→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Muneyi’s “Makhulu”: lessons in love, loss and healing
© Zwavhudi Muavha

Muneyi’s Makhulu: lessons in love, loss and healing

The South African Venda-Folk singer unveils his first official body of work, inspired by a healing experience and a meeting with the gods.

Makhulu is a music project, but could also be seen as a well-written tale of an inspiring story. Indeed, the album is actually a full round journey that leaves you pondering on the meaning of life. And if life is at the centre of this sonic journey, it is because it has been inspired by one particular life: the one of Muneyi’s grandmother. In the opening song “Makhulu” for example, meaning grandmother in Tshivenda (South African language spoken in the Limpopo province), the artist sings about life values from his grandmother’s perspective. “From a young age, my grandmother has always instilled values of hard work, discipline and to always go for what I want”, the singer tells us. The subtle lyrics are accompanied by harmonizing saxophone, electric guitar and bass guitar from some of South Africa’s top instrumentalists. The song slows down to a beautiful bridge that almost feels like a breeze of fresh air, in which Muneyi emphasises show we should draw from the wisdom of our elders as they know better.

Muneyi – Makhulu 

The song “Makhulu” elegantly summarises the full body of work, setting the tone for the other tracks. The rest of the album slows down and mellows into a rich lyrical and musical abyss, transmitting different emotions. Pain is one of them, starting from the deeply significant cover of the album, portraying a South African pass, a document that black people had to carry to move freely during apartheid. But healing is also present. “Ndo Mu Wana” (“I have found him/her”) for example, is a magnificent song about love and destiny. “Mbidzo” is also a hopeful track about spiritual callings, that Muneyi describes by saying: “we all need the healing!”. The song features Zoë Modiga, another prominent actor of the lively South African indie scene.

My grandmother made all this possible, by existing as a powerful force”, the singer says on his social media. Force was indeed needed to produce this album, which is the result of a journey that started two years ago with the single “Lufuno” and went on with crowdfunding, live concerts and Afropunk Battle of the Bands competitions. But Makhulu is not only an ode to grandmothers. With this project, Muneyi hopes to connect, heal and inspire with his sound, deeply rooted in old Tshivenda folktales and modern sounds. Even if inspired by a specific period, we have no doubts “Makhulu” will be timeless.

Makhulu available on all platforms.

Listen to Muneyi in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
« Makhulu » de Muneyi : leçons d’amour, de perte et de guérison
© Zwavhudi Muavha

Makhulu de Muneyi : Leçons d’amour, de perte et de guérison

Le chanteur sud-africain de Venda-Folk dévoile son premier album, inspiré par une période de guérison et une rencontre avec les dieux.

Makhulu est un projet musical, mais peut également être ressenti comme un conte, ou un récit quelconque. En effet, l’album est un voyage qui fait réfléchir sur le sens de la vie. Et si la vie est au centre de cette odyssée sonore, c’est parce le projet a été inspiré de la vie de la grand-mère de Muneyi. . Dans le premier titre « Makhulu » par exemple, qui signifie grand-mère en Tshivenda (langue sud-africaine parlée dans la province du Limpopo), l’artiste chante les valeurs et les principes de la génération de sa grand-mère. « Depuis mon plus jeune âge, ma grand-mère m’a toujours inculqué les valeurs du travail, de la discipline et m’a toujours poussé à aller vers ce que je veux », nous dit le chanteur. Les paroles subtiles sont enjolivées par du saxophone, de la guitare électrique et de la basse, joués par certains des meilleurs instrumentistes d’Afrique du Sud. La chanson ralentit pour aboutir sur un pont, dans lequel Muneyi raconte à quel point nous devrions nous inspirer de la sagesse de nos aînés.

Muneyi – Makhulu

La chanson « Makhulu » résume élégamment l’ensemble de l’œuvre, donnant le ton aux autres morceaux. Le reste de l’album se fond dans un riche abîme lyrique et musical, transmettant différentes émotions. La douleur est l’une d’entre elles, à commencer par la couverture de l’album, profondément significative, représentant un « pass » sud-africain, document que les noirs devaient porter pour pouvoir se déplacer librement pendant l’apartheid. Mais la guérison est également omniprésente sur ce projet. « Ndo Mu Wana » (« Je l’ai trouvé/e »), par exemple, est une magnifique chanson sur l’amour et le destin. « Mbidzo » est aussi un titre plein d’espoir sur les appels spirituels, que Muneyi résume en disant : « nous avons tous besoin de la guérison ! ». Une chanson sur laquelle on retrouve Zoë Modiga, chanteuse de premier plan de la bouillonnante scène indie sud-africaine.

« Ma grand-mère a rendu tout cela possible, en existant comme une force puissante », déclare le chanteur sur ses réseaux sociaux. Il a effectivement fallu de la force pour produire cet album, qui est le résultat d’une aventure ayant commencée il y a deux ans avec le single « Lufuno ». Mais « Makhulu » n’est pas seulement une ode aux grands-mères. Avec ce projet, Muneyi espère toucher, guérir et motiver avec sa musique, profondément enraciné dans les folk populaires Tshivenda et les sons modernes. Bien qu’inspiré par une période spécifique, nous ne doutons pas que Makhulu sera intemporel.

Makhulu disponible sur toutes les plateformes.

Écoutez Muneyi dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé