→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

"Respect Yourself": 1971 Staple Singers anthem

Craft Recordings has just released a new lyric video for the track “Respect Yourself,” by legendary soul band The Staple Singers. A civil rights anthem whose lyrics resonate especially on American election day.

These icons of Chicago soul seem particularly relevant on this special day. With their 1971 title “Respect Yourself,” the Staple Singers spread a pacifist message of tolerance, self-respect and, above all, empowerment. It channelled a strong discourse that was part of the Civil Rights Movement and which today echoes in the contemporary images of the Black Lives Matter demonstrations. This mix of archive footage and recent images shows to what extent history repeats itself. The lyrics sung by Mavis Staples are clearly prophetic, describing the grim times we are going through with strange accuracy: “Keep talkin’ about the president, won’t stop air pollution / Put your hand on your mouth when you cough, that’ll help the solution.”

Pops, Cleotha, Yvonne and Mavis Staples © Stax Archives

The track, which originally appeared on the Staple Singers’ 1972 album Be Altitude, has become the family band’s biggest hit to date – ranking second on the Billboard Soul chart and twelfth in the Hot 100. Written by Luther Ingram and Mack Rice, this powerful piece featured members of the legendary Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section and the Memphis Horns. Their lyrics spread messages in favour of racial equality with strong political content, certainly inspired by the events of the time, which took place against the backdrop of social and political unrest culminating in the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. in Memphis.

Cleotha, Yvonne and Mavis Staples © Stax Archives

A 7-CD box set accompanies the release of the clip celebrating the Staple Singers and their legendary production period at Stax Records from 1968-1974. The collection includes many of Staples’ most iconic recordings, including “I’ll Take You There,” “If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me),” “Long Walk to D.C.,” and, of course, “Respect Yourself.” In the liner notes, Levon Williams and Dr. Langston Wilkins write that “Long Walk to D.C.” and “The Ghetto” are two very significant tracks from the torment of the era, because they “Truly tapped into the experiences and emotions of Black America at the close of the ’60s. The former is a tribute to the 1963 March on Washington told from the perspective of a poor yet hopeful African American person willing to use their last dimes to make it to the rally … Conversely, the somber and haunting ‘The Ghetto’ takes listeners deep into the isolation and despair of inner-city life.” 

The 7-CD box set Come Go With Me: The Stax Collection will be released on November 13 via Craf Recordings and is available for pre-order here.

Listen to The Staple Singers in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

« Respect Yourself » : l’hymne de 1971 des Staple Singers

Craft Recordings vient de publier une nouvelle vidéo mettant en exergue les paroles du titre « Respect Yourself » du groupe soul légendaire The Staple Singers. Un hymne en faveur des droits civiques dont les paroles résonnent tout particulièrement en ce jour d’élection américaine.

Ces icônes de l’âme afro-américaine de Chicago ont quelque chose d’émouvant en ce jour particulier. Avec leur titre « Respect Yourself » de 1971, les Staple Singers diffusent un message pacifiste de tolérance, de respect de soi et surtout d’émancipation. Un discours fort qui s’inscrivait dans le Civil Rights Movement et qui trouvent écho aujourd’hui auprès des images contemporaines des manifestations de Black Lives Matter. Ce mélange d’archives et d’images récentes montre à quel point l’histoire se répète. Les paroles chantées par Mavis Staples sont clairement prophétiques de la période sinistre que nous traversons :  « Keep talkin’ about the president, won’t stop air pollution / Put your hand on your mouth when you cough, that’ll help the solution. » 

Pops, Cleotha, Yvonne et Mavis Staples © Stax Archives

Ce titre qui figurait à l’origine sur l’album Be Altitude des Staple Singers en 1972, est devenu le plus grand succès du groupe familial à ce jour – se classant à la deuxième place du Billboard Soul chart et à la douzième place du Hot 100. Pensée par Luther Ingram et Mack Rice, cette puissante chanson met en vedette les membres de la légendaire Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section et des Memphis Horns. Leurs paroles répandent des messages en faveur de l’égalité raciale avec un fort caractère politique certainement inspiré par les événements de l’époque, puisque les sessions se sont déroulées dans un contexte de troubles sociaux et politiques, qui ont culminé avec l’assassinat de Martin Luther King Jr. à Memphis. 

Cleotha, Yvonne et Mavis Staples © Stax Archives

Un coffret 7-CD  accompagne la sortie du clip célébrant les Staple Singers et leur légendaire production chez Stax Records sur la période 1968-1974. La collection comprend de nombreux enregistrements parmi les plus emblématiques de Staples, dont « I’ll Take You There », « If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me) », « Long Walk to D.C. » et bien sûr, « Respect Yourself ». Dans leurs notes de pochette, Levon Williams et le Dr Langston Wilkins écrivent que « Long Walk to D.C. » et « The Ghetto » sont deux titres très significatifs de la période tourmentées de l’époque car ils « ont véritablement puisé dans les expériences et les émotions de l’Amérique noire à la fin des années 60. La première est un hommage à la Marche sur Washington de 1963, racontée du point de vue d’un Afro-Américain pauvre mais plein d’espoir, prêt à utiliser ses derniers sous pour se rendre au rassemblement… À l’inverse, le sombre et obsédant “The Ghetto” entraîne les auditeurs dans l’isolement et le désespoir de la vie urbaine. »

Le coffret 7-CD Come Go With Me: The Stax Collection sortira le 13 novembre via Craft Recordings et disponible en pré-commande ici

Écoutez The Staple Singers dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé