→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Wizkid, Batuk, Nesrine, DJ P2N and more.

Made In Lagos
Wizkid

Due to leaks, his album was released early. Burna Boy, Skepta, Damian Marley, Ella Mai, H.E.R and Terri are the prestigious guests on this long-awaited fourth album. The Nigerian superstar had already had a huge success with the tracks “Smile” and “No Stress” and Wizkid seems indeed more serene and relaxed than ever for the release of an album that aims to reconquer West Africa, after having tried to conquer the world.

Listen here.

Swirling
Sun Ra Arkestra

More than twenty years after its last recording A Song for the Sun released in 1999, the Sun Ra Arkestra is back in the footsteps of its legendary founder who died 27 years ago. Led by 96-year-old saxophonist and flutist Marshall Allen – a pillar of the orchestra since Sun Ra’s departure – the prophets of cosmic jazz announce their return with this new studio album.

Listen here.

Evolution Of Congo
DJ P2N

Some are familiar with Lubumbashi — the second largest city of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) — for its copper and mines; others like Moonshine, through the powerful and captivating musical productions of the Congolese producer, composer and sound engineer, DJ P2N. A few exchanges on WhatsApp and phone calls later, the collective signed with DJ P2N on the compilation SMS For Location Vol. III in December 2019. Since then, It has not let go of its new recruit. His meteoric rise is such that this new track “MUZIKO,” sung in Swahili by ShikeRebel, is already a popular sound on African dance floors before its official release date. Lubumbashi has got a new prince: his name is DJ P2N. Toleka!

Listen here.

Again She Reigns
Batuk 

With this new project, the now legendary duo Batuk pays homage to eight legendary African heroines, through eight tracks of afrohouse pop. Created by charismatic singer Carla Fonseca aka Manteiga and producer Spoek Mathambo, the group embodies the South African international effervescence. With this new EP, Batuk invites women to take their rightful place in history. Among these sound portraits is Rainha Makeda, better known as “Queen of Sheba” in biblical writings.

Listen here.

Trouble Fête
Badi & Boddhi Satva

The Belgo-Congolese rapper sings loud and clear what others hardly dare to whisper. Long before the hype of Brussels rap, Badi had already set the tone alongside his friend Stromae. Raised on MTV clips and Congolese rumba, the artist has built a sound and a solid reputation. For his new album, he is teaming up with producer Boddhi Satva, pioneer of Afro-house, master of Ancestral Soul, who has already distinguished himself in the company of Bilal and Oumou Sangaré. Badi’s lyrics underline the shortcomings of our societies and are part of the Black Lives Matter movement. Exploring his Congolese roots and his daily life in the land of Tintin, Badi emphasizes identity issues and upsets our certainties.

Listen here.

Nesrine
Nesrine

The Franco-Algerian singer and cellist Nesrine announces a first eponymous record. She emancipates herself in a classical, pop and jazz style, infused with North African musicality. Nesrine’s aerial voice contrasts with the rhythms of percussion instruments and reveals the deep and intimate links existing between all these musical currents, liberating herself from pre-existing genres.

Listen here.

Ngoma Injection 
Wulffluw XCIV

DJ Wulffluw XCIV is a Russian producer of ferocious techno music. In 2019, he had the chance to attend the Nyege Nyege Festival and even to start production on his next album during his residency at Nyege Nyege Studios in Kampala. It was a godsend for the DJ who incorporates dembow, kuduro and the famous gqom rhythms into his industrial techno, offering an explosive multicultural mix.

Listen here.

A Cosmic Poet From Martinique 1979​-​1989 
Gratien Midonet

A Cosmic Poet From Martinique 1979​-​1989 features tracks — recorded between the late 70s and 80s — from the first four albums of Martinique poet and singer Gratien Midonet. He is the shaman of Martinique: “I always broke free from the rules, from codes being too narrow (…) I have always had this sense of peaceful knowledge that there is no separation between genres, beings and universal things,” says the poet. His music is spiritual and popular.

Listen here.

Hoogseizoen
Dopebwoy

The rapper Dopebwoy, based in Almere (Netherlands), has been teasing us over the last few days with his tracklist and album trailer. Now we can finally enjoy the album produced under his own label Forever Lit Records. Dopebwoy enters his ‘High Season’ with dancing beats and successful international collaborations, in a style a little further away from the Afrotraps tracks of his early days.

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 4 semaines

Les 9 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, à défaut de sortir (la France venant de déclarer un nouveau confinement sur tout le territoire à compter de ce vendredi), on va pouvoir bouger dans sa chambre sur les sons afrobeats du starboy nigérian Wizkid ou du rappeur néerlandais Dopebwoy, mieux encore, sur l’afrohouse du DJ P2N et du duo sud-africain Batuk. Badi & Boddhi Satva vont réveiller nos consciences et le Sun Ra Arkestra nous embarquer dans leur jazz cosmique. La chanteuse Nesrine se dévoilera en solo et Gratien Midonet réveillera les esprits de Martinique jusque dans nos maisons avec sa poésie créole incandescente. Enfin, si l’envie vous prend de vous défouler un peu, rien de mieux que DJ Wulffluw XCIV et sa musique techno bien féroce. 

Made In Lagos
Wizkid

En raison de fuites, son album est sorti en avance, au plus grand bonheur de ses fans. Burna Boy, Skepta, Damian Marley, Ella Mai, H.E.R et Terri sont les invités prestigieux de ce quatrième disque tant attendu. La superstar nigériane avait déjà fait exploser les compteurs avec les titres « Smile » et « No Stress » et semble effectivement plus sereine et détendue que jamais pour la sortie d’un album qui a pour but de reconquérir l’Afrique de l’Ouest, après avoir tenté de conquérir le monde.

Écoutez ici.

Swirling
Sun Ra Arkestra

Plus de vingt ans après son dernier enregistrement A Song for the Sun sorti en 1999, le Sun Ra Arkestra reprend du service sur les traces de son légendaire fondateur disparu il y a 27 ans. Emmenés par le saxophoniste et flûtiste âgé de 96 ans Marshall Allen – pilier de l’orchestre depuis le départ de Sun Ra – les prophètes du jazz cosmique annoncent leur grand retour avec ce nouvel album studio. 

Écoutez ici.

Evolution Of Congo
DJ P2N

Certains connaissent la ville de Lubumbashi – deuxième plus grande ville de la République Démocratique du Congo (RDC) – pour son cuivre et ses mines, d’autres comme le crew Moonshine, pour sa musique. Quelques échanges sur WhatsApp et des appels téléphoniques plus tard, le collectif signait avec DJ P2N sur la compilation SMS For Location Vol. III en décembre 2019. Depuis, leur nouveau favori ne s’arrête plus. Son nouveau titre de l’album « Muziko » chanté en swahili par ShikeRebel était déjà un son populaire sur les pistes de danse africaines avant même sa sortie officielle. Lubumbashi a son nouveau prince : il s’appelle DJ P2N. Toleka !

Écoutez ici.

Again She Reigns
Batuk 

Huit morceaux d’afrohouse pop en hommage à huit héroïnes africaines légendaires, tel est le nouveau projet du duo désormais légendaire Batuk. Créé par la chanteuse charismatique Carla Fonseca alias Manteiga et le producteur Spoek Mathambo, le groupe incarne l’effervescence internationale sud-africaine et enchaîne les tournées aux quatre coins du globe. Dans ce nouvel EP, Batuk invite les femmes à reprendre la position qui leur revient dans l’Histoire. Parmi ces portraits sonores on retrouve Rainha Makeda, plus connue en français sous le nom de « Reine de Saba » dans les écrits bibliques.

Écoutez ici.

Trouble Fête
Badi & Boddhi Satva

Le rappeur belge d’origine congolaise chante haut et fort ce que les autres osent à peine murmurer. Bien avant la hype du rap bruxellois, Badi avait déjà donné le ton aux côtés de son ami Stromae. Élevé aux clips de MTV et à la rumba congolaise, l’artiste s’est construit un son et une solide réputation. Pour son nouvel album, il fait équipe avec le producteur Boddhi Satva, pionnier de l’afro-house, maître de l’Ancestral Soul, ce dernier s’est déjà distingué en compagnie de Bilal et Oumou Sangaré. Les paroles de Badi souligne les carences de nos sociétés et s’inscrivent dans le mouvement Black Lives Matter. Explorant ses racines congolaises et sa vie quotidienne au pays de Tintin, Badi met l’accent sur les questions identitaires et bouleverse nos certitudes.

Écoutez ici.

Nesrine
Nesrine

Après le succès du premier album de son trio NES, la chanteuse et violoncelliste franco-algérienne Nesrine s’émancipe sur un premier disque éponyme à la croisée de sa culture classique, pop et jazz, le tout teinté de musicalité nord-africaine. Sa virtuosité ne fait aucun doute, tout comme sa capacité à nous absorber par la délicatesse de sa voix aérienne, qui contraste avec les rythmiques de percussions ancrées solidement dans le sol. Nesrine dévoile les liens profonds et intimes qui peuvent exister entre tous ces courants musicaux, en s’affranchissant des genres préexistants.

Écoutez ici.

Ngoma Injection 
Wulffluw XCIV

DJ Wulffluw XCIV est un producteur russe de musique techno bien féroce. En 2019, il a la chance d’assister au festival Nyege Nyege et même, de débuter la production de son prochain album lors de sa résidence aux Nyege Nyege Studios à Kampala. Une aubaine pour le DJ qui incorpore à sa techno industrielle des rythmes dembow, kuduro et le fameux gqom, pour offrir un mélange multiculturel explosif.

Écoutez ici.

A Cosmic Poet From Martinique 1979​-​1989 
Gratien Midonet

A Cosmic Poet From Martinique 1979​-​1989 regroupe des titres puisés dans les quatre premiers albums du poète et chanteur martiniquais, Gratien Midonet, enregistrés entre la fin des années 70 et les années 80. Avec sa poésie aux allures mystiques et populaires, Gratien Midonet est un véritable chaman de la Martinique : « Je me suis toujours affranchi des règles, des codes trop étroits (…) j’ai ce sentiment pacifiste qu’il n’y a pas de séparation entre les genres, les êtres et les choses universelles », confie le poète.

Écoutez ici.

Hoogseizoen
Dopebwoy

Le rappeur Dopebwoy, basé à Almere (Pays-Bas), nous a taquiné ces derniers jours avec sa tracklist et la bande-annonce de l’album. Aujourd’hui, nous pouvons enfin profiter du disque produit sous son propre label Forever Lit Records. Dopebwoy entre dans sa « Haute Saison » avec des beats dansants et des collaborations internationales à succès, dans un style un peu plus éloigné des titres afrotraps de ses débuts.

Écoutez ici.

Également sortis cette semaine :

  • Goldmax – Music Saved Me
  • Semi Tee – Piano Wave Project
  • Amy Ayanda – Young
  • Darque – Must Be Africa
  • Common – A Beautiful Revolution
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé