→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
4 weeks ago

PAM Club: This Generation Cares by Wave Arising

Journey to the heart of the Wave Arising project with the techno figure 69dB and the dancer Kynsie for a zero gravity sound that is off the beaten track, sitting somewhere between live act and DJ set.

“The feet rooted, the head in the cosmos.” Such is the current state of mind of the duo Wave Arising who sought to transcribe the “Slow Rave” energy that vibes with in a truly atypical set. An offshoot of the Dharma Techno project, Wave Arising combines music and movement, trance and spirituality, tradition and experimentation. In interview, they explained their mission to tame bodies and minds through workshops and audiovisual performance. The avant-garde Scottish musician 69dB has joined forces with Kynsie, the dancer of Reunionese and Ivorian origin, uniting and improvising in a technoid therapy session based on tribal and maloya cultures, to name just two. In trying to raise awareness while recalling the place of the black identity in our world, the duo offers two hours of music, whereby 69dB’s live set communes with his partner’s deeply personal selection.

Pan African Music · PAM Club : Wave Arising

69dB: “The liveset that you can listen to in the middle of the mix is a continuation of the “Dub Technic” sound that I have been developing since 1995. Through the Wave Arising project, I finally find a space where these sounds can express themselves freely again. With this perspective of “Slow Rave,” one consciously feels the energy while entering a soft trance. As usual, the music is improvised and made of elements created from kitchen percussion, guitar, voice or field recordings… Tinged with polyrhythms, my music is directly influenced by Africa and its diaspora with figures including King Tubby, Coltrane, Fela and Jimi Hendrix.”

Kynsie: “This is the first time I’ve offered a selecta and I’m thrilled that it’s for the PAM Club series alongside my partner. Again, there is a lot of meaning and symbolism here. As a dancer, I am carried by the music. The sound is our first support and it occupies an essential place in our practice. For this mix, the idea was to propose something that echoes my origins while resonating with a pan-African electronic and experimental production. I chose a selection that could harmonize with Seb’s liveset but also fit into a global context of emancipation and affirmation of multiple black identities, with a final message delivered by Sault: it’s time for mentalities to evolve, especially concerning black and racialized people… for the present and the future. This generation cares.”

Tracklist:

1. Field recordings au village (Côte d’ivoire)
2. Slikback – Ar Mir Sanq Pac Aq Li
3. Gouro Kidz & family Voices – Field recordings au village (Côte d’ivoire)
4. KMRU – Mood (edit)
5. Munyasya – Kuri
6. Jako Maron – Maloya B5160-8 + Maloya valsé chok 1
7. I.R: Sankara Future Dub Resurgence – Silence joins sky & earth (witness the resurgence) / Forthcoming
8. Ethiopian Records – In my Sleep
9. Mr Raoul K – African Paradigm (Chapter 1-4)
10. [Wave Arising Liveset]
11. Dj Raph – Bird Trap
12. Sault – This Generation feat Laurette Josiah

The Servis Kwéni EP is still available here. Follow Wave Arising on Instagram, Facebook and Soundcloud.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 3 semaines

PAM Club : This Generation Cares par Wave Arising

Le patriarche techno 69dB et la danseuse Kynsie nous embarquent au cœur du projet Wave Arising, avec un set hors des sentiers battus entre live act et DJ set, en apesanteur.

« Les pieds enracinés, la tête dans le cosmos. » Telle est la définition de l’état d’esprit actuel du duo Wave Arising, qui a souhaité retranscrire l’énergie « Slow Rave » qui les anime en ce moment à travers un set atypique. Ramification du projet Dharma Techno, Wave Arising additionne musique et mouvement, transe et spiritualité, traditions et expérimentations, pour apprivoiser les corps et les esprits à travers des ateliers et prestations audiovisuelles, comme ils nous l’expliquaient dans une interview passionnante. Le musicien avant-gardiste écossais 69dB et la danseuse polyvalente d’origine réunionnaise et ivoirienne Kynsie improvisent tous les deux pour communier dans une thérapie technoïde qui repose entre autres sur les cultures tribales et maloya. En tentant d’élever les consciences tout en rappelant la place de l’identité noire dans notre culture, le duo nous propose un voyage de deux heures où le liveset de 69dB communie avec la sélection coup de cœur de sa compagne, en toute complicité.

Pan African Music · PAM Club : Wave Arising

69 dB : « Le liveset que l’on peut écouter en milieu de mix est une continuité du son “Dub Technic” que je développe depuis 1995. A travers le projet Wave Arising, je retrouve enfin un espace où ces sonorités peuvent de nouveau s’exprimer librement. Avec cette perspective de “Slow Rave” où l’on ressent consciemment l’énergie en entrant dans une transe douce. Comme à son habitude, la musique est improvisée et constituée d’éléments crées à partir de percussions de cuisine, de guitare, de voix ou encore de field recordings… Teintée de polyrythmies, ma musique est directement influencée par l’Afrique et sa diaspora avec des figures telles que King Tubby, Coltrane, Fela et Jimi Hendrix. »

Kynsie : « C’est la première fois que je propose une selecta et je suis ravie que ce soit pour la série PAM Club, qui plus est, en binôme avec mon partenaire. Ici encore, il y a beaucoup de sens et de symbolique. En tant que danseuse, je suis portée par la musique. Le son est notre support premier et il occupe une place essentielle dans notre pratique. Pour ce mix, l’envie était donc de faire une proposition qui fasse à la fois écho à mes origines tout en résonnant avec une production pan-africaine électronique et expérimentale. Une sélection qui puisse s’harmoniser avec le liveset de Seb mais qui s’imbrique également dans un contexte global d’émancipation et d’affirmation des multiples identités noires, avec un message final délivré par Sault : il est temps que les mentalités évoluent notamment concernant les personnes noires et racisées… Pour le présent et le futur. This generation cares. »

Tracklist :

1. Field recordings au village (Côte d’ivoire)
2. Slikback – Ar Mir Sanq Pac Aq Li
3. Gouro Kidz & family Voices – Field recordings au village (Côte d’ivoire)
4. KMRU – Mood (edit)
5. Munyasya – Kuri
6. Jako Maron – Maloya B5160-8 + Maloya valsé chok 1
7. I.R : Sankara Future Dub Resurgence – Silence joins sky & earth (witness the resurgence) / Forthcoming
8. Ethiopian Records – In my Sleep
9. Mr Raoul K – African Paradigm (Chapter 1-4)
10. [Wave Arising Liveset]
11. Dj Raph – Bird Trap
12. Sault – This Generation feat Laurette Josiah

L’EP Servis Kwéni est toujours disponible ici. Suivez Wave Arising sur Instagram, Facebook et Soundcloud.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé