→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

In Kenya, Papillon is concerned for the country’s traditions

The Kenyan singer, multi-instrumentalist, and luthier, Papillon, takes flight with “Maisha Ya Babu” a call to return to our roots.

In Kenya, Martin Murimi, alias Papillon, worries that traditions are gradually disappearing. The question is one that has long worried his contemporaries on the continent, and he has decided to respond by going back to his roots with “Maisha Ya Babu” (Our Father’s Life).

Construction machinery, rubbish trucks, heavy traffic, pollution. The music video was shot in a Nairobi suburb – not the nicest of settings – in order to underline ‘the strong contrast between our tribal history and our present reality – urbanised and westernised’, according to the German-Nigerian director and designer Sydney ‘Spaceship’ Nwakanma. Adorned with regal costumes, headdresses and masks from the collection of the African Heritage House in Nairobi – where the two artists became friends during a residency – Papillon stands out in the heart of this urban chaos.

‘During the filming people stopped to look at him, very surprised to see this pan-African wizard dressed in outfits from the four corners of the continent, this figure so out of touch with their reality,’ recounts Nwakanma. Accompanied by his Mwari wa Ur, a home-made carved lyre harp, Papillon sings in Mbeere of his pain, of memories of his ancestors’ time, of a lost unity, and of his nostalgia, all to the backdrop of luminous choirs and minimalist arrangements. With an angelic voice, whose falsetto resembles that of Blick Bassy or Bongeziwe Mabandla, he asks himself ‘what happened?’ ‘Globalisation!’ replies the director. ‘Codified traditions and cultures are clashing with capitalist forces, and whilst we make more and more cheap clothing and cheap music, we are forgetting our heritage, the value of work, of handcraft.’ Papillon adds, ‘today, traditions have become merely symbolic, few people practice them. It’s sad, but there is hope because a few of us who are truly rooted can remind others that they too have roots. That’s what this song is about.’

‘In our grandfathers’ life there was no evil’. Despite lyrics that tend to suggest otherwise, the singer, multi-instrumentalist, and instrument maker nonetheless refuses to idealise ancestral values and traditions. Born in a small village three hours from Nairobi, Papillon grew up in a poor rural environment, close to the music but also to the rituals and ceremonies of the Mbeere – the Bantu people of East Africa, whose vibrancy has gradually declined over the past twenty years. Although he now lives in Nairobi, the thirty-something still feels sustained by his heritage and, therefore, his truth, thanks to many trips to and from the village. But, by way of a caveat he tells us that ‘I represent my tradition, but I’m not a traditional musician, I’m very contemporary’.

The man is ready to take flight with “Maisha Ya Babu”, a great foretaste of a first album that is to come out later this year. Following in the footsteps of his late mentor Ayub Ogada, a modern virtuoso of the nyatiti lyre harp and a keen experimenter, Papillon surrounds himself with a group of free-spirited musicians mixing tablas, flutes, pianos, steel drums, and other percussion instruments. Their job is to accompany him in the creation of a ‘new musical dynasty with traditional Africa at its heart’. And that’s a promise!

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Au Kenya, Papillon s’inquiète pour ses traditions

Le chanteur, multi-instrumentiste et luthier kenyan Papillon prend son envol avec “Maisha Ya Babu”, un appel à renouer avec nos racines. PAM vous dévoile son clip en exclusivité !

Au Kenya, Martin Murimi alias Papillon s’inquiète de la dissolution progressive des traditions. Des siennes mais pas seulement, et si la question préoccupe également bon nombre de ses contemporain.e.s sur le continent, lui choisit d’y répondre par les racines dans “Maisha Ya Babu” (la vie de nos pères).

Engins de chantier, bennes à ordures, trafic dense, pollution : le clip a été tourné en banlieue de Nairobi, dans un décor peu rieur, pour souligner “le fort contraste entre notre histoire tribale et notre présent, urbanisé et occidentalisé” selon le réalisateur et styliste germano-nigérian Sydney “Spaceship” Nwakanma. Paré de tenues, coiffes et masques majestueux issus des collections de l’African Heritage House à Nairobi — sorte de Villa Médicis kenyane où les deux artistes se sont liés d’amitié au cours d’une résidence — Papillon détonne au cœur de ce chaos urbain.

Pendant le tournage, les gens s’arrêtaient pour le regarder, très surpris de voir ce sorcier panafricain vêtu de tenues des quatre coins du continent, cette figure si déconnectée de leur réalité” raconte-t-il. Accompagné de sa Mwari wa Ur, une harpe-lyre sculptée maison, Papillon chante en mbeere sa douleur, la mémoire du temps de ses ancêtres, une unité perdue, sa nostalgie aussi, à la faveur de chœurs lumineux et d’arrangements minimalistes. D’une voix angélique — dont le falsetto s’apparente à celui de Blick Bassy ou Bongeziwe Mabandla — il s’interroge : que s’est-il passé ? “La mondialisation !” répond le vidéaste. “Uniformisées, traditions et cultures sont aux prises avec des forces capitalistes, et tandis que nous fabriquons toujours plus de vêtements bon marché, de musique au rabais, nous oublions notre héritage, la valeur du labeur, du fait-main.” Papillon renchérit : “Aujourd’hui, les traditions sont devenues symboliques, rares sont ceux qui les pratiquent. C’est triste mais il y a de l’espoir” tempère-t-il, “car le peu d’entre nous à être vraiment ancré peut rappeler aux autres qu’ils ont des racines. C’est la raison d’être de cette chanson.”

Au temps de nos grands-pères, le mal n’existait pas” : malgré des paroles qui tendent à suggérer le contraire, le chanteur, multi-instrumentiste et luthier se défend pourtant d’idéaliser les valeurs et les traditions ancestrales. Originaire d’un petit village à trois heures de Nairobi, Papillon a grandi dans un milieu rural pauvre, au plus près de la musique mais aussi des rituels et cérémonies Mbeere — peuple bantou d’Afrique de l’Est, dont il a vu la vivacité décliner peu à peu ces vingt dernières années. S’il vit désormais à Nairobi, le trentenaire nourrit toujours par la pratique son héritage et donc, sa vérité, de nombreux aller-retours au village. Il prévient cependant : “je représente ma tradition certes, mais je ne suis pas un musicien traditionnel, je suis très contemporain.

Un homme de son temps prêt à prendre son envol avec ce Maisha Ya Babu”, digne avant-goût d’un premier album à venir dans l’année. Dans les pas de son mentor feu Ayub Ogada, virtuose moderne de la harpe-lyre nyatiti prompt aux expérimentations, Papillon s’est entouré d’un groupe à l’instrumentarium libre mêlant tablas, flûte, piano, steel drums et autres percussions pour l’accompagner dans la création d’une “nouvelle dynastie musicale avec l’Afrique traditionnelle aux racines”. C’est une promesse !

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé