→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
1 month ago

PAM Club: Miguel Colmenares’ Afro‑Venezuelan blood

This week in the PAM Club, the London-based Venezuelan Miguel Colmenares represents the Colectivo Futuro,  a cultural platform, and the label Olindo Records for a cutting-edge Afro-Venezuelan set that ranges from 1980s picks to today’s music.

Olindo Records released the excellent Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos album in 2020, in which ancestral rhythms mingled with jazz, funk and Afrobeat. This was demonstrative of a cornerstone of their vision: to focus on new music from Venezuela, especially its jazz and Afro-electronic iterations. Launched via the Colectivo Futuro platform, which brings together music and visual arts, Olindo also saw the birth of the sub-label Música Infinita this year, which was also dedicated to reissues. Its co-founder Miguel Colmenares, DJ and record collector for more than 15 years, is our guest today and gives us a glimpse into his soulful DJ sets with groove stimulated by his Caribbean roots.

“For this mix, I wanted to present a selection of older Afro-Venezuelan records, mainly from the 80s, mixed with more contemporary stuff from the 90s and up to the present day. This mix of periods was an important element for me because I wanted to show how Afro-Venezuelan music is still alive and thriving thanks to a host of musicians living both in the country and abroad. I also wanted to show the more traditional sounds of the legendary Un Solo Pueblo, Vasallos Del Sol and Grupo Madera alongside new artists who are fusing traditional music with other sounds and cultures, such as Orestes Gomez or Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos.”

Tracklist :

1. Field recording – El aguacate (décima) [Laffer]
2. Cumbé – Ciudad gris [Not on label]
3. Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos – La mariposa ft. Lya Bonilla (sangueo) [Olindo Records]
4. Grupo Madera – Saca la bandera (sangueo) / La playa (golpe) [Korta Record’s]
5. Pinton con ñema – De Barlovento [Somos]
6. Un Solo Pueblo – Rajuñao / Ají (tonada de quitiplás) [Promus]
7. Un dos tres y fuera – Tambor a toda costa [Discomoda]
8. Huracán de Fuego – Bomba que bomba [Nube Negra Records]
9. Son de Chuao – La cochina [PAN Records]
10. Betsayda Machado y la Parranda El Clavo – La situación [Olindo Records]
11. Grupo Vera – La pava [Not on label]
12. Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos – La carcajá [Self-released]
13. Orestes Gomez – Golpe Plaza [Self-released]
14. Afrocódigos – Homenaje ft. Luzmira Zerpa & Francisco Pacheco [Self-released]
15. McKlopedia & Orestes Gomez – Agua [Self-released]
16. Vasallos del Sol – Tambor de Tarmas [Fundación Bigott]
17. Villagers of Curiepe – Tonadas de quitiplás [PAN Records]
18. Field recording – Cantos de sirena [Ocora]

Find Olindo’s discography.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 1 mois

PAM Club : la fibre afro‑vénézuélienne de Miguel Colmenares

Cette semaine dans le PAM Club, le Vénézuélien basé à Londres Miguel Colmenares représente la plateforme culturelle Colectivo Futuro et le label Olindo Records dans une sélection afro-vénézuélienne pointue qui s’étale des années 80 à aujourd’hui.

Olindo Records est le label à qui l’on doit l’excellent album de Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos sorti en 2020, dans lequel les rythmes ancestraux croisaient le jazz, le funk et l’afrobeat. Il s’agit là d’une des pierres angulaires de cette structure qui choisit de se concentrer sur les nouvelles musiques du Venezuela, en particulier ses pendants jazz et afro-électroniques. Lancé via la plateforme Colectivo Futuro qui réunit musique et arts visuels, Olindo a également vu naître cette année le sous-label Música Infinita, logiquement dédié aux rééditions. Son co-fondateur Miguel Colmenares, DJ et collectionneur de disques depuis plus de 15 ans, est aujourd’hui notre invité et nous donne un aperçu de ses DJ sets soulful au groove stimulé par ses racines caribéennes.

« Pour ce mix, je voulais présenter une sélection de disques afro-vénézuéliens plus anciens, principalement des années 80, mélangés à des choses plus contemporaines des années 90 et jusqu’à nos jours. Ce mélange des périodes a été un élément important pour moi car je voulais montrer à quel point la musique afro-vénézuélienne est toujours vivante et florissante grâce à une foule de musiciens vivant à la fois dans le pays et à l’étranger. Je voulais également montrer les sons plus traditionnels des légendaires Un Solo Pueblo, Vasallos Del Sol et Grupo Madera aux côtés de nouveaux artistes qui fusionnent la musique traditionnelle avec d’autres sons et cultures, tels que Orestes Gomez ou Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos. »

Tracklist :

1. Field recording – El aguacate (décima) [Laffer]
2. Cumbé – Ciudad gris [Not on label]
3. Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos – La mariposa ft. Lya Bonilla (sangueo) [Olindo Records]
4. Grupo Madera – Saca la bandera (sangueo) / La playa (golpe) [Korta Record’s]
5. Pinton con ñema – De Barlovento [Somos]
6. Un Solo Pueblo – Rajuñao / Ají (tonada de quitiplás) [Promus]
7. Un dos tres y fuera – Tambor a toda costa [Discomoda]
8. Huracán de Fuego – Bomba que bomba [Nube Negra Records]
9. Son de Chuao – La cochina [PAN Records]
10. Betsayda Machado y la Parranda El Clavo – La situación [Olindo Records]
11. Grupo Vera – La pava [Not on label]
12. Raúl Monsalve y los Forajidos – La carcajá [Self-released]
13. Orestes Gomez – Golpe Plaza [Self-released]
14. Afrocódigos – Homenaje ft. Luzmira Zerpa & Francisco Pacheco [Self-released]
15. McKlopedia & Orestes Gomez – Agua [Self-released]
16. Vasallos del Sol – Tambor de Tarmas [Fundación Bigott]
17. Villagers of Curiepe – Tonadas de quitiplás [PAN Records]
18. Field recording – Cantos de sirena [Ocora]

Retrouvez la discographie du label Olindo ici, et plus d’infos sur Colectivo Futuro ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé