→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Prettyboy D‑O goes wild in his Colors session

While many Nigerian artists are leading the #EndSARS events in their country, the singer passed through the German studios to spread his anti-system discharge.

It’s a frantic Prettyboy D-O that we discover in this Colors session. Jumping on the spot with bulging eyes, flashy dyed hair, flame Converse on his feet and a voice going from high-pitched to lugubrious, the singer looks possessed by the message of his track. A message deeply rooted in the current demonstrations by Nigerians against SARS, this anti-terrorist police which has turned to corruption and abuse of power. D-O has been critical of the SARS and the Nigerian political system from his beginnings.

In 2018, in his hit “Chop Elbow”, he already rapped prophetically “SARS chop elbow”. He kept the same anger during the 2020 uprisings, being extremely active in demonstrations and on his social media. The criticism continues on “Jungle Justice”, where the artist exposes the problems of suspicion faced by the fresh Nigerian youth: “pretty mothafucka I be problem”.

Because of his style, Prettyboy D-O has indeed often been classified among the Alté artists, this alternative and stylish artistic community; however, “Jungle Justice”, is one more proof that the singer remains faithful to the streets. In this jungle that serves as justice in his country, the artist has definitely kept the same madness as on his brilliant EP “Wildfire” released in 2019. Maybe even with rage as a bonus.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Prettyboy D‑O se déchaîne dans son passage chez Colors

Alors que nombre d’artistes nigérians mènent les manifestations #EndSARS au pays, le chanteur est passé par les studios allemands pour diffuser sa décharge antisystème.

C’est un Prettyboy D-O survolté que l’on retrouve dans cette session Colors. Sautillant sur place les yeux exorbités, teintures flashy, Converse en feu aux pieds et la voix sautant de l’aigu au lugubre, le chanteur semble possédé par le message de son titre. Un message profondément ancré dans les manifestations actuelles des Nigérians contre le Sars, cette police antiterrorisme ayant basculé dans le rackets et les abus de pouvoir. Le SARS et le système politique nigérian, D-O le critique depuis ses débuts.

En 2018, dans son hit « Chop Elbow », il rappait déjà prophétiquement « SARS chop elbow » (« le SARS se bouffe mon coude »). Il a gardé la même colère lors des soulèvements populaires de 2020, étant extrêmement actif sur ses réseaux sociaux et dans les manifestations. La critique continue sur « Jungle Justice », où l’artiste expose crûment les problèmes de suspicion auxquels fait face la jeunesse nigériane branchée : « pretty mothafucka I be problem » (« je suis un joli enfoiré, je suis un problème »).

En raison de son style, Prettyboy D-O a en effet souvent été classé parmi les artistes Alté, cette communauté artistique alternative et stylée ; pourtant, « Jungle Justice », est une preuve de plus que le chanteur reste fidèle à la rue. Dans cette jungle qui fait office de justice dans son pays, l’artiste a définitivement gardé la même folie que sur son génial EP « Wildfire » sorti en 2019. Peut-être même avec la rage en bonus.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé