→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Congotronics International announces debut album, Where’s The One

From Kinshasa to New York, via Buenos Aires and Stockholm, the supergroup Congotronics brings together four continents on a single album.

Legendary Congolese bands Konono N°1 and Kasai Allstars, along with nine of experimental rock’s most creative musicians – Deerhoof, Juana Molina, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, and Matthew Mehlan (Skeletons) – join forces for what promises to be an epic album – Where’s The One.

To give us a taste, the supergroup has released “Banza Banza” and “Beyond The 7th Bend”. Recorded live, the former is a sort of psychedelic rumba led by flamboyant energy and performed by Kabongo Thisense (singer of Kasai Allstars). The second track is fully instrumental and dreamlike. Under the influence of folk, Western and African guitars join around a likembe (a traditional Central African musical instrument with metal blades fixed to a resonance box and played with the thumbs).

Announced for release on 29th April 2022 on Crammed Discs, the project features 21 tracks in a mix of studio and live recordings. Having first got together in 2011 for the Congotronics vs. Rockers tour, the artists took the opportunity to record tracks before, during, and after their shows. In total there are ten singers, five guitarists, three likembe players, two bassists, and three drummers. The artists hail from all over the globe – from Congo to New York, via Buenos Aires and Stockholm.

Over the course of ten years and across four continents, the participants in this project have set out to combine the electrified traditional music of Congolese artists with the experimental avant-rock styles of their Western compatriots.

Listen to Congotronics International in our playlist Songs of the Week on Spotify and Deezer.

Banza​/​Beyond, released by Crammed Discs.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Congotronics International annonce un premier album globe‑trotteur

De Kinshasa à New-York, en passant par Buenos Aires et Stockholm, le supergroupe réunit trois continents autour d’un album attendu fin avril.

Les légendaires groupes congolais Konono N°1 et Kasai Allstars, ainsi que neuf musiciens parmi les plus créatifs du rock expérimental – Deerhoof, Juana Molina, Wildbirds & Peacedrums et Matthew Mehlan (Skeletons) – s’unissent pour un album qui s’annonce déjà épique : Where’s The One.

En guise d’extraits, le supergroupe a publié « Banza Banza » et « Beyond The 7th Bend ». Enregistré en live, le premier est un genre de rumba psychédélique guidé par une énergie flamboyante et interprété par Kabongo Thisense (chanteur de Kasai Allstars). Purement instrumental, le second est plus onirique. Sur des influences folk, guitares occidentales et africaines se croisent autour d’un likembe (instrument de musique traditionnel d’Afrique centrale à lames métalliques, que l’on fait vibrer avec les pouces sur une caisse de résonance).

Annoncé pour le 29 avril 2022 chez Crammed Discs, le projet réunit 21 morceaux qui mélangent versions studios et live. Réunis pour la première fois en 2011, pour la tournée Congotronics vs. Rockers, les artistes en ont profité pour enregistrer des morceaux avant, pendant et après leurs shows. Au total, on retrouve dix chanteurs, cinq guitaristes, trois joueurs de likembe, deux bassistes et trois batteurs. Du Congo à New-York, en passant par Buenos Aires et Stockholm.

En l’espace de dix ans, à travers trois continents, les participants au projet se sont attachés à combiner la musique traditionnelle électrifiée des artistes congolais au rock expérimental de leurs comparses occidentaux.

Retrouvez Congotronics International dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Banza​/​Beyond, disponible chez Crammed Discs.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé