→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Fatima Al Qadiri inspired by female Arab poets on new album
© Lane Stewart

Fatima Al Qadiri inspired by female Arab poets on new album

Following her last album, dedicated to the queer cultures of Kuwait, the producer is back on Hyperdub with Medieval Femme, a new project inspired by medieval Arabic women’s literature.

Born in Dakar, the Kuwaiti producer Fatima Al Qadiri remains attached to Senegal, as evidenced by her participation on the soundtrack of Atlantique, directed by Mati Diop. She draws on all the influences encountered on her path of immigration from West Africa to the Arab world, not to mention the United States.

With her new album, Medieval Femme, the DJ is now inspired by the classic poems by Arab female writers, making for a “fantastic album of crazy romantic arabesques.” Fatima recalls these forgotten poetesses, including Al-Khansa, transporting us to an Islamic garden in which the present seems totally dissolved, leaving room for letting go.

She plunges us into a deeply dreamlike space, reminiscent of the golden age of Arabic women’s literature, as in the single “Malaak,” which refers to “angels.” The composer uses the lute, an omnipresent instrument during this medieval period and places it in a futuristic setting, with vocals that lull us like a mantra. Fatima honors the nostalgic style of the writers of that time and reconciles us with our own melancholic sides, helping to convert sadness into a beautiful dream.

Medieval Femme will be released on May 24 via Hyperdub.

Find Fatima Al Qadiri in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Fatima Al Qadiri s’inspire des poétesses arabes pour son nouvel album
© Lane Stewart

Fatima Al Qadiri s'inspire des poétesses arabes pour son nouvel album

Après avoir consacré son dernier album aux cultures queers du Koweït, la productrice est de retour chez Hyperdub avec Medieval Femme, un nouveau projet inspiré de la littérature féminine arabe de l’époque médiévale.

Née à Dakar, la productrice koweïtienne Fatima Al Qadiri demeure très attachée au Sénégal, comme en témoigne sa participation à la bande originale du film Atlantique, réalisé par Mati Diop. Véritable éponge, elle se nourrit de toutes les influences rencontrées sur son chemin d’immigrée, de l’Afrique de l’Ouest au monde arabe, sans oublier les États-Unis.

Avec son nouveau disque, Medieval Femme, la DJ s’inspire désormais des poèmes classiques de femmes arabes, un « album fantastique d’arabesques romantiques délirantes ». Fatima se remémore ces poétesses oubliées, dont Al-Khansa, en nous transportant vers un jardin islamique, dans lequel le présent semble totalement dissout, laissant place au lâcher-prise.

Elle nous plonge dans une atmosphère profondément onirique, rappelant l’âge d’or de la littérature féminine arabe, comme dans le single « Malaak », en référence aux « anges ». La compositrice y utilise le luth, instrument omniprésent durant la période médiévale, en le plaçant dans un cadre futuriste, aux côtés de sa voix qui nous berce, tel un mantra. Fatima honore ainsi le style nostalgique des écrivaines de cette époque et tente de nous réconcilier avec notre part mélancolique, en transformant la tristesse en un joli songe.

Medieval Femme, sortie le 24 mai via Hyperdub.

Retrouvez Fatima Al Qadiri dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé