→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Wizkid drops four new sweet Afrobeats tracks, while PsychoYP, Not3s and ATO rap hard. The Nigerien Mamaki Boys offer a patriotic EP, similarly to Da Capo and his proudly South African Afro-house project. In the midst of these festive news, we also enjoy a little dose of nostalgia with the Ethiopian Hit Parade Vol. 2 and Una Rams' melancholic debut album.

Made In Lagos Deluxe

Wizkid

The undisputed star of Afrobeats returns with a deluxe version of Made In Lagos, his fourth album released in 2020 and considered an instant classic. The project marked a sensual ode to his hometown and immediately seduced the Starboy’s worldwide audience, surprised by the album’s impressive maturity and refinement in an industry usually fueled by quick hits. Wizkid adds four ultra-sexy songs to his Afro-disiac tracklist, and features young Buju and a certain Justin Bieber respectively on “Mood,” and on the remix of “Essence.” 

Listen here

Patriote

Mamaki Boys

Describing their music as “tradi-moderne,Mamaki Boys is a Nigerien trio made up of Aziz Tony, Bachou Issouf and Salif André. On Patriote, their new project reissued by Sahel Sounds, the band sought to “put the tradition in rap, ancestral dance, the things that our grandparents did in the village.” The project’s six tracks, released only locally in 2007, blend local instruments like duma and kalango with the rappers’ almost ragga-like flows, all the while retaining a vein of politicized hip-hop. “Kagani Kagani,” for example, demands a reparation of minerals, oil, and uranium rights from their colonizers, while “Komando” uses war cries to inspire artists to keep on speaking out. 

Listen here

hold me when it’s cold: a mixtape

Una Rams

hold me when it’s cold: a mixtape is a project born out of months spent in confinement, in the middle of the South African winter. Una Rams has put all the emotions and moods he has felt during this strange and intense period into this record. The project, his second full-length release since Wavy Baby (2018), tracks the longing he felt for romantic and physical intimacy as well as the isolation and the cold that stayed with him for weeks. The young South African alternative scene, represented here by artists like Muzi, Blxckie and Langa Mavuso, has joined him in this therapeutic process with a sweet and heart-warming result. 

Listen here

Ethiopian Hit Parade Vol​.​2

Ethiopiques Series

Following the 2016 release of Ethiopian hit parade vol.1, Francis Falceto and Heavenly Sweetness continue reissuing the Ethiopian hit parade series on vinyl. Following about fifty singles, the late Amha Eshèté, who passed away this year, collected his best work in 1972 and released  a series of singles on albums that have become mythical (and unobtainable in their original press); the first four volumes of Ethiopian Hit Parade were released between 1972 and 1973. Volume 2 is now available as a reissue, featuring songs by the legendary Getachew Kassa, Mulatu Astatqé, Alémayéhu Eshété and many others. 

Listen here

Side A

ATO

With Side A, the London rapper delivers a short and intense EP, which exposes the scope of his talent on five tracks. Able to rap with ferocity on “Ziamonds!” and to sing with tenderness on “No Caroline,” it seems that Ato doesn’t put any limit on his artistic expression. The originality in his sound is also due to the particularly versatile and almost robotic instrumentation. 

Listen here

Return To The Beginning

Da Capo

Return To The Beginning is a journey back to the early days for South African producer Da Capo, compiling both new and unreleased songs dating back as far as 2008. With the majority of tracks being instrumental, his skill as a producer shines through: the beats are spacious enough for him to express himself through haunting chants (“Sabir”), robust drumming (“Zone Out”) and strobing synths (“Indigo”). The project is characterised by a uniformity that points to a producer who has not only found his voice but sustained it in the highly competitive South African Afro-house scene. 

Listen here

Euphoria

PsychoYP

The Abuja-born rapper drops a new EP that confirms his reputation as an up-and-comer to be reckoned with. While he engages in both rap and Afrobeats, YP made the choice here to display his trap talents. Surrounded by the proud representatives of the young Nigerian, British and even South African rap vanguard, he delivers a remarkable hip-hop performance on nine tracks, influenced as much by Atlanta trap music as by UK drill, the subgenre overtaking global hip-hop. 

Listen here

3 Th3 Album

Not3s

The 3 years it took making this debut of mine has been a hell of a journey and every time I’ve thought in the worst ways, I always remember that there’s actually people in the world that genuinely love and respect what I do,” Not3s says about 3 Th3 Album, the London rapper’s third project and debut LP. Here, positivity has won over pessimism, and the artist expresses this feeling on every track. From rap banger “One More Time” to the sweet Afropop sound of “Sugar,” Not3s proves that he knows how to make dance music, and that the English Afroswing scene has a bright future ahead of it. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

8 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine, PsychoYP, ATO et Not3s se chargent du rap tandis que Wizkid nous livre quatre nouveaux titres d'afrobeats. Les Mamaki Boys du Niger sont dans le patriotisme et le groupe Trans Kabar aussi, en nous emmenant au plus près des musiques volcaniques réunionnaises. Au plus fort de la fête, on n'évitera pas une petite dose de nostalgie avec le Ethiopian Hit Parade Vol. 2 et le projet mélancolique d'Una Rams.

Made In Lagos Deluxe

Wizkid

La star incontestable de l’afrobeats Wizkid revient avec une version deluxe de Made In Lagos, son quatrième album sorti en 2020. Ode sensuelle à sa ville natale, le projet avait été qualifié de “classique instantané” et avait pris tout son public de court, surprenant par sa maturité et son raffinement dans une industrie qui carbure pourtant aux hits rapides et faciles. Le Starboy ajoute quatre titres ultra-sexy à sa tracklist afro-disiaque, et invite le jeune Buju et un certain Justin Bieber sur « Mood » et un remix de « Essence ». 

Ecoutez ici

Patriote

Mamaki Boys

« Tradi-moderne », c’est ainsi que le trio nigérien Mamaki Boys définit sa musique. Sur Patriote, leur tout nouveau projet revalorisé par Sahel Sounds, le groupe explique vouloir « mettre la tradition dans le rap, les danses ancestrales, les choses que nos grands-parents faisaient au village ». Les six titres survoltés du projet, sortis au Niger en 2007, mêlent donc des instruments locaux comme le duma et le kalango aux flows presque ragga des rappeurs, sans évidemment oublier la veine revendicatrice du hip-hop. Le morceau « Kagani Kagani », par exemple, évoque le droit des citoyens à bénéficier des richesses engendrées par l’exploitation des ressources naturelles de leur pays. 

Ecoutez ici

hold me when it’s cold: a mixtape

Una Rams

hold me when it’s cold : a mixtape est un projet né de plusieurs mois passés en confinement, en plein hiver sud-africain. Una Rams a mis dans ce disque toutes les émotions et les humeurs qu’il a ressenti durant cette période étrange et intense. Le projet, son deuxième grand format depuis Wavy Baby (2018), retrace donc le manque d’intimité romantique et physique, l’isolement et le froid qui ont bercé le chanteur durant de longues semaines. La jeune scène alternative sud-africaine, représentée ici par des artistes comme Muzi, Blxckie ou Langa Mavuso, l’a accompagnée dans ce processus thérapeutique, pour livrer un résultat doux et réconfortant. 

Ecoutez ici

Ethiopian Hit Parade Vol​.​2

Ethiopiques Series

Suite à la sortie en 2016 du Ethiopian hit parade vol.1, Francis Falceto et Heavenly Sweetness poursuivent leur travail de réédition en vinyle de la série des Hit Parade éthiopiens. Après avoir publié une cinquantaine de 45 tours, le regretté Amha Eshèté, disparu cette année, entrepris en 1972 de rassembler ses meilleures productions dans une série d’albums devenus mythiques (et introuvables en originaux) ; cinq volumes d’Ethiopian Hit Parade parurent entre 1972 et 1973. Le volume 2 est aujourd’hui disponible réédité, comportant des titres des légendaires Getachew Kassa, Mulatu Astatqé, Alémayéhu Eshété et bien d’autres. 

Ecoutez ici

Side A

ATO

Avec Side A, le rappeur londonien nous livre un EP court et intense, qui laisse exposer sur cinq titres l’étendu de ses talents. Capable de rapper crûment sur « Ziamonds !! » et de chanter tendrement sur « No Caroline », il semble que l’artiste ne se mette aucune limite. Son originalité tient également aux productions utilisées, particulièrement versatile et quasi-robotiques. 

Ecoutez ici

MAZINE LA MOR

Trans Kabar

Pour son deuxième album, composé en pleine tournée, le groupe réunionnais Trans Kabar est allé chercher dans la densité. Les guitares électriques mordantes, venues du rock noise et passées par les motifs d’Afrique de l’Ouest, s’entremêlent avec la contrebasse et la batterie formées au free-jazz, tandis que le chant intense et cabré de Jean-Didier Hoareau guide ce panachage musical. Sur onze titres, le groupe décline ses influences maloya, rock et free-jazz. Et confirme son habilité à en faire une synthèse volcanique. Le clip majestueux de « Zis in Rogar » est d’ailleurs disponible.

Ecoutez ici

Euphoria

PsychoYP

Le rappeur d’Abuja dévoile un EP de plus, confirmant son aura de rookie affamé. Alors qu’on le savait bercé au rap comme à l’afrobeats, YP a ici fait le choix d’étaler uniquement ses talents de trappeur féroce. Entouré des fiers représentants de la jeune garde rap nigériane, anglaise et même sud-africaine avec J Molley, il livre sur ces neuf titres une performance hip-hop remarquable, influencée par la trap d’Atlanta autant que par le tournant UK drill qu’a pris le rap global sur les derniers mois. 

Ecoutez ici

3 Th3 Album

Not3s

« Les trois années qu’il m’a fallu pour faire cet album ont été un voyage d’enfer, et chaque fois que j’ai eu les pires pensées, je me suis toujours rappelé qu’il y a des gens dans le monde qui aiment sincèrement et respectent ce que je fais », écrit Not3s à propos de 3 Th3 Album, troisième projet et premier album du rappeur londonien. Les ondes positives ont donc eu raison du pessimisme, et cela se ressent sur la totalité des titres. Du banger rap « One More Time » à l’afropop mielleuse de « Sugar », Not3s prouve qu’il sait nous faire danser, et que la scène anglaise d’Afroswing a encore du futur.

Ecoutez ici 

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé