→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

5 albums to discover this week

This week, The Ano Nobo Quartet pays tribute to the great poet, K.O.G engages the Black Atlantic, Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy team up, Ozadya takes us back to the club and Zoocci Coke Dope shares his anxiogenic rap.

The Strings of São Domingos

The Ano Nobo Quartet

On The Strings of São Domingos, The Ano Nobo Quartet delivers a fresh take on Koladera, a guitar-driven, subtly rhythmic sound of a lighter spirit. This album was recorded in early 2021 in three locations on Santiago Island: at homes, by the ocean, and on the volcanic hills of Cape Verde. This album is also a tribute to the great poetic and revolutionary figures of the 1970s common to this part of Africa, José Carlos Schwarz and João Bernardo Vieira.

Listen here.

Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots

Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy

The Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy project – an unlikely alliance between a German electro trio and a fiery Egyptian rapper and poet – have crossed swords once more. After the acclaimed EPs Darraje and The Act of Falling from the 8th Floor, the quartet has just released another commun project. It’s eight tracks of pulsating spoken word supported by thick layers of digital sound, at times anxiety-inducing, always powerful.

Listen here.

Zone 6, Agege

K.O.G (Kweku of Ghana)

Zone 6 Agege – the album title, K.O.G. shares, refers to a little coastal suburb in Accra the capital of Ghana, where he “grew up and the vibe, culture and social structures enhanced and developed my creativity and love for art,” adding that the album is his “ode or a tribute to my nature, nurture and future” – is his first solo release for Heavenly Sweetness. Zone 6 Agege is a dramatic development: as much homage to the Accra-born artist’s musical roots, as an expansive engagement with music of the Black Atlantic, most notably hip-hop and dub/reggae.

Listen here.

Sold out

Ozadya

A few months after the release of their last EP Last Gate, the Geneva based simmering collective is back with a 7 new tracks EP immersing the listener in the euphoria of a club crowd. Sold Out is about love and drunkenness on a background of house beats, hip hop and afro percussions. Co-produced by Pekodjinn, Neya, Zalvf, Lazzylife, Nnnurah, and YT Prod, the percussive and hybrid beats fit perfectly with the incisive flows of MCs Voodoo and Woody for this sold-out party.

Listen here.

Anxiety +

Zoocci Dope Coke

Zoocci Coke Dope’s new album is set in anger and resentment. “At first I didn’t know what it was, but I’ve come to understand what I am fully: anxious”. These are the first words that Zoocci Coke Dope told us in an upcoming interview on PAM. Direct sequel to Anxiety first released in 2019, Zoocci continues his exploration of this feeling, but it’s more pointed towards a sinister and toxic direction. On the collaboration side, Blxckie, Nasty C, and Stogie T are among those featured on the thirteen tracks.

Listen here.

This week we also listen to:

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, le Ano Nobo Quartet rend hommage au grand poète capverdien, Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy croisent le fer, K.O.G célèbre l’Afrique, Ozadya nous attire dans le club et Zoocci Coke Dope laisse couler sans anxiété.

The Strings of São Domingos

The Ano Nobo Quartet

Lancé sur le label new-yorkais Ostinato Records, le premier album du Ano Nobo Quartet rend hommage au grand poète et compositeur capverdien dont il a pris le nom. The Strings of São Domingos a été enregistré en acoustique chez Pascoal et dans des lieux de l’île sans aucune électricité, pour mieux capter la simplicité et la mélancolie propres à la coladeira -un des genres phares du Cap vert- composée dans son environnement naturel. Cet album est aussi un hommage aux grandes figures poétiques et révolutionnaires des années 1970 communes à cette partie de l’Afrique que sont José Carlos Schwarz et João Bernardo Vieira.

Écouter ici.

Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots

Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy

Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots c’est l’alliance inattendue d’un trio électro allemand et d’un rappeur et poète incendiaire égyptien. Après l’EP acclamé Darraje et The Act of Falling from the 8th Floor, le quatuor composé de Jonas Yamer, Till Funke et Jonas Friedlich, ainsi que l’auteur Abdullah Miniawy ont à nouveau croisé le fer en studio. Huit titres d’un spoken word pulsionnel, porté par d’épaisses nappes digitales, parfois anxiogènes, toujours massives.

Écouter ici.

Zone 6, Agege

K.O.G (Kweku of Ghana)

Zone 6, Agege, avec ce titre, K.O.G fait référence à une petite banlieue côtière d’Accra, la capitale du Ghana, où il a grandi et “où l’ambiance, dit-il, la culture et les structures sociales ont renforcé et développé ma créativité et mon amour de l’art ». Il ajoute que cet album, son second sur Heavenly Sweetness est une “ode à ma nature, mon éducation et mon avenir”. Célébrer l’Afrique au travers de sons et d’histoires dans une connexion rayonnante avec le reste du monde, tel est le désir du musicien sur Zone 6, Agege, qui est autant un hommage aux racines musicales de l’artiste né à Accra, qu’un voyage ouvert sur les musiques de l’Atlantique noir, plus particulièrement le hip-hop et le reggae/dub.

Écouter ici.

Sold out

Ozadya

Quelques mois après la sortie de leur dernier EP Last Gate, le crew genevois brassant de multiples influences revient avec 7 nouveaux titres plongeant l’auditeur dans l’euphorie d’une foule en club. Sold Out parle d’amour et d’ivresse sur fond de rythmes house, de hip hop et de percussions afro. Signés par Pekodjinn, Neya, Zalvf, Lazzylife, Nnnurah et YT Prod, les productions percutantes des membres du collectif habillent à la perfection les flows incisifs des MCs Voodoo et Woody qui dynamitent cette soirée à guichets fermés.

Écouter ici.

Anxiety +

Zoocci Dope Coke

Le producteur, qui a largement contribué à façonner la trap contemporaine d’Afrique du Sud, sort un nouveau projet écrit sous la colère et le ressentiment. « Au début, je ne savais pas ce que j’avais, mais j’ai fini par comprendre pleinement ce que je suis : anxieux« , nous dit Zoocci Coke Dope, dans une interview prochainement publiée sur PAM. Suite directe de Anxiety — premier du nom — sorti en 2019, Zoocci poursuit l’exploration de ce sentiment, en concentrant son attention sur le penchant sinistre et toxique de celui-ci. Côté collaborations, on retrouve notamment Blxckie, Nasty C et Stogie T sur les treize morceaux qui composent l’album.

Écouter ici.

Cette semaine est également sorti :

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé