→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Ostinato Records is set to release his third episode of Funaná music
News
Ostinato Records is set to release his third episode of Funaná music

After the excellent compilation Synthesize the Soul and the reissue of the best album of Grupo Pilon, Ostinato Records continues to releasing music of Cape Verde and its European diaspora with an essential collection. In […]

Ostinato Records to release compilation dedicated to Cape Verdean band Pilon
News
Ostinato Records to release compilation dedicated to Cape Verdean band Pilon

Following Two Niles To Sing A Melody: The Violins and Synths of Sudan, the Grammy-nominated record label is releasing a new compilation featuring the music of Luxembourg-based Cape Verdean band Pilon. Since 2016 and his first release, […]

5 albums you need to hear this week
News
5 albums you need to hear this week

A list of albums released this week, in no particular order. With Fokn Bois, Star Band de Dakar, IAMDDB, Deena Abdelwahed and Scraaatch. Fokn Bois Afrobeats LOL  Ghanaian duo FOKN Bois are celebrated for their most unconventional way of […]

Ostinato Records releases Star Band de Dakar’s most psychedelic afro-cuban tracks
News
Ostinato Records releases Star Band de Dakar's most psychedelic afro‑cuban tracks

Celebrating the 60th anniversary of the cuban revolution, Ostinato Records releases Psicodelia Afro-Cubana de Senegal, a selection of six of the most psychedelic afro-cuban songs of the renowned Star Band de Dakar. In the 1970’s, Afro-Cuban music […]

Ostinato Records: musical storytelling to rebuild ruined countries
Discover
Ostinato Records: musical storytelling to rebuild ruined countries

As Ostinato Records is about to release this autumn its newest compilation about the forgotten yet golden era of Sudanese music, we had a conversation with the label’s founder, Vik Sohonie. At the time of our interview […]

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed
Abu Obaida Hassan, the Mysterious Pioneer of Sudanese’ Shaigiya Music
News
Abu Obaida Hassan, the Mysterious Pioneer of Sudanese' Shaigiya Music

Premiere: listen to an extract from Ostinato’s compilation Abu Obaida Hassan & His Tambour: The Shaigiya Sound of Sudan. Brought to you by the Grammy-nominated team behind last year’s “Sweet As Broken Dates”, the first global […]

The 25 Best Reissues of 2017
List / Guide
The 25 Best Reissues of 2017

The Pan African Music team select their favorite 2017 reissues. Compilations, vinyl reissues and exclusive archive gems: a short focus on 25 timeless albums that made our year. Listen to selections from this list on […]

Synthesize the Soul: the advent of synthesizers in Cape Verdean music
News
Synthesize the Soul: the advent of synthesizers in Cape Verdean music

The New-Yorker record label Ostinato Records releases the Synthesize the Soul: Astro-Atlantic Hypnotica From the Cape Verde Islands 1973-1988.

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le label Ostinato et le Groupe RTD enregistrent un album historique à Djibouti
Interview
Le label Ostinato et le Groupe RTD enregistrent un album historique à Djibouti

Ostinato collabore aujourd’hui avec le Groupe RTD pour enregistrer un véritable album studio, une fois n’est pas coutume

Ostinato Records écrit son troisième chapitre dédié au funaná
News
Ostinato Records écrit son troisième chapitre dédié au funaná

Après l’excellente compilation Synthesize the soul et la récente réédition du meilleur de Grupo Pilon, Ostinato Records continue de raconter l’histoire culturelle du Cap-Vert et de sa diaspora européenne à travers un recueil essentiel.  A […]

Ostinato Records de retour au Cap-Vert avec une compilation du groupe Pilon
News
Ostinato Records de retour au Cap‑Vert avec une compilation du groupe Pilon

Après deux compilations consacrées au Soudan, le label Ostinato revient sur l’archipel et annonce une nouvelle compilation du groupe Pilon, des Cap-Verdiens émigrés au Luxembourg, . Fondé par Vik Sohonie en 2016, Ostinato Records est un label […]

Les 5 albums à écouter cette semaine
News
Les 5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, on vous propose une sélection d’albums et EPs sortis sur les plateformes. Avec Fokn Bois, Star Band de Dakar, IAMDDB, Deena Abdelwahed et Scraaatch. Fokn Bois Afrobeats LOL  Le duo, composé des rappeurs […]

Ostinato Records sort les morceaux les plus psychédéliques du Star Band de Dakar
News
Ostinato Records sort les morceaux les plus psychédéliques du Star Band de Dakar

Pour le soixantenaire de la révolution cubaine, le label Ostinato Records lance Psicodelia Afro-Cubana de Senegal, une sélection des six morceaux afro-cubains les plus psychédéliques du fameux Star Band de Dakar. Dans les années 1970, […]

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé
Ostinato Records : storytelling en musique pour pays en détresse
Interview
Ostinato Records : storytelling en musique pour pays en détresse

À l’occasion de la sortie de la prochaine compilation d’Ostinato Records consacrée à l’âge d’or – et injustement oublié – de la musique soudanaise, on a discuté avec le fondateur du label, Vik Sohonie. Lorsque Vik Sohonie répond à mon […]

Abu Obaida Hassan, le mystérieux pionnier de la musique Shaigiya
News
Abu Obaida Hassan, le mystérieux pionnier de la musique Shaigiya

Écoutez en exclusivité un extrait de la compilation Abu Obaida Hassan & His Tambour: The Shaigiya Sound of Sudan. Le label Ostinato Records, derrière notamment le projet Sweet As Broken Dates nommés aux Grammy Awards, présente […]

Les 25 meilleures rééditions de 2017
Article
Les 25 meilleures rééditions de 2017

En cette fin d’année la rédaction vous propose une sélection coup de cœur des rééditions de 2017.  Entre compilations, rééditions vinyles et travail d’archives inédits, 2017 fut riche en retrouvailles avec des artistes et des albums […]