, l’amapiano ou le RnB. Le résident s’est d’ailleurs récemment illustré dans la première Boiler Room de l’équipe, livrant depuis Kinshasa un profond dialogue musical sans bavure avec MC RedBul et de la percussionniste congolaise Huguette Tolinga.

« L’Amapiano est un nouveau genre musical électronique inventé en Afrique du Sud en 2012. Dans ce mix j’ai voulu vous présenter ce style et présenter aussi une autre variété émergente qui prend de plus en plus de place en Afrique et partout dans le monde. Cette variante qui nous provient du Congo RDC -que j’ai nommée AMACONGO- est une expression de l’Amapiano sud-africain par des producteurs locaux Congolais tels que DJ P2N, RENALDO… Vous y trouverez aussi des exclusivités et des sons des grands producteurs sud-africains tels que KABZA DE SMALL, Kelvin Momo… »

Tracklist :

1. Kelvin Momo – Lately Ft Blissful_Sax
2. French Kiss (feat. Felo Le Tee, Hi Levelz, Optimist Music ZA)
3. Kabza de Small – iLog-Drum feat Daliwonga
4. En Afrik – Boma Ngai (feat. KissBeatz)
5. DJ Renaldo Feat H-Beatz & Samarino – Danze
6. Bella Ciao (feat. Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa)
7. DJ P2N – Makasi
8. DJ Renaldo – Miracle
9. Mobeti beat – Bina feat Mc RedBull
10. Dj P2N feat ShikeRebel – Muziko

Suivez AkaNtu sur Instagram et sur SoundCloud.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé