→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
1 week ago

QOQEQA releases the first LP from the Kebrada label

Kebrada aims to explore Afro-Latin polyrhythms through electronic music. First to release an album on Dengue Dengue Dengue’s label is the Peruvian artist QOQEQA, with the track “888”.

Daniel Valle-Riestra is part of the generation of experimental electronic producers who place Latin America at the center of the world map. By coupling the great variety of Afro-Latin rhythms with the infinite possibilities of machines, the producer reinterprets tribal groove in a minimalist way, following in the footsteps of the masters Dengue Dengue Dengue. After the inaugural compilation, Discos en 3 / Cuartos, QOQEQA has gotten the ball rolling on the Kebrada label with a solo record, entitled AXUXA.

“It’s a tremendous honor,” he tells us with pride. “Rafael and Felipe (Dengue Dengue Dengue) have extensive experience, and with this album I feel I am collaborating with their vision to expand and promote this sound.” Passionate about what the label has planned to offer in the coming months, the young producer has studied the sounds of his ancestors in 11 tracks that resemble his journey. “This album is the consequence of my Peruvian roots, from the coast, andes highlands, and amazon jungle. It is not just Afro, but you can hear the Afro elements in previous QOQEQA singles ‘Uva’ and ‘Toroidal.’ In this album you can hear Afro patterns in the tracks ‘Omega,’ ‘Qoqeqa,’ and ‘Puntea.’  The Andean influences can be heard in ‘Latido,’ ‘Tutume,’ and ‘Ama,’ while the Amazonian and tribal textures are present in ‘CalaXucla,’ ‘Kshanti,’ ‘888,’ plus a modern blend including dembow on ‘Kilo’ and ‘Momposina.’”

QOQEQA – 888

In addition to these folkloric and traditional influences, QOQEQA loves “listening to dub, breakbeats, dembow, IDM, footwork, pioneering music with heavy bass and unique rhythms,” the kind of sounds that have permeated his musical culture, blending in today’s sounds and giving him a minimalist identity. Rather than sampling old vinyl records or musicians encountered while traveling, QOQEQA distinguishes himself by recording his own acoustic instruments: “I enjoy the risk of not quantizing the rhythm patterns or melodies, so it can show the human nuance and groove of my playing.” In QOQEQA, Kebrada bet on the right horse, assuming the delicate responsibility of writing a future vision for electronic music.

The album will be released on February 19, 2021 on the Kebrada label. Pre-order it here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 1 semaine

QOQEQA signe le premier LP du label Kebrada

Le jeune label Kebrada se donne pour mission d’explorer les polyrythmies afro-latines à travers la musique électronique. Premier auteur d’un album solo sur la structure de Dengue Dengue Dengue, le Péruvien QOQEQA nous offre le titre « 888 » en avant-première.

Daniel Valle-Riestra fait partie de cette génération de producteurs qui place l’Amérique Latine au centre de la mappemonde des expérimentations électroniques. En couplant la grande variété des rythmes afro-latins aux possibilités infinies des machines, le producteur réinterprète le groove tribal de façon minimaliste, dans le sillon des maîtres en la matière Dengue Dengue Dengue. Après la compilation introductive Discos en 3​/​Cuartos, QOQEQA inaugure un nouveau volet du label Kebrada avec un premier essai en solo intitulé AXUXA.

« C’est un immense honneur », nous dit-il sans dissimuler sa fierté. « Rafael et Felipe (Dengue Dengue Dengue) ont une vaste expérience, et avec cet album, je sens que je vais dans le sens de leur vision pour développer et promouvoir ce son. » Déjà passionné par ce que le label a prévu d’offrir dans les prochains mois, le jeune producteur étudie le son de ses ancêtres à travers 11 titres qui lui ressemblent. « Cet album est la conséquence de mes racines péruviennes, de la côte, des Andes et de la jungle amazonienne », nuance-t-il avant de découper son opus en plusieurs catégories. « Dans ce disque, on peut entendre des patterns africains dans les morceaux “Omega”, “Qoqeqa” et “Puntea”, les influences des Andes dans “Latido”, “Tutume” et “Ama”, les textures tribales et amazoniennes sur “888”, “CalaXucla” et “Kshanti”, et un mélange moderne avec du dembow sur “Kilo” et “Momposina”. »

QOQEQA – 888

En plus de ces influences folkloriques et traditionnelles, QOQEQA nous dit « écouter du dub, du breakbeat, du dembow, de l’IDM, du footwork, de la musique innovante avec des basses lourdes et des rythmes marqués », des sons qui ont envahi la culture musicale du personnage pour aujourd’hui se fondre dans sa musique et asseoir cette identité minimaliste qui le caractérise. Plutôt que de sampler des vieux vinyles ou des musiciens rencontrés au détour d’un voyage, QOQEQA se distingue en enregistrant lui-même les instruments acoustiques : « j’aime prendre ce risque de ne pas reproduire les motifs rythmiques ou les mélodies, afin de pouvoir montrer la nuance humaine et le groove de mon jeu. » En QOQEQA, Kebrada a définitivement misé sur le bon cheval pour endosser la délicate responsabilité d’écrire un futur possible pour la musique électronique.

L’album sortira le 19 février 2021 sur le label Kebrada. Pré-commandez-le ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé