→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy: some German machinery and an incendiary pen
© Nika Andelic

Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy: some German machinery and an incendiary pen

The Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy project – an unlikely alliance between a German electro trio and a fiery Egyptian rapper and poet – have crossed swords once more. Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots is out this Friday on Molten Moods. Read on for more info.

On the one hand, a German electro trio steeped in industrial rock, ambient, and breakbeat; on the other, an Egyptian rapper whose pen drips with the ink of revolution. Carl Gari – made up of Jonas Yamer, Till Funke, and Jonas Friedlich – and the author Abdullah Miniawy have once more crossed swords in the studio. After the acclaimed EPs Darraje and The Act of Falling from the 8th Floor, the quartet has just released Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots. It’s eight tracks of pulsating spoken word supported by thick layers of digital sound, at times anxiety-inducing, always powerful.

Abdullah Miniawy, a poet and activist in exile

Possessing a voice that is free and expressive with undertones of Sufism, Abdullah Miniawy was born in 1994 in Saudi Arabia, but grew up in the oasis town of El-Fayoum, southwest of Cairo. A poet, singer, composer, and – above all – an activist, he has rocked stages in Egypt as well as social networks on the fringes of revolutionary movements. In 2016, he left Cairo to settle in Europe. In Paris he’s collaborated with the electric oud player Mehdi Haddab of the group Speed Caravan, as well as with rapper Marc Nammour from La Canaille. In 2017, Abdullah moved into a studio with Érik Truffaz. The following year he presented his creation Le Cri du Caire at the Avignon Festival in the excellent company of multi-instrumentalists Peter Corser, Sarsten Hochapfel, and the French neo-Klezmer clarinettist, Yom.

In 2018, the singer teamed up with bass music producer Simo Cell. In 2020, the duo released the excellent six-track album Kill Me Or Negotiate.

Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots is the third collaboration between Abdullah Miniawy and Carl Gari. The project was released online during 2021’s Rewire Festival. Their performance was recorded and the hypnotic show makes the music from Dune seem like the soundtrack to a pleasant walk in the country.

Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots by Abdullah Miniawy & Carl Gari will be released this Friday on the excellent Munich-based label Molten Moods.

Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy – Live @ Haus der Kunst
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy : les machines allemandes et la plume incendiaire
© Nika Andelic

Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy : les machines allemandes et la plume incendiaire

Alliance inattendue d’un trio électro allemand et d’un rappeur et poète incendiaire égyptien, le projet Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy vient à nouveau de croiser le fer en studio. Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots sort ce vendredi sur Molten Moods. Présentations.

D’un côté, un trio électro allemand, bercé de rock industriel, d’ambiant et d’incartades breakbeat, de l’autre un rappeur égyptien qui trempe sa plume dans le diesel du soulèvement : Carl Gari, composé de Jonas Yamer, Till Funke et Jonas Friedlich, ainsi que l’auteur Abdullah Miniawy ont à nouveau croisé le fer en studio. Après l’EP acclamé Darraje et The Act of Falling from the 8th Floor, le quatuor vient de livrer Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots. Huit titres d’un spoken word pulsionnel, porté par d’épaisses nappes digitales, parfois anxiogènes, toujours massives.

Abdullah Miniawy, poète et activiste en exil

Voix libre et instinctive aux embardées soufies, Abdullah Miniawy est né en 1994 en Arabie saoudite, mais a grandi dans la ville-oasis d’El-Fayoum, au sud-ouest du Caire. Poète, chanteur, compositeur et surtout activiste, il a agité les scènes comme les réseaux sociaux égyptiens, en marge des mouvements révolutionnaires. En 2016, il quitte Le Caire pour s’installer en Europe. À Paris, il va collaborer avec le oudiste électrique Mehdi Haddab – du groupe Speed Caravan – ou le rappeur Marc Nammour de La Canaille. En 2017, Abdullah s’installe en studio aux côtés d’Érik Truffaz. L’année suivante, il présente la création Le Cri du Caire au Festival d’Avignon en excellente compagnie des multi-instrumentistes Peter Corser, Sarsten Hochapfel ainsi que du clarinettiste français néo-klezmer Yom.

Toujours en 2018, le chanteur s’acoquine au producteur de bass music Simo Cell. Le duo sortira en 2020 l’excellent six titres Kill Me Or Negotiate.

Between the bullet and the front sight, casting lots est la troisième collaboration entre Abdullah Miniawy et le trio électronique allemand Carl Gari. Le projet, présenté en-ligne lors du très pointu Rewire Festival – crû 2021 –, a fait l’objet d’une captation : jetez-vous sur ce live hypnotique, qui ferait passer la bande-originale du film Dune pour une aimable promenade touristique.

Between The Bullet And The Front Sight, Casting Lots d’Abdullah Miniawy et Carl Gari sortira ce vendredi sur l’excellent label munichois Molten Moods.

Carl Gari & Abdullah Miniawy – Live @ Haus der Kunst
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé