→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

11 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Vis-A-Vis, Arlo Parks, Alostmen and more.

Everything Tasteful
Lala &ce

The rapper with an inimitable style unveils her first solo album, a receptacle for her multiple influences, ranging from Lil Wayne to the music of her father’s village. After mesmerizing the Colors studios with her unique relaxed flow, the Franco-Ivorian artist naturally asserts herself on the rap scene without skipping a beat. But beware of sleeping water, calm and patience are not incompatible with ambition.

Listen here

Collapsed In Sunbeams
Arlo Parks

Her long-awaited album is a reflection of her musical palette: intimate and rooted in stories that are both personal and universal. In short, she offers poetic soul music permeated by the urban melancholy her generation feels. Arlo Parks embody the human soul and all its various emotions. The young neo-soul prodigy has been experiencing a meteoric rise since her magical performance at the Colors Show with “Hurt,” as well as stunning covers of Radiohead’s “Creep” and Angèle’s “Ta Reine.”

Listen here

Kologo
Alostmen

“Kologo” is the album’s title of the group Alostmen, and the name of the instrumentary-king of northern Ghana, played by Stevo Atambire. More than ever before, it is featured on this album, which Strut is releasing internationally. This traditional lute from northern Ghana, of which the Frafras have become a speciality, has been played for several years now by Stevo Atambire, who has been experimenting with this rhythmic and melodic instrument, capable of accompanying those who play (and sing) it at weddings, funerals, and in electro studios.

Listen here

Obi Agye Mi Dofo
Vis-A-Vis

The Canadian label We Are Busy Bodies has reissued the ultra rare and seminal 1977 album Obi Agye Mi Dofo from the Ghanaian highlife group Vis-A-Vis, one of whose members was none other than the legend K. Frimpong. With Frimpong’s presence, it remains one of the most valued West African records of Ghana’s golden age, not least because highlife, meaning “beautiful life” in English, continues to inspire the new generation that brings its own modern touch to a genre still vibrating in the Ghanan scene.

Listen here

Good Good Dub
Blundetto

Still warm from the reggae fumes of Good Good Things, the musician Max Guiguet aka Blundetto returns once again with Hindi Zahra and Leonardo Marques to plant his Jamaican flag. A journey where one gets lost in the sonic immensity of these open-mix dub tracks, in the company of his sidekick Blackjoy, to reverse the rhythm and the clockwise direction of time thanks to the percussion echoes, which penetrate our soul and spirit.

Listen here

Indaba Is
Compilation Brownswood Records

The English label Brownswood, headed up by DJ and producer Gilles Peterson, presents Indaba Is, a compilation paying respects to current South African jazz, held between late June and early July (at the end of the first confinement in South Africa). It brings together eight emblematic Johannesburg bands, with spiritual jazz as an obvious anchor. But jazz only acts as a springboard for exploring South Africa’s musical diversity. The songs that make up Indaba Is propel eight current South African bands to new and unexplored musical frontiers. Here, jazz becomes a starting point rather than an end in itself.

Listen here

Mersi
Christine Salem

She could have become a footballer or a “prevention animator” for young people, but the fairies of Salem decided to take her to Reunion Island, where maloya flows like rum to repair souls, heal wounds, and connect the living things to the invisible… and to the deceased. Christine Salem is one of the rare female voices of maloya, carrying far away this rhythm of the ancestors to whom she pays homage in her new album, Mersi. Without forgetting to transport them to other horizons, thanks to Seb Martel’s guitar and Fred Norel’s violin.

Listen here

Yaadman Kingsize
Yung L

Yung L’s resolution for this new year 2021? No longer give in to compromise! His new album, Yaadman Kingsize is a real little pearl. The softness of Land of Light, in which he asserts himself “half man, half spirit”, will rock your nights. In the title Police & Thief, Yung L supports the #EndSARS movement, against police violence in Nigeria, especially among the youth. As for the energetic title Rasta, with the son of the giant Fela Kuti, Seun Kuti, it is about celebrating the Rastafarian way of life. There is really something for everyone in this album!

Listen here

Kanawa
Nahawa Doumbia

One of the most popular female singers in Mali still dazzles us in 2021 with her album Kanawa, meaning “don’t go”. Therefore, she sends a message of hope to the Malian youth, while criticizing the government as well as the human disasters on the path of migration. A true ode to the beauty of Mali, magnified by the traditional instruments accompanying her melodious voice.

Listen here

Money can’t buy happiness
Fredo

Fredo is a young rapper from London who has already been successful in 2018 with his track Tables Turn. He amazes us with his new album Money can’t buy happiness. In Biggest Mistake, he takes an introspective look back at his time in prison and his chaotic schooling, wondering if he is “his mother’s biggest mistake”. Fredo also covers Ready, the mythical title of The Fugees, accompanied by the beautiful voice of Summer Walker. A real message to the British youth, about simplicity as the key to happiness.

Listen here

Counter Active
The Paradox

Jeff Mills and Jean-Phi Dary form a new electronic jazz project, The Paradox, following their meeting during the recording of the album Tomorrow Comes The Harvest by the great late Tony Allen. The spontaneity and the keyword of this project, each track of which is a kind of small jam session recorded in real time without computers. Two minds with limitless freedom that remind us of the richness of creations when they don’t compromise.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 11 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine : Le Ghana est à l’honneur avec un écrin de highlife du groupe Vis-A-Vis et la virtuosité du joueur de kologo Stevo Atambire. C’est aussi le grand retour de Blundetto sur des morceaux de dub à mix ouvert et la réunion de Jeff Mills et Jean-Phi Dary autour d’un projet jazz électro improvisé. En cette période difficile pour la jeunesse, quoi de mieux que la voix soul d’Arlo Parks pour incarner le spleen urbain de sa génération, et le flow détendu de Lala &ce pour retrouver le calme et la patience. On garde aussi espoir avec le renouvellement du jazz sud-africain de la compilation Indaba Is, qui s’ouvre à de nouvelles frontières musicales pour le moment inexplorées, et on s’évade à la Réunion avec l’une des rares voix féminines de maloya, la grande Christine Salem. Des messages adressés à la jeunesse, on en trouve aussi du côté des rappeurs, avec le retour de Yung L et Fredo mais aussi de la part de Nahawa Doumbia sur son album Kanawa, signifiant « ne pars pas » où elle adresse un message d’espoir à la jeunesse malienne, tout en critiquant le gouvernement ainsi que les désastres humains qui ont lieu sur le chemin de la migration.

Everything Tasteful
Lala &ce

La rappeuse franco-ivoirienne au style inimitable dévoile son premier album solo, réceptacle de ses multiples influences, passant aussi bien de Lil Wayne à la musique du village de son père. Après avoir hypnotisé les studios Colors sur son flow détendu unique, Lala &ce s’impose naturellement sur la scène rap sans brûler les étapes. Mais attention tout de même à l’eau qui dort, le calme et la patience ne sont pas incompatibles avec l’ambition.

Écoutez ici

Collapsed In Sunbeams
Arlo Parks

Son album tant attendu est à l’image de sa palette musicale : intime et ancré dans des récits à la fois personnels et universels. En somme, une musique soul poétique envahie par le spleen urbain de sa génération. Arlo Parks a la voix néo-soul bouleversante et incarne à merveille les émotions de l’âme humaine. Cette jeune prodige connaît une ascension fulgurante depuis sa prestation magique au Colors Show sur « Hurt » et ses reprises renversantes sur « Creep » de Radiohead ou « Ta Reine » d’Angèle.

Écoutez ici

Kologo
Alostmen

« Kologo », c’est le titre de l’album du groupe Alostmen, et le nom de l’instrument-roi du nord Ghana, joué par Stevo Atambire. Il est plus que jamais mis à l’honneur dans ce disque que Strut publie à l’international. Ce luth traditionnel du nord Ghana dont les Frafras se sont fait une spécialité, voilà plusieurs années que Stevo Atambire se livre à toute sorte d’expériences avec cet instrument rythmique et mélodique, capable d’accompagner celui qui le joue (et qui chante) dans les mariages, les funérailles, et dans les studios d’électro.

Écoutez ici

Obi Agye Mi Dofo
Vis-A-Vis

Le label canadien We Are Busy Bodies réédite l’album ultra rare et essentiel de 1977, Obi Agye Mi Dofo du groupe ghanéen de highlife Vis-A-Vis, dont l’un des membres n’était autre que la légende K. Frimpong. Grâce à sa présence, l’album reste parmi les disques ouest-africains les plus recherchés de l’âge d’or ghanéen, notamment parce que le highlife, signifiant « belle vie » en français, ne cesse d’inspirer la nouvelle génération qui apporte sa propre touche de modernité au genre qui fait toujours vibrer le Ghana.

Écoutez ici

Good Good Dub
Blundetto

Encore chaud des vapeurs de reggae de Good Good Things, le musicien Max Guiguet alias Blundetto revient une nouvelle fois avec Hindi Zahra et Leonardo Marques pour planter son drapeau jamaïcain. Un voyage où l’on se perd dans l’immensité sonore de ces morceaux de dub à mix ouvert, en compagnie de son acolyte Blackjoy, pour inverser le rythme et le sens des aiguilles du temps grâce aux échos de percussions, qui pénètrent notre âme et notre esprit.

Écoutez ici

Indaba Is
Compilation Brownswood Records

Le label anglais Brownswood du DJ et producteur Gilles Peterson présente Indaba Is, une compilation en hommage au jazz sud-africains actuel, réalisé entre fin juin et début juillet — à la fin du premier confinement en Afrique du Sud. Elle rassemble huit groupes emblématiques de Johannesburg; avec le spiritual jazz comme point d’ancrage évident. Mais le jazz n’est qu’un tremplin pour explorer la diversité musicale sud-africaine. Les morceaux qui composent Indaba Is propulsent huit groupes sud-africains actuels vers de nouvelles frontières musicales inexplorées. Le jazz devient alors un point de départ plutôt qu’une fin en soi.

Écoutez ici

Mersi
Christine Salem

Elle aurait pu devenir footballeuse ou « animatrice de prévention » auprès des jeunes, mais les fées de Salem ont décidé de l’emmener sur l’île de la Réunion, là où le maloya coule comme le rhum pour réparer les âmes, panser les plaies, et relier les vivants à l’invisible… et aux disparus. Christine Salem est une des rares voix féminines du maloya, portant loin ce rythme des ancêtres auxquels elle rend hommage dans son nouvel album, Mersi. Sans oublier de les transporter vers d’autres horizons, grâce à la guitare de Seb Martel et au violon de Fred Norel.

Écoutez ici

Yaadman Kingsize
Yung L

La résolution de Yung L pour cette nouvelle année 2021 ? Ne plus céder aux compromis ! Son nouvel album, Yaadman Kingsize est une véritable petite perle. La douceur de « Land of Light », dans laquelle il s’affirme « mi-homme, mi-esprit », bercera vos nuits. Dans le titre « Police & Thief », Yung L soutient le mouvement #EndSARS, contre les violences policières au Nigéria, notamment subie par la jeunesse. Quant au titre énergique « Rasta », en compagnie du fils du géant Fela Kuti, Seun Kuti, il s’agit de célébrer le mode de vie rastafari. Il y en a donc pour tous les goûts !

Écoutez ici

Kanawa
Nahawa Doumbia

L’une des chanteuses les plus populaires au Mali nous éblouit encore en 2021, avec son album Kanawa, signifiant « ne pars pas ». Elle adresse ainsi un message d’espoir à la jeunesse malienne, tout en critiquant le gouvernement ainsi que les désastres humains sur le chemin de la migration. Une véritable ode à la beauté du Mali, magnifiée par les instruments traditionnels accompagnant sa voix mélodieuse.

Écoutez ici

Money can’t buy happiness
Fredo

Fredo est un jeune rappeur de Londres qui a déjà connu le succès en 2018, avec son titre « Tables Turn ». Il nous épate avec son nouvel album Money can’t buy happiness, signifiant « l’argent ne peut acheter le bonheur ». Se lançant dans une véritable introspection dans « Biggest Mistake », il revient sur son passage en prison et sa scolarité chaotique, se demandant ainsi s’il constitue « la plus grande erreur » de sa mère. Fredo reprend aussi « Ready », le titre mythique de The Fugees, accompagné par la jolie voix de Summer Walker. Un véritable message à la jeunesse britannique, sur la simplicité comme clé du bonheur.

Écoutez ici

Counter Active
The Paradox

Jeff Mills et Jean-Phi Dary forment un nouveau projet de jazz électronique, The Paradox, faisant suite à leur rencontre lors de l’enregistrement de l’album Tomorrow Comes The Harvest du grand regretté Tony Allen. La spontanéité et le maître-mot de ce projet, dont chaque titre est une sorte de petite jam-session enregistrée en temps réel sans ordinateurs. Deux esprits à la liberté sans limite qui rappellent la richesse des créations quand elles ne font pas de compromis.

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé