→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
1 week ago

Promises, Pharoah Sanders and Floating Points’ bewitching jazz improv

Floating Points, the experimental electronic musician, and Pharoah Sanders, the legendary saxophonist, combine on a hypnotic new album Promises, which also features The London Symphony Orchestra.

Pharoah Sanders and Sam Shepherd, better known as Floating Points, have concocted a real gem: a whirlwind of jazz, classical and electronic music. Although it is only one track, lasting 46 minutes, the spontaneity of this recording injects captivating authenticity into the record. An inhabited performance, one intercut with the space Floating Points leavies, inviting the listener to embark on a dream-filled journey. Sam Shepherd defines his collaboration with Pharoah Sanders as follows: “We’re both searchers. We’re always looking for music that can take us someplace higher.”

As for Pharoah Sanders, he commented: “People think I don’t talk much, but I try to speak through my music.” The great figure of American jazz also left remarks about his collaborator: “I think Sam is a great musician, and one of these geniuses just walking around on this earth. I love the way he plays, and I love the way he writes.” Sam Shepherd repaid the compliment: “There’s something about the saxophone, about the way it amplifies the player’s breathing that makes it feel like you’re inside their body. Listening to Pharoah play on this piece, it was like the instrument was an extension of his being, like it was a megaphone for his soul.

Despite the health crisis, the London Symphony Orchestra was able to take part in the recording session which took place in George Martin’s mythical AIR studio during the summer of 2020. While respecting social distancing, the masked musicians used a hundred microphones to bring Floating Points’ arrangements to life. He defines this particular moment as follows: “The sound of that orchestra playing with so much space between them felt like this audible manifestation of the times we were living through. It was wide and distant and loose, and as soon as I heard them playing, it was like the last piece of a jigsaw puzzle falling into place.

Pre-order the album here before its March 26 release, via Luaka Bop.

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promises (Album Teaser)
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

Promises, l’impro envoûtante et jazzy de Pharoah Sanders et de Floating Points

Floating Points, musicien expérimental, et Pharoah Sanders, saxophoniste légendaire, nous hypnotise avec l’album Promises, sublimé par The London Symphony Orchestra.

Pharoah Sanders et Sam Shepherd, plus connu en tant que Floating Points, nous concoctent un tourbillon de jazz, de musique classique et électronique. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse que d’une seule et unique piste, durant 46 minutes, la spontanéité de cet enregistrement nous captive par son authenticité. Ces performances habitées, mais aussi agréablement accompagnées par les silences de Floating Points, nous emportent volontiers dans un voyage onirique. Sam Shepherd définit ainsi sa collaboration avec Pharoah Sanders : « Nous sommes tous les deux des chercheurs. Nous cherchons toujours une musique qui peut nous emmener plus loin. »

Quant à Pharoah Sanders, il affirme : « Les gens pensent que je parle peu mais j’essaie de le faire à travers ma musique. » Cette grande figure du jazz états-unien décrit ainsi Floating Points : « Je pense que Sam est un grand musicien, l’un de ces génies dont les pieds foulent la Terre. J’adore la façon dont il joue et son écriture. » Sam Shepherd complimente tout autant son partenaire : « Il y a quelque chose avec le saxophone, avec la façon dont il amplifie la respiration de celui qui en joue et qui vous donne l’impression que vous êtes à l’intérieur de son corps. En entendant Pharoah jouer sur cette pièce, c’était comme si l’instrument était une extension de son corps, un mégaphone pour son âme. »

Malgré la crise sanitaire, le London Symphony Orchestra a pu participer à une session d’enregistrement au sein du mythique studio AIR de George Martin, durant l’été 2020. Tout en respectant la distanciation sociale, les musiciens masqués ont utilisé une centaine de micros afin de donner vie aux arrangements de Floating Points. Ce dernier définit ainsi ce moment particulier : « Le son de cet orchestre jouant avec autant d’espace entre les musiciens était une manifestation sonore de ces temps étranges que nous vivons. C’était ample et impressionnant et une fois que je les ai entendus jouer, c’était comme si j’avais trouvé la dernière pièce du puzzle. »

Précommandez l’album ici, en attendant sa sortie le 26 mars, via Luaka Bop.

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promises (Album Teaser)
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé