→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
PAM Club: unity, emotion and spirituality with the South African Bun Xapa
Photo ©Tshediso Mokoena
1 month ago

PAM Club: unity, emotion and spirituality with the South African Bun Xapa

The protégé of the pioneer DJ Satelite, Bun Xapa shares a selection of his tracks and spreads the love for spiritual afro house in an exclusive mixtape.

We discovered Bun Xapa on “Mama Africa,” a true anthem from the Seres Produções 200 compilation, which celebrated 20 years of activity from the Angolan label. Coming from the Township of Thaba Nchu in South Africa, this student now living in Porto started by producing hip-hop beats before turning to electronics and releasing EPs on various labels such as Union Records, Pasqua Records, Black Mambo Records before arriving at Seres Produções, home of DJ Satelite. The Angolan quickly became his mentor and took him under his wing, opening his label’s doors and therefore those opening onto the world of Afro house. The rising star of the genre, Andile Nkosana Kato has already performed on stage alongside Boddhi Satva, Afro Pupo and DANYKAS DJ. In this mix, the young producer delivers some new tracks such as “Bastet,” “Amasukwini” and “Dance Of The Lost Tribe.”

When did you discover the afro house genre and how did you know you wanted to become a producer?

Afro House is a part of my life, but before I started making Afro, I was an experimental artist, I was all over the place. In 2018, I produced “Ho Senyehile,” the first song on the mix. I did not know what genre it was at that moment. The following year, I went back home in South Africa, that’s when my family started to be more open about my culture and ethnicity, the African way. Then, I started to put more African spiritual vibes into my tunes. Every song I produce is a part of my soul. The moment I realized that Afro House was a part of me, that’s when I knew I wanted to stick to it.

You talk about DJ Satelite as your mentor. What does he bring to you, personally and musically?

Old man Satelite! He is a powerhouse in terms of Afro House, a hard-working pioneer in the field. He is very strict but fair, he keeps on pushing me to become a better artist and a better person too. He has been helping me with my music, getting proper gear for production, branding my name and he has given me a broad platform to showcase my sound.

Can you tell us about this mix? What do these songs represent for you?

“Ho Senyehile,” the first emotional song of the mix, means “It’s broken.” The song is meant to empower people of colour experiencing racism and to call for unity, with vocals from a talented lady from South Africa, BlackPearlz. Then from there on, it’s spiritual jams throughout, music that heals, music of the ancestors, African Spiritual House music. The mix ends with a cheerful song titled “Lesedi,” meaning light, luck, good aura.

Tracklist :

1. Bun Xapa, BlackPearlz – Ho Senyehile (Spiritual Reprise Mix)
2. Bun Xapa, Mimo Doppio – Dance Of The Lost Tribe 
3. Bun Xapa – Elephant People
4. ZIDDO – Sphuzo
5. Bun Xapa – Amasukwini
6. Sixnautic, Jim Mastershine, Bun Xapa, DJ Two4 – Bastet
7. Bun Xapa – Njabomvu
8. ZIDDO, Vibe Afrika – ### (Bun Xapa & Sware Spiritual Remix)

Follow Bun Xapa on SoundCloud.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
PAM Club : unité, émotions et spiritualité avec Bun Xapa
Photo ©Tshediso Mokoena
Il y a 1 mois

PAM Club : unité, émotions et spiritualité avec Bun Xapa

Poulain du pionnier DJ Satelite, le Sud-Africain Bun Xapa nous partage une sélection de ses productions et nous transmet son amour pour l’afro house spirituelle dans une mixtape exclusive.

On a découvert Bun Xapa sur « Mama Africa », véritable anthem et morceau charnière de la compilation Seres Produções 200, qui fêtait 20 ans d’activité du label angolais. Issu du Township de Thaba Nchu en Afrique du Sud, cet étudiant exilé à Porto a commencé par produire des beats hip-hop avant de se tourner vers l’électronique en sortant des EPs sur différents labels tels que Union Records, Pasqua Records, Black Mambo Records puis Seres Produções, maison de DJ Satelite. L’Angolais est rapidement devenu son mentor et l’a pris sous son aile, lui ouvrant les portes de son label et par conséquent, du monde de l’afro house. Etoile montante du genre, Andile Nkosana Kato s’est déjà illustré sur scène aux côtés de Boddhi Satva, Afro Pupo ou DANYKAS DJ. Le jeune producteur nous mixe ici quelques inédits, notamment les morceaux « Bastet », « Amasukwini » et « Dance Of The Lost Tribe ».

Quand as-tu découvert le genre afro house et à quel moment as-tu su que tu deviendrais producteur ?

L’afro house fait aujourd’hui partie de ma vie, mais avant de m’y mettre, j’étais un artiste expérimental. En 2018, j’ai produit le morceau « Ho Senyehile », la première piste du mix. Je ne savais pas de quel genre il s’agissait à ce moment-là. L’année suivante, je suis retourné chez moi en Afrique du Sud, c’est à ce moment que ma famille a commencé à s’ouvrir à ma culture et à mon ethnicité, à la manière africaine. J’ai alors commencé à injecter une vibe plus spirituelle à mes morceaux. Chacune de mes productions fait partie de mon âme. Quand j’ai réalisé que l’afro house faisait partie de moi, j’ai su que je voulais m’y accrocher.

Tu parles de DJ Satelite comme ton mentor. Que t’apporte-t-il, personnellement et musicalement ?

Ce bon vieux Satelite ! C’est une force de la nature en termes d’afro house, un pionnier qui travaille dur sur ce terrain. Il est très strict mais juste, ile me pousse à devenir non seulement un meilleur artiste, mais aussi une meilleure personne. Il m’a aidé avec ma musique, m’a donné les moyens pour la produire, a poussé mon nom sur la scène et m’a offert une plateforme pour présenter mon son. 

Peux-tu nous présenter ton mix ? Que représentent ces morceaux pour toi ?

« Ho Senyehile », premier morceau émotionnel du mix, signifie « c’est cassé ». Ce morceau est fait pour donner du courage aux gens de couleur qui font l’expérience du racisme, c’est un appel à l’unité, avec des vocaux d’une dame talentueuse d’Afrique du Sud, BlackPearlz. Ensuite, j’enchaîne les mélodies spirituelles, de la musique qui guérit, celle des ancêtres, et la house music spirituelle africaine… Puis je termine le mix avec le morceau enjoué « Lesedi », qui signifie lumière, chance et belle aura.

Tracklist :

1. Bun Xapa, BlackPearlz – Ho Senyehile (Spiritual Reprise Mix)
2. Bun Xapa, Mimo Doppio – Dance Of The Lost Tribe 
3. Bun Xapa – Elephant People
4. ZIDDO – Sphuzo
5. Bun Xapa – Amasukwini
6. Sixnautic, Jim Mastershine, Bun Xapa, DJ Two4 – Bastet
7. Bun Xapa – Njabomvu
8. ZIDDO, Vibe Afrika – ### (Bun Xapa & Sware Spiritual Remix)

Découvrez Bun Xapa sur sa page SoundCloud.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé