→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 new albums you should listen to this week

This week holds innumerable surprises. Between new albums and reissues, from Djibouti to Norway, through Egypt and Peru, we have concocted a treasure trove of a list.

Something Else
Mr Eazi

The Nigerian music giant returns with the much-anticipated EP, Something Else. He explains: “This project was inspired by Kel P and Killertunes, who kept coming to meet me in Accra until I finally recorded ‘The Don.’ And that opened the door for me to go back into the studio.” The single “The Don” is a true exploration of Mr Eazi‘s growing success. He says: “I spent the whole year working on building emPawa Africa and turning into Don Eazi, the tycoon.” This new EP promises a return to the smooth fusion of Afrobeats and highlife.

Listen here

With Love
Omar Khorshid

The WeWantSounds label have re-released the album With Love by one of the greatest guitarists of the Arab world, Omar Khorshid, an artist who played with the likes of Abdel Halim Hafez, of the “fourth pyramid of Egypt” as well as Oum Kalthoum and Farid El Atrache. Here, we are able to rediscover a true monument in the history of fusion. This cornerstone of pan-Arab music includes humorous arrangements, sounding as modern as ever decades after its release. His unique playing style seems to reflect his life as an immigrant, having left Egypt in the early 1970s following political unrest, to settle in Lebanon, before moving to Syria in 1978.

Listen here

Saturday Night – South African Disco Pop Hits – 1981 to 1987
Various Artists

Entitled Saturday Night – South African Disco Pop Hits – 1981 to 1897, this is an irresistible pop and disco compilation from the Cultures of Soul label, paying tribute to many South African artists and hit tracks.  Brenda & The Big Dudes grace the record twice on “No No No Senor” and “Love Action.” Supa Frika is also present with “Let’s Get On It” and “Love Satisfaction,” a track imbued with his signature, irresistible romanticism. Margino contributes “Holiday” and “You and Me,” which at times recall the character of Afro-electro. Others  honored include: Black Five, Soundburger, Vukamai and the Hot Soul Singers, promising us “Good Vibes” from start to finish.

Listen here

Dialogue.
Ol’ Burger Beats & Vuyo

Ol’ Burger Beats, the master of lo-fi in Norway, is once again teaming up with rapper Vuyo for their new album, Dialogue, following the success of their 2020 EP All Yours.. The latter creates a symbiosis between hip hop, jazz and soul, aiming to sublimate Vuyo’s soft rap, which blends in sharp social critique. Their interplay is full of reflections on current debates, in the era of Black Lives Matter. They  expose the considerable number of Black men murdered on “Brothers,” while mocking certain paradoxes in “Summer of George,” where Blackface is evoked: “You see I’m so not racist that I don’t see racists.

Listen here

AXUXA
QOQEQA

The Peruvian QOQEQA transports us to the land of Afro-Latin polyrhythms via electronic music, exploring the sounds of his ancestors: “This album is a consequence of my Peruvian roots, the coast, the Andes and the Amazon jungle.” He adds: “On this record, you can hear African patterns on ‘Omega,’ ‘Qoqeqa’ and ‘Puntea,’ Andean influences on ‘Latido,’ ‘Tutume’ and ‘Ama,’ tribal and Amazonian textures on ‘888,’ ‘CalaXucla’ and ‘Kshanti,’ and a modern mix with dembow on ‘Kilo’ and ‘Momposina’.” This album represents a second wind for electronic music.

Listen here

Super Somali Sounds from the Gulf of Tadjoura
4 Mars

The label Ostinato Records plunges us into Djibouti’s with the release of the 4 mars group’s album, entitled Super Somali Sounds from the Gulf of Tadjoura. The name of these artists echoes the date of the founding of the Rassemblement Populaire pour le Progrès Party (RPP), which is still in power today. This party considered music as necessary in order to achieve independence, thus placing artists under the wing of the state. The recordings of this album were all made in the studios of the Djibouti Radio Television Broadcasting (RTD), but also during live performances at the national theater. It is therefore a real historical gem, revealing the little-known past of Djibouti.

Listen here

Conflict of Interest
Ghetts

The rapper Ghetts continues his campaign on the British music scene, praised by many media outlets, including The Guardian. The artist is perceived as one of the most important grime talents and notably refused, at the end of the 2000s, to integrate pop into his sound. This would have prevented him from achieving higher success, but we are now in a new era. With his album Conflict of Interest, Ghetts asks us to accept our contradictions: “At first I was trying to present just one version of myself — But then I got halfway through the album and realized that I’m a very conflicted human being. I had a real moment of clarity where I realized that all these different qualities make you who you are, from anger to joy to pain. This album helped me learn to embrace that.”

Listen here

O céu é velho há muito tempo (variations)
Lucas Santtana

The Brazilian singer and composer Lucas Santtana has released a soothing EP of bonus tracks from his latest album. A reflection on the links between intimacy and the social situation in Brazil, this artist leads a meditation on sublime political songs that are full of poetry. Faithful to the tradition of the tropicalists, Lucas Santtana develops a soft and positive ethical stance in guitar-voice, and places his love as well as collective resistance in opposition to the hatred of Bolsonaro’s government. His title “Uma (Criança)” gently evokes the joy of the arrival of a child in the world, while “Logout” encourages women to free themselves from the weight of social networks.

Listen here

Destination: Known/Paradise
Dâm-FunK

Dam-FunK is back with its two-track EP Destination: Known/Paradise, released on its own label, Glydezone Recordings, which was founded in 2016. This master of funk unveils “Destination:Known,” a seductive track that lulls listeners with soft percussion while kicking up the energy on “Paradise.” This track offers an exquisite mix of funk and jazz, reminiscent of the rhythms of the 80s, although he defines his style as “modern funk.”

Listen here


Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 9 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine nous réserve d’innombrables surprises. Entre nouveaux albums et rééditions, de Djibouti à la Norvège, en passant par l’Egypte et le Pérou, nous vous avons concocté une liste pour ne rien manquer.

Something Else
Mr Eazi

Le géant de la scène musicale nigériane revient avec un EP très attendu, intitulé Something Else. Il explique : « Ce projet a été inspiré par Kel P et Killertunes, qui n’ont cessé de venir me rencontrer à Accra jusqu’à ce que j’enregistre finalement “The Don”. Et cela m’a ouvert la porte pour retourner en studio ». Le single “The Don” correspond à une véritable exploration du succès grandissant de Mr Eazi. Il affirme : « J’ai passé toute l’année à travailler à la construction d’emPawa Africa et à me transformer en Don Eazi, le magnat. » Ce nouvel EP promet ainsi un retour à la fusion lisse de l’afrobeats et du highlife.

Écoutez ici

With Love
Omar Khorshid

Le label WeWantSounds réédite l’album With Love de l’un des plus grands guitaristes du monde arabe, Omar Khorshid. L’album de cet accompagnateur sur scène d’Abdel Halim Hafez, de la « quatrième pyramide d’Egypte », à savoir Oum Kalthoum ou encore de Farid El Atrache, nous permet de redécouvrir un véritable monument de fusion. Cette pierre angulaire de la musique panarabe nous surprend par ses arrangements culottés, sonnant toujours aussi modernes des décennies après leur sortie. Son jeu hétérodoxe semble à l’image de sa vie d’immigré, quittant l’Egypte au début des années 70, suite à des troubles politiques, pour s’installer au Liban, avant de vivre en Syrie en 1978.

Écoutez ici

Saturday Night – South African Disco Pop Hits – 1981 to 1987
Various Artists

Intitulée Saturday Night – South African Disco Pop Hits – 1981 to 1897, cette compilation du label Cultures of Soul nous fait danser sur des sonorités irrésistibles de pop et de disco. Elle rend hommage à de nombreux artistes sud-africains, aux tubes légendaires. Brenda & The Big Dudes nous éblouissent à deux reprises, avec leurs titres « No No No Senor  » ainsi que « Love Action ». Supa Frika est également mis à l’honneur avec « Let’s Get On It » et « Love Satisfaction », nous envoûtant par son irrésistible romantisme. Margino nous charme également avec « Holiday » et « You and Me », ce dernier titre nous faisant véritablement penser par moments à de l’afro-électro. Nous y trouvons également Black Five, Soundburger, Vukamai ou encore les Hot Soul Singers, nous promettant des ondes positives avec « Good Vibes ».

Écoutez ici

Dialogue.
Ol’ Burger Beats & Vuyo

Ol’ Burger Beats, maître de la lo-fi en Norvège, s’associe une nouvelle fois au rappeur Vuyo, suite au succès de leur EP All Yours, paru en 2020, pour leur nouvel album, intitulé Dialogue. Ce dernier met en symbiose hip hop, jazz et soul, visant à sublimer le doux rap de Vuyo, ne cessant de nous surprendre. Ces artistes nous invitent à rejoindre leur dialogue, empli de réflexions sur les débats actuels, à l’ère de Black Lives Matter. Ils insistent ainsi sur le nombre considérable d’hommes noirs assassinés dans « Brothers » , tout en se moquant de certains paradoxes dans « Summer of George » , où le Black face est évoqué : « Tu vois je suis tellement pas raciste que je ne vois pas les racistes. »

Écoutez ici

AXUXA
QOQEQA

Le Péruvien QOQEQA nous transporte sur des polyrythmies afro-latines à travers la musique électronique, explorant la musique de ses ancêtres :  « Cet album est la conséquence de mes racines péruviennes, de la côte, des Andes et de la jungle amazonienne. » Il ajoute : « Dans ce disque, on peut entendre des patterns africains dans les morceaux “Omega”, “Qoqeqa” et “Puntea”, les influences des Andes dans “Latido”, “Tutume” et “Ama”, les textures tribales et amazoniennes sur “888”, “CalaXucla” et “Kshanti”, et un mélange moderne avec du dembow sur “Kilo” et “Momposina”. » Cet album correspond ainsi à un véritable nouveau souffle au sein de la musique électronique.

Écoutez ici

Super Somali Sounds from the Gulf of Tadjoura
4 Mars

Le label Ostinato Records nous plonge dans le passé de Djibouti en sortant l’album du groupe 4 Mars, intitulé Super Somali Sounds from the Gulf of Tadjoura. Le nom de ces artistes fait écho à la date de la fondation du Rassemblement Populaire pour le Progrès (RPP), encore actuellement au pouvoir. Ce parti considérait la musique comme nécessaire afin de mener à bien l’indépendance, plaçant ainsi ce domaine sous l’aile de l’Etat. Les enregistrements de cet album ont tous été réalisés au sein des studios de la Radiodiffusion Télévision de Djibouti (RTD), mais aussi durant des représentations en direct, au théâtre national. Cet album constitue donc une véritable perle historique, révélant le passé peu connu de Djibouti.

Écoutez ici

Conflict of Interest
Ghetts

Le rappeur Ghetts semble de plus en plus s’imposer sur la scène musicale britannique, encensé par de nombreux médias, à l’instar de The Guardian. Celui qui est perçu comme l’un des talents les plus importants du grime avait refusé, à la fin des années 2000, d’intégrer de la pop au sein de ce genre musical. Cette spécificité lui aurait ainsi empêché d’accéder au succès mais cette époque est révolue. Avec son album Conflict of Interest, Ghetts nous invite à accepter nos contradictions : « Au début, j’essayais de ne présenter qu’une seule version de moi-même. Mais à la moitié de l’album, je me suis rendu compte que je suis un être humain très conflictuel. J’ai eu un vrai moment de clarté où j’ai réalisé que toutes ces différentes qualités font de vous ce que vous êtes, de la colère à la joie en passant par la douleur. Cet album m’a permis d’apprendre à accepter cela. »

Écoutez ici

O céu é velho há muito tempo (variations)
Lucas Santtana

Le chanteur et compositeur brésilien Lucas Santtana nous apaise avec son EP de titres bonus issus de son dernier album. Se questionnant sur les liens entre l’intime et la situation sociale au Brésil, cet artiste nous amène à méditer sur de sublimes balades politiques et pleines de poésie. Fidèle à la tradition des tropicalistes, Lucas Santtana adoucit les mœurs en guitare-voix, opposant l’amour ainsi que la résistance collective à la haine du gouvernement de Bolsonaro. Son titre « Uma (Criança) » évoque avec douceur la joie de l’arrivée au monde d’un enfant tandis que « Logout » incite les femmes à se libérer du poids des réseaux sociaux.

Écoutez ici

Destination: Known/Paradise
Dâm-FunK

Dam-FunK revient avec son EP Destination: Known/Paradise à deux titres, qui sort avec son propre label, Glydezone Recordings, fondé en 2016. Ce maître de la funk nous séduit avec « Destination:Known », qui nous berce avec ses douces percussions tandis qu’il nous fait vibrer avec « Paradise ». Ce titre mêle de façon exquise funk et jazz, tout en nous rappelant les rythmes funky des années 80, bien qu’il définisse son style comme du « modern funk ».

Écoutez ici


Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé