→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

7 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Jupiter & Okwess express nostalgic dreams of returning to the Congo, while Alfa Mist evokes similar feelings attached to his native Newham in the British capital. Blue Lab Beats also pays tribute to London's multiculturalism. Runtown brings together several African artists on his new R&B-tinged album while Toumani Diabaté united classical music from both Africa and Europe alongside the London Symphony Orchestra. This desire for unity is reflected by the union of Italian producer Khalab and the M'Berra Ensemble collective, made up of musicians living in a refugee camp on the Mauritanian border. Jaymie Silk also seeks to offer some joy to the youth in difficult times with his album Young, Broke & Fabulous.

Na Kozonga
Jupiter & Okwess

After numerous concerts all over the world, Jupiter had only one desire: to return to the Congo, the country of his ancestors, where he has always drawn his inspiration. Following the closing of the borders during lockdown, Jupiter was stuck in Paris and  produced an ode to the return to Africa, entitled “Na Kozonga,” which means “I’m going back.” Here, he returns to different African myths, like Mami Wata, which are still present today beyond the borders, from West Africa to South America, through to the Caribbean. The video for “Na Kozonga,” features Jupiter’s late father, Tata Bokondji, who appears for the last time with his son, when the artist was still in Paris.

Listen here

Sound God Fest Reloaded
Runtown

For this new album, the Nigerian singer brings together many African artists, such as Ghanaian DarkoVibes, Nigerians Bella Shmurda, Minz and Made Kuti and South Africans Emtee, Rowlene and Gemini Major. On an R&B soundscape, Runtown exposes different aspects of his personality, leaning into romanticism on “Tell Me What You Want” while declaring himself a “sex symbol” in the lust-driven track “Fuck Eh Up.”

Listen here

Bring Backs
Alfa Mist

With this new project, the Alfa Mist honors Newham, his native district in East London. The album features a variety of genres, including grime as well as hip-hop. He defines it as a way to explore his own musical education. This multi-instrumentalist also seems nostalgic on certain pieces, remembering his past as a drummer on the streets of London. Here, Jazz and hip-hop form a perfect harmony, tinged with melancholy throughout.

Listen here

Kôrôlén
Toumani Diabaté

Toumani Diabaté joins forces with the London Symphony Orchestra for an original project, sumptuously blending kora and classical music. “Kôrôlén” means “ancestral” in the Mandingo language. The term reflects the album’s arrangement, exquisitely combining ancient melodies dear to the djeli (griots) with arrangements designed for a Western symphony orchestra. The Malian giant and the conductor Clark Rundell were able to explore a thousand facets of this musical symbiosis together on the stage of the Barbican Center in London where this concert was performed and recorded back in 2008.

Listen here

M’berra
M’berra Ensemble

The M’berra Ensemble is a community of Arab and Tuareg musicians bearing the same name as their refugee camp on the border of Mali, which hosts about 50,000 people. Music is a tool of solidarity in this context, aiming to restore the dignity of musicians, while preserving their identities. This album also supports the Intersos humanitarian project, an Italian aid organization working worldwide to help victims of armed conflicts. For the collaboration, the Italian electro producer Khalab was accompanied by the ethnologist Barbara Fiore in order to better understand the Tuareg traditions. It marks a true bridge between the past and the present. The vinyl edition of this album is accompanied by photos of the musicians of the M’berra camp, taken by the French photographer Jean-Marc Caimi.

Listen here

The Sounds of Afrotonica
Blue Lab Beats

Consisting of multi-instrumentalist Mr DM and producer NK-OK, the duo combines groove, jazz and funk. Blue Lab Beats is inspired by the pioneers of hip-hop but also by the musical diversity of the African diasporas, like today’s multicultural London. NK-OK explains: “Most of our music is instrumental, so for us that makes it accessible.” He adds: “We grew up listening to everything we could get our hands on: from soul, funk, jazz, Afrobeat, highlife, grime. Our parents used to play all this music at home all the time; it’s an important part of London’s culture. We wanted to put that soul and energy into our releases.” Despite the considerable diversity of musical genres on their new album, Blue Lab Beats wonderfully holds a common thread together, from the jazz of “Sweet Shop” to the electro of “Out of the Ruins” to the Afro hip-hop of “Soul Makosa.”

Listen here

Young, Broke & Fabulous
Jaymie Silk

The French-Canadian producer and DJ dedicates his new project, Young, Broke & Fabulous, to optimism. A vibrant and colorful album, the cover sends a message of hope to the youth who are among the main victims of this health crisis. This blend of house music with French Touch, funk and reggaeton transports us to a joyful universe, contrasting with the news, which seems full of precariousness and suicide. Jaymie Silk reminds us that it is still possible, despite everything, to be “poor and fabulous.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

7 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, Jupiter & Okwess expriment leur nostalgie, rêvant de retourner au Congo, tout comme Alfa Mist, éternellement attaché à son Newham natal dans la capitale britannique. Blue Lab Beats rend également hommage au multiculturalisme de Londres. Quant à Runtown, il réunit plusieurs artistes africains sur son nouvel album teinté de R&B, à l’instar de Toumani Diabaté, rassemblant les musiques classiques d’Afrique et d’Europe, auprès du London Symphony Orchestra. Ce désir d’unité est également parfaitement illustré par l’union du producteur italien Khalab et du collectif M’Berra Ensemble, constitué de musiciens vivant dans un camp de réfugiés à la frontière mauritanienne. Jaymie Silk tente également d’apporter un peu de joie dans la vie difficile de la jeunesse, avec son album Young, Broke & Fabulous.

Na Kozonga
Jupiter & Okwess

Suite à ses nombreux concerts dans le monde entier, Jupiter n’avait qu’une envie, rentrer au pays de ses ancêtres, le Congo, d’où il tire depuis toujours son inspiration. Coincé à Paris durant le confinement, suite à la fermeture des frontières, il produit une ode au retour en Afrique, intitulée « Na Kozonga », qui signifie « je rentre ». Il revient sur différents mythes africains, à l’instar de Mami Wata, encore aujourd’hui présents au-delà des frontières, de l’Afrique de l’Ouest à l’Amérique du Sud, en passant par les Caraïbes. Un projet particulièrement émouvant, puisque dans le clip  « Na Kozonga », le père de Jupiter, Tata Bokondji, apparaît pour la dernière fois en compagnie de son fils, avant son décès, lorsque l’artiste se trouvait encore à Paris.

Écoutez ici

Sound God Fest Reloaded
Runtown

Pour ce nouvel album, le chanteur nigérian réunit de nombreux artistes africains, à l’instar du Ghanéen DarkoVibes, des Nigérians Bella Shmurda, Minz et Made Kuti ou encore des Sud-Africains Emtee, Rowlene et Gemini Major. Sur des sonorités R&B, Runtown expose différents aspects de sa personnalité, assumant son romantisme dans « Tell Me What You Want » tout en se déclarant « sex symbol » dans le titre lubrique « Fuck Eh Up ».

Écoutez ici

Bring Backs
Alfa Mist

Avec ce nouveau projet, le musicien revisite sa jeunesse en mettant à l’honneur Newham, son quartier natal, situé dans l’est de Londres. On y trouve une diversité de genres musicaux, notamment du grime ainsi que du hip-hop. Il définit son nouveau projet comme un moyen d’explorer son éducation musicale. Ce multi-instrumentiste semble également nostalgique, se remémorant son passé de batteur, dans les rues de Londres. Jazz et hip-hop y forment une parfaite harmonie, teintée de mélancolie.

Écoutez ici

Kôrôlén
Toumani Diabaté

Toumani Diabaté s’associe au London Symphony Orchestra pour un projet inédit, mêlant somptueusement kora et musique classique. « Kôrôlén » signifie « ancestral » en langue mandingue. Ce terme est donc à l’image de cet album, réunissant de manière exquise d’anciennes mélodies chères aux djeli (griots), ainsi que des arrangements conçus pour orchestre symphonique occidental. Le géant malien et le chef d’orchestre Clark Rundell ont pu explorer ensemble mille facettes de cette symbiose musicale, sur la scène du Barbican Center de Londres où ce concert a été donné et enregistré en 2008. Toumani Diabaté souhaite donc que l’on change de regard sur la musique malienne : « Notre musique est plus ancienne que Bach. »

Écoutez ici

M’berra
M’berra Ensemble

Le M’berra Ensemble est une communauté de musiciens arabes et touaregs portant le même nom que leur camp de réfugiés, à la frontière du Mali, accueillant environ 50 000 personnes. La musique y constitue un outil de solidarité, visant à restaurer la dignité de ces musiciens, tout en préservant leur identité. Ce projet permet également de soutenir les projets humanitaires d’Intersos, organisation italienne d’aide humanitaire, travaillant dans le monde entier afin d’aider les victimes de conflits armés. Pour cette collaboration, le producteur électro italien Khalab a ainsi été accompagné par l’ethnologue Barbara Fiore, afin de mieux saisir les traditions touaregs. Véritable pont entre le passé et le présent, l’édition vinyle de cet album est accompagnée par les photos des musiciens du camp de M’berra, prises par le photographe français Jean-Marc Caimi.

Écoutez ici

The Sounds of Afrotonica
Blue Lab Beats

Constitué par le multi-instrumentiste Mr DM ainsi que le producteur NK-OK, le duo combine groove, jazz et funk. Blue Lab Beats s’inspire considérablement des pionniers du hip-hop mais aussi de la diversité musicale des diasporas africaines, à l’image du Londres multiculturel d’aujourd’hui. NK-OK explique ainsi : « L’essentiel de notre musique est instrumentale, pour nous ça la rend accessible. » Il ajoute : « Nous avons grandi en écoutant tout ce qui nous tombait sous la main : de la soul, au funk en passant par le jazz, l’afrobeat, le highlife, le grime. Nos parents jouaient en permanence toutes ces musiques chez nous ; c’est une partie importante de la culture londonienne. Nous avons souhaité mettre cette âme et cette énergie dans nos sorties. » Malgré la diversité considérable des genres musicaux présents dans leur nouvel album, Blue Lab Beats tient à merveille un fil conducteur, du jazz de « Sweet Shop » à l’électro d’ « Out of the Ruins », en passant par le hip-hop afro de « Soul Makosa ».

Écoutez ici

Young, Broke & Fabulous
Jaymie Silk

Le producteur et DJ franco-canadien consacre son nouveau projet, Young, Broke & Fabulous, signifiant « Jeunes, pauvres et fabuleux », à l’optimisme. Très colorée, sa pochette d’album renvoie à un message d’espoir destiné à la jeunesse qui fait partie des principales victimes de cette crise sanitaire. Ce condensé de house à la sauce French Touch, de funk et de reggaeton nous transporte vers un univers joyeux, contrastant avec l’actualité tragique, entre précarité et suicides. Jaymie Silk nous rappelle donc à quel point il est encore possible, malgré tout, d’être « pauvres et fabuleux ».

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé