→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

The Kenyan metal music scene, between flames and darkness

As of last year, Nairobi’s hot underbelly has propelled into orbit one of its most infamous offspring yet: Duma. The electronic black metal duo, who recently set Sonic Protest 2022’s stage alight, are currently in the midst of their aptly named “Mogul Tour”. Violent, deranged, and impulsive the Nyege Nyege Tapes duo are the ultra-concentrated chemical discharge from the current Kenyan metal scene. A profiled environment, whose emergence oscillated from colonial remains, global power outages and fire from the belly, carried by just a handful of activists.

As of last year, Nairobi’s hot underbelly has propelled into orbit one of its most infamous offspring yet: Duma. The electronic black metal duo, who recently set Sonic Protest 2022’s stage alight, are currently in the midst of their aptly named “Mogul Tour”. Violent, deranged, and impulsive the Nyege Nyege Tapes duo are the ultra-concentrated chemical discharge from the current Kenyan metal scene. A profiled environment, whose emergence oscillated from colonial remains, global power outages and fire from the belly, carried by just a handful of activists.

Let’s recall the history: Kenya freed itself from the tutelage of the British administration in 1963. The country, driven by its locomotive-city Nairobi, quickly abandoned the hopes of the radical independentists and converted to unbridled capitalism, an ideology directly inherited from the British colonists consisting of unequal distribution of land, great poverty, cronyism, incentives for foreign investments, while the British capital wealth remained well preserved… The Kenyan elite adopted the market economy to the detriment of the rebel ideals. Skyscrapers quickly sprang up in the capital city where business starts early in the morning. Despite its authoritarian one-party regime, established by pro-independence activist Jomo Kenyatta, Kenya would enjoy a certain social stability. In Nairobi, you would see many foreign artists investing the capital.

Thus, as early as the 1960s, radio stations and phonographs fell for the sound of South African jazz and famous Congolese guitarists. From then on, the six-stringed instrument took center stage in the capital. A liberal, nocturnal, multilingual and party-infused city, Nairobi eagerly adopted and digested every musical avant-garde – be they Western or African. The power of radio has long been responsible for broadcasting the best of the world’s sounds throughout the country. A strong penchant for technological progress combined with the economic boom would provide the city with numerous recording studios, as well as music venues well equipped for live music.

These Nairobi-based facilities attracted the singers of benga music – a very popular genre in Kenya, which transposed to the guitar the way traditional nyatiti harp was plucked, until its peak in the early 1980s.

Chrissy Zebby Tembo – Born Black – Welcome To Zamrock! Vol. 1 (1972-1977)

During the seventies, the capital city also welcomed many Zambian bands from the huge zamrock scene. Formed by fans of the Rolling Stones, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath, this precious Zambian scene was the pioneer of hard rock and heavy metal in East Africa, and its members regularly visited Nairobi and its recording studios. That is when the first metal seeds would be planted in Kenya: “The city has long been an international hub for many music scenes”,explains producer Sam Karugu, of the band Duma, who recently set the stage on fire at Sonic Protest 2022’s edition, and are currently on their aptly named “Mogul Tour”. “For a rock band, the best way to record an album was to go to Nairobi. This is why so many projects were realized here in our city.”

DUMA ©️ Sven Harambasic
Nirvana in Kenya 

A North-American author and metalhead, Edward Banchs recently published his second book*, Scream for Me, Africa! Heavy Metal Identities in Post-Colonial Africa, dedicated to the East African metal scene: “Compared to what happened in the West, the Kenyan metal scene is still quite new. You have to go back to the ‘90s, when you would hear heavy metal and rock music on commercial radio stations, as well as in the soundtracks of television-broadcast films. The success of Seattle grunge band Nirvana, as well as Los-Angeles-based Guns N’ Roses, had a strong impact on the youth of Nairobi.” But the authoritarian regime of Kenyatta’s successor, Daniel arap Moi, put media under scrutiny and as a result controlled all radio music broadcasting, carefully restricting the playlists: “If people would often listen to AC/DC, the audience did not have easy access to the rest of the world’s underground punk or hardcore either. It was through expatriate students traveling to the West, as well as wealthy university alumni who had the time and means to understand the phenomenon, eventually establishing a true local metal culture.”

In the capital’s high schools and universities, Kenyan kids immediately embraced the genre and its counter-cultural possibilities: “All the people I started metal bands with were basically school friends,” recalls Martin Khanja aka Lord Spike Heart, the other half of the band Duma. Violent, deranged, impulsive, the duo signed to Nyege Nyege Tapes are the ultra-concentrated chemical discharge of the current Kenyan metal scene. “Being a metalhead in Kenya,” he says, “was so odd and rare that when you met someone like you, you would become friends with them immediately. Everyone knew each other, and everyone played in each other’s projects.” But this effervescence remained almost a clandestine movement: “Until the democratic changeover in the early 2000s, the metal scene was forced to hide under the radar of Daniel arap Moi’s authoritarian regime,” explains Edward Banchs. “Bands and concert promoters alike had to play it low-key.”

DUMA ©️ Sven Harambasic

“Things started to get serious in the early 2000s,” adds Lord Spike Heart. As we entered the new millennium, the number of small bands in the country exploded. While the internet era allowed for big international discoveries, the patient work of national radio stations helped to cement the cohesiveness of the local scene: “We grew up listening to XFM. Man, that station played rock’n’roll all day,” Martin recalls. “And they had this weekly show, called Metal to Midnight. So every Thursday, you had a date with the metal underground scene from 10 PM to midnight, which was a crazy thing.” While some clubs started to program rock and metal DJ sets in town, the advent of skate culture in Kenya eventually unified the scene: “Skateboarding put hardcore, punk and metal aesthetics together in the same bubble. Internet, clubs, radio and skateboarding: these are the four pillars that made the metal scene emerge in Kenya! A scene that today involves about 10,000 fans, I would say.”

“Black, hardcore or death, all the metal sub-scenes coexist and merge in Kenya, where there is no separation between the genres,” adds Sam Karugu of the Duma duo. “The scene is a very diffuse one and spreads all over the country. Even in cities where our band has not been yet, I’m sure you’ll find kids who formed bands. Despite this fast-growing movement, we are aware that we represent only an ultra-minority musical trend, in a very conservative and closed country,” adds Lord Spike Heart. “We rockers and metalheads are still underrepresented in a mass culture where consensus rules. And I think that at the end of the day, it was this very outcasting that energized the scene. We formed bands to write and play music that didn’t exist in our country.”

DUMA – LIONSBLOOD

In a 2015 study entitled “Headbanging in Nairobi: The emergence of the Kenyan metal scene and its transformation of the metal code”, researcher Ekkehard Coenen analyzes the emergence of the local scene as a successful collusion between travelers, student networks and the influence of the internet: “In 2005, the local scene gave birth to its first real band from the local community, Last Year’s Tragedy. A cover band at the beginning, they started to compose their own songs three years later, with references to artists such as Killswitch Engage, Bring Me the Horizon or As I Lay Dying. The full spectrum of metal is well represented in the country, as death metal and metalcore are championed by bands like Last Year’s Tragedy, In Oath or Aphasia, while Seismic plays a more classic metal sound and ParkingLotGrass favor hard rock.”

Last Year’s Tragedy – Violation (Official Music Video)
“Alternative” current

The Kenyan metal scene is not without its distinct local identity: “The bands and the fan base are growing, while the level of production, organization and distribution is also improving,” says Ekkehard Coenen. “However, the metal scene remains structurally dependent on Kenyan urban infrastructure.” Highly capital-intensive, the practice of playing metal itself relies on amplified instruments: “The scene is dependent on a stable power supply,” adds the researcher. “The urban-rural divide is obvious, with Kenyan metalheads living mainly in large urban centers,” says Ekkehard.

Many of these metalheads originate from the Kenyan middle class: “While some Nairobi-based musicians are born of the country’s most influential and prosperous families, most of the activists in the scene descend from the capital’s working middle class,” comments writer Edward Banchs. “In fact, they face problems with infrastructure. I’ve seen rehearsal spaces where the power goes out when all the musicians are plugged in at the same time… Also, finding a regular rehearsal space can be quite expensive and sometimes the bands work on their songs in the middle of a gig because they lack regular practice. Such is the Kenyan scene, where the expression ‘do it yourself’ takes new meaning.”

Another singularity of the Kenyan metal scene – on a more symbolic note this time – is its relationship with the concept of “sacrilege”. Since its inception, metal music has been entirely focused on the annihilation of Christian morality. However, “a large part of the Kenyan population have converted to Christianity,” explains the researcher. “Despite this, you find many black metal fans in the local scene. Because of these two apparent contradictions, Kenyan metal songs do not feature your usual satanic and occult lyrics, that are typical of the genre.” In fact, the phenomenon is quite the opposite: “You regularly hear Christian-oriented lyrics,” adds the German researcher, who has identified several signs of religious allegiance on the part of some Kenyan bands: “I am thinking about, amongst others, the lyrics of ‘Your Grace’ by the band Seismic, a song they released in 2010. As well as the statements of Christopher Lilako, guitarist of the band In Oath, who explained in an interview with Zuqka magazine, that ‘our songs have positive messages about life, as well as some Christian values. We feel strongly about it.’

©️ Last Year’s Tragedy

Without going as far as converting to the “Holy UnBlack Metal” – an improbable pro-Christian mutation of black metal –, the Kenyan scene naturally assumes their anchorage in religious values: “The harsh criticism of christianism, constitutive of metal music in general, completely escapes the local scene,” comments Ekkehard Coenen. A metalcore band like Void of Belonging used to welcome people on their homepage with the following message: “We thank God for the amazing gifts he has given us.” At the same time, the band’s frontman would wear a Slayer t-shirt on stage.

“This paradox is not so easy to live with for young Kenyan metalheads”, says author Edward Banchs. “In 2013, while researching for my first book, a cargo ship containing a load of Halloween masks docked at the port of Mombasa, Kenya’s second largest city. The presence of these objects, considered occult, caused a national scandal and hit the headlines. You can imagine, in this context, how the rock and metal community is perceived. Wearing a Slipknot or Slayer t-shirt in a public space can be quite complicated there. I only know of one real black metal band led by a Kenyan: the project is called Nelecc, and the musician behind it actually lives here in Michigan.”

Today, the Kenyan scene is driven by the Millenials, and “it’s fascinating to see how much this community has done with so little,” enthuses Edward. This new generation that has taken over, got rid of that obsession with the West, and stands closer to an actual sense of national identity than of ethnicity: “This is what makes the new Kenyan generation unique.” A community that, beyond its passion for the genre, has managed to infuse it with specifically local themes: “corruption, national identity and public health issues are now featured in Kenyan bands’ lyrics. It is through unity that this rock scene will be able to generate its own cultural and musical paradigm and thus be able to influence other East African countries, in the same way that South Africa has been a driving force in metal music for all the neighboring countries.” Darkness be damned: the flames of Kenyan metal are here to burn, for a long time to come yet.

Heavy Metal Africa: Life, Passion, and Heavy Metal in the Forgotten Continent, as well as Scream for Me, Africa!: Heavy Metal Identities in Post-Colonial Africa, both works of this sharp-witted author are available through Bookshop.

Duma’s “Mogul Tour” continues to set ablaze the stages of all major European cities until late in the summer. You can listen to their LP via our Ugandan friends’ label Nyege Nyege Tapes.

Scream for Me, Africa! Heavy Metal Identities in Post-Colonial Africa

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Sur la scène metal kenyane, entre ténèbres et flammes

Depuis l’année dernière, le ventre chaud de Nairobi a mis en orbite un de ses plus infâmes rejetons : Duma. Binôme de black metal électronique, le groupe, qui vient récemment de brûler la scène du Sonic Protest 2022, est actuellement au cœur de son bien nommé Mogul Tour. Violent, cérébral, pulsionnel, le duo signé chez Nyege Nyege Tapes est un résidu chimiquement ultra-concentré de l’actuelle scène metal kényane. Une scène profilée, dont l’émergence oscille entre résidus coloniaux, coupures d'électricité généralisées et feu sacré, porté haut par une poignée d’activistes.

Rappel des faits : en 1963, le Kenya se libère de la tutelle de l’administration britannique. Le pays – tiré par sa locomotive Nairobi, délaisse alors rapidement les espoirs des indépendantistes radicaux pour se convertir largement à un capitalisme débridé, directement hérité du colon anglais : distribution inégale des terres, grande pauvreté, clientélisme, capitaux britanniques épargnés et investissements étrangers encouragés… L’élite kényane adopte l’économie de marché au détriment des idéaux rebelles. Rapidement, les grattes-ciels fleurissent alors dans une capitale dès l’aube affairée. Doté d’un régime autoritaire de parti unique, instauré par le père de l’indépendance Jomo Kenyatta, le Kenya bénéficie d’une certaine stabilité économique et sociale. C’est le cas à Nairobi en tout cas : de nombreux artistes étrangers vont alors investir la capitale.

Ainsi, dès les sixties, radios et phonographes vibrent au son du jazz sud-africain ou des illustres guitaristes congolais. La guitare va dès lors se tailler une place de choix dans la capitale. Libérale, nocturne, polyglotte et fêtarde, Nairobi adopte et digère avec gourmandise toutes les avant-gardes musicales – qu’elles soient occidentales ou africaines. La puissance de la radio s’est longtemps chargée de diffuser dans tout le pays le meilleur de la sono mondiale. Le modernisme technologique et l’essor économique vont doter la ville de studios d’enregistrements, ainsi que de lieux de diffusion pour musique amplifiée.

Ces équipements attirent dès lors à Nairobi les chantres du benga – style ultra-populaire au Kenya, qui transpose à la guitare la manière dont on pinçait la harpe traditionnelle nyatiti, jusqu’à son firmament au début des années 80.

Chrissy Zebby Tembo – Born Black – Welcome To Zamrock! Vol. 1 (1972-1977)

Durant les seventies, la capitale accueille également de nombreux groupes zamrock, issus de l’immense scène rock de Zambie. Fans des Stones, de Deep Purple ou de Black Sabbath, cette précieuse scène zambienne, pionnière du hard rock et du heavy metal à l’Est du continent africain, fréquente alors régulièrement Nairobi et ses studios d’enregistrements. Les premières graines métalliques seront plantées à ce moment au Kenya : « la ville a longtemps été un hub international pour de nombreuses scènes musicales », explique le producteur Sam Karugu, du groupe Duma, qui vient récemment de brûler la scène du Sonic Protest 2022, et poursuit son bien nommé Mogul Tour. « Pour un groupe de rock, le meilleur moyen d’enregistrer un album était alors de se rendre à Nairobi. De nombreux projets ont ainsi trouvé leur accomplissement ici, dans notre ville. »

DUMA ©️ Sven Harambasic
 Nirvana au Kenya 

Auteur et metalhead américain, Edward Banchs vient de publier Scream for Me, Africa! Heavy Metal Identities in Post-Colonial Africa, son second ouvrage* dédié aux scènes métal est-africaines : « si l’on compare à l’Occident, la scène metal au Kenya reste assez récente. Il faut remonter aux années 90, quand les radios commerciales, tout comme les bandes-originales de films diffusés à la télévision jouaient du heavy metal, ou du Rock en général. Le succès de Nirvana, qui venait de Seattle, tout comme les Guns N’ Roses, originaires de Los Angeles, a eu un fort impact sur la jeunesse de Nairobi. » Mais le régime autoritaire du successeur de Kenyatta – Daniel arap Moi –, qui contrôle alors les médias et donc aussi la diffusion musicale radiophonique, filtre attentivement les playlists : « Si l’on écoutait alors facilement AC/DC, le public n’avait pas non plus accès au meilleur de l’underground punk ou hardcore mondial. Ce sont les voyages en Occident des étudiants expatriés, ainsi que les milieux universitaires aisés qui auront le temps et les moyens de s’approprier le phénomène, et d’établir localement une véritable culture métal. »

Dans les lycées et les universités de la capitale, quelques kids kenyans investissent immédiatement le genre, et sa portée contre-culturelle : « tous les gens avec qui j’ai monté des groupes de métal sont, à la base, des amis d’école », se souvient Martin Khanja aka Lord Spike Heart, l’autre moitié du groupe Duma. Violent, cérébral, pulsionnel, le duo signé chez Nyege Nyege Tapes est un résidu chimiquement ultra-concentré de l’actuelle scène metal kényane. « Être un metalhead au Kenya, poursuit-il, c’était tellement singulier et rare que, lorsque tu rencontrais quelqu’un comme toi, tu devenais pote avec lui, immédiatement. Tout le monde se connaissait, tout le monde jouait dans les projets des uns et des autres. (…) Mais cette effervescence demeure quasi-clandestine : « Jusqu’à l’alternance démocratique qui va s’opérer au début des années 2000, la scène métal est contrainte de s’exprimer sous les radars du régime autoritaire de Daniel arap Moi », explique Edward Banchs. « Les groupes comme les organisateurs de concerts la jouent alors discret. »

DUMA ©️ Sven Harambasic

« Les choses ont commencé à devenir sérieuses au début des années 2000 », ajoute Lord Spike Heart. À l’entrée dans le nouveau millénaire, le nombre de petits groupes explose dans le pays. Alors que l’ère d’internet permet les grosses découvertes internationales, le travail des radios nationales solidifie la cohésion de la scène locale : « on a grandi en écoutant XFM. Mec, cette station jouait du rock’n roll toute la journée », se souvient Martin. « Et puis, cette radio produisait une émission hebdomadaire, intitulée Metal to Midnight. Tous les jeudis, on avait rendez-vous avec l’underground métal de 10 heures à minuit, c’était fou. » Alors que certains clubs commencent à programmer des Dj set rock et metal en ville, l’avènement au Kenya de la skate culture finit d’unifier la scène : « le skate a permis de lier les esthétiques hardcore, punk et métal dans un même bouillon. Internet, les clubs, la radio et le skate, voilà les quatre piliers qui ont fait émerger la scène Metal au Kenya ! Une scène qui concerne aujourd’hui, je dirais, près de 10 000 fans », évalue Martin.

« Black, hardcore ou death, toutes les scènes liées au métal coexistent et se confondent au Kenya, il n’y a pas de séparation entre les genres », ajoute Sam Karugu du binôme Duma. « La scène est hyper diffuse et se déploie aux quatre coins du pays. Même dans des villes où notre groupe n’a jamais mis les pieds, je sais que tu trouveras des kids qui montent des groupes. Malgré cet essor, nous sommes conscients que nous représentons un courant musical ultra-minoritaire, dans un pays très conservateur et fermé », ajoute Lord Spike Heart. « Nous, rockers et metalheads, restons sous-représentés dans une culture de masse où la loi du consensus règne. Et je crois que finalement, c’est cette mise au ban musical qui a dynamisé la scène. On a formé des groupes pour composer et jouer une musique qui n’existait pas dans notre pays. »

DUMA – LIONSBLOOD

Dans son étude parue en 2015 « Headbanging in Nairobi: The emergence of the Kenyan metal scene and its transformation of the metal code », le chercheur Ekkehard Coenen analyse l’émergence de la scène locale comme une collusion réussie entre des voyageurs, le réseau étudiant et l’influence d’internet : « en 2005, la scène locale faisait naître son premier vrai groupe issu de la communauté locale, Last Year’s Tragedy. Groupe de reprises à ses débuts, ils se sont mis à composer leur propres morceaux trois années plus tard, avec des références comme « Killswitch Engage », « Bring Me the Horizon » ou « As I Lay Dying ». Les diverses tendances metal sont bien présentes dans le pays, car le death et le metalcore sont représentés par des groupes comme Last Year’s Tragedy, In Oath ou Aphasia, tandis que Seismic joue du metal plus classique et que ParkingLotGrass verse dans le hard rock. »

Last Year’s Tragedy – Violation (Official Music Video)
Courant alternatif et sacre du métal 

Désormais constitué, l’ensemble métallique kényan n’est pourtant pas dépourvu de reliefs et de particularismes locaux : « les groupes, les fans augmentent, le niveau de production, d’organisation et de distribution s’améliore », commente Ekkehard Coenen. « Pourtant, la scène metal reste structurellement tributaire et dépendante des infrastructures urbaines kényanes. » Hautement capitalistique, la pratique-même du métal repose sur des instruments amplifiés : « la scène est dépendante d’un approvisionnement stable en électricité », ajoute le chercheur. « La fracture entre villes et campagnes est évidente ici, les metalheads kenyans vivent majoritairement dans les grands centres urbains », commente Ekkehard.

Ces metalheads sont originaires pour beaucoup de la classe moyenne kényanne : « si certains membres de groupes de Nairobi sont issus des familles les plus influentes et prospères du pays, la plupart des activistes de la scène viennent plutôt de la classe moyenne laborieuse de la capitale », commente l’écrivain Edward Banchs. « De fait, ils font face à des problèmes d’infrastructure. J’ai déjà vu des locaux de répétitions subir des pannes d’électricité lorsque tous les musiciens se branchaient en même temps… Par ailleurs, trouver un lieu de répétition régulier peut revenir assez cher et parfois, les groupes peaufinent leur sets en plein concert, faute de pratique régulière. Ainsi va la scène kenyanne, où l’expression do-it-yourself prend tout son sens. »

Autre singularité – symbolique cette fois-ci – de la scène métal kenyane, son rapport au sacrilège. Depuis sa création le métal est entièrement tendu vers l’annihilation de la morale chrétienne. Or, « il se trouve qu’une large part de la population kenyanne est convertie au christianisme », explique le chercheur. « Malgré tout, on dénombre de nombreux fans de black metal au sein de la scène locale. En raison de ces deux contradictions apparentes, les morceaux de métal kenyans ne contiennent pas les habituelles paroles sataniques et occultes, pourtant typiques du genre. » En fait, le phénomène est inverse : « des textes chrétiens y sont régulièrement trouvés », ajoute le chercheur allemand, qui a sourcé plusieurs signes d’allégeance religieuses de la part de certains groupes kenyans : « je pense, entre autres, aux paroles de Your Grace du groupe Seismic, chanson parue en 2010. Tout comme aux déclarations de Christopher Lilako, le guitariste du groupe In Oath, qui expliquait dans une interview au magazine Zuqka, « nos chansons ont des messages positifs concernant la vie, et certaines valeurs chrétiennes. Nous y tenons fermement. »

©️ Last Year’s Tragedy

Sans bercer dans le Holy UnBlack Metal – improbable mutation pro-chrétienne du black metal –, la scène kenyane assume au naturel un certain ancrage dans les valeurs religieuses : « la critique du chrsitianisme, constitutive du metal en général, échappe complètement à la scène locale », commente Ekkehard Coenen. Un groupe de Metalcore comme Void of Belonging accueillait les internautes sur son portail officiel avec le message We thank God for the amazing gifts he has given us Nous remercions le Seigneur pour tout les dons dont il nous a gratifiés »). Ce qui n’empêchait pas– dans le même temps –, le frontman du groupe d’arborer un t-shirt Slayer sur scène.

 « Ce paradoxe n’est pas si simple à vivre pour les jeunes metalheads kenyans », analyse l’auteur Edward Banchs. « En 2013, alors que je faisais mes recherches pour mon premier livre, un cargo contenant une cargaison de masques d’Halloween a accosté dans le port de Mombasa, la seconde deuxième plus grande ville du Kenya. La présence de ces objets, considérés comme occultes, a provoqué un scandale national et fait la une des journaux. Imagine, dans ce contexte, comment la communauté rock et métal peut être perçue. Porter un t-shirt Slipknot ou Slayer dans l’espace public peut s’avérer franchement compliqué là-bas. Je ne connais d’ailleurs qu’un seul vrai groupe de black metal mené par un Kenyan. Il s’agit de Nelecc, et le musicien qui porte le projet vit ici, dans le Michigan. »

Aujourd’hui, l’actuelle scène est portée au Kenya par la génération Y : « c’est fascinant de voir à quel point cette communauté a tant fait avec, finalement, si peu », s’enthousiasme Edward. Une relève débarrassée de son obsession pour l’Occident, plus proche d’une certaine identité nationale que d’appartenance ethnique : « c’est à ce titre que la nouvelle génération Kenyane est unique. » Une communauté qui, au-delà de sa passion pour le genre, parvient désormais à y insuffler des thématiques spécifiquement locales : « corruption, appartenance nationale ou problèmes de santé publique figurent désormais au menu des paroles de groupes kenyans. C’est dans l’unité que cette scène de rockers sera à même de générer son propre paradigme culturel et musical et ainsi de pouvoir influencer d’autres pays d’Afrique de l’Est, de la même façon que l’Afrique du Sud a su être un moteur en matière de métal pour tous les pays avoisinants. » Les ténèbres n’ont qu’à bien se tenir : les flammes du métal kényan sont là pour brûler longtemps.

Heavy Metal Africa: Life, Passion, and Heavy Metal in the Forgotten Continent, ainsi que Scream for Me, Africa!: Heavy Metal Identities in Post-Colonial Africa les deux sémillants ouvrages de l’auteur, sont disponibles sur Bookshop.

Le Mogul Tour de Duma continue de faire feu sur toutes les grandes villes d’Europe et ce, jusqu’à tard dans l’été. Leur L.P. est toujours audible chez nos amis ougandais du label Nyege Nyege Tapes.

Scream for Me, Africa! Heavy Metal Identities in Post-Colonial Africa

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé