→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Headie One in Tarantino mode with "Pound Signs" video

The British rapper is back with a new anti-capitalist track.

The Ghanaian-born London giant has released “Pound Signs,” a societal critique that references the British currency. The single opens with an excerpt from an interview with reggae legend Bob Marley, who dedicated his life to the fight against Babylon which, for Rastafarians, means a kind of hell on earth filled with splendour.

The clip visual was directed by DAPS, a collaborator of Kendrick Lamar. Inspired by the 1992 film Reservoir Dogs by Quentin Tarantino, the “the king of drill” plays a leader of a mafia-style organization. Hee describes the paradoxes that money brings, both a source of empowerment and a source of problems and a gateway to poverty of spirit.

Following the “Only You Freestyle” alongside Drake, Headie One has been on a mission to conquer the British scene, topping the charts with his album Edna, which was released in October 2020 and dedicated to his deceased mother.

Listen to Headie One in our Songs of the Week playlist Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Headie One en mode Tarantino dans le clip « Pound Signs »

Le rappeur britannique est de retour avec un nouveau single anticapitaliste.

Le géant londonien d’origine ghanéenne effectue une critique sociétale avec son nouveau titre, intitulé « Pound Signs », en référence à la monnaie britannique. Le morceau s’ouvre sur un extrait d’une interview de la légende du reggae Bob Marley, ayant dédié sa vie à la lutte contre Babylone, une sorte d’enfer terrestre empli de fastes pour les adeptes du rastafarisme.

Le clip a été réalisé par DAPS, ayant déjà collaboré avec Kendrick Lamar. La vidéo s’inspire notamment du film Reservoir Dogs de Quentin Tarantino, sorti en 1992, puisque l’homme qu’on appelle  « le roi de la drill »  y joue le rôle d’un chef d’une organisation faisant penser à une mafia. Il y relate les paradoxes de l’argent, à la fois source d’empowerment et de problèmes, voire de pauvreté d’esprit.

Après avoir sorti le single « Only You Freestyle » avec Drake, le rappeur populaire Headie One n’a cessé de conquérir le public britannique, arrivant en tête des charts avec son album Edna, paru en octobre 2020 et dédié à sa mère décédée.

Écoutez Headie One dans notre playlist Pan African Rap sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé