→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Sub Pop highlights the Kenyan duo Duma on new compilation

Two years after the release of their debut album on Nyege Nyege Tapes, the Kenyan grindcore phenomenon, Duma, releases two tracks on a new compilation, Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 6, compiled by the excellent Sub Pop label.

Comprised by vocalist Martin Khanja aka Lord Spike Heart and producer/guitarist Sam Karugu, Duma has become a reference point on Nairobi’s undeground punk-hardcore scene alongside Lust of a Dying Breed and Seeds of Datura. Though a metal radio station existed a few years ago, the band feels that metal music is generally perceived as satanic in the country: “People are tired and they’re fucking bored.”  In response, Sam Karugu offers: “fucked up music that I’ve never heard before.

Their self-titled debut album, released on Nyege Nyege Tapes in 2020, made a deep impression. Pitchfork even stated that “few records released this year capture both the chaos and anxiety of our current moment so well.” In Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 6, “Cannis” and “Mbukinya” expose the underground metal scene of the African continent through a subtle mix of genres, built through guitars, trap-electro and drums – a transformative cocktail of metal, punk and electronic music. Duma is renewing Kenyan music in a singular fashion.

Order Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 6, via Sub Pop Records.

Listen to Duma in our Afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Le label Sub Pop met en lumière le duo kenyan Duma dans sa nouvelle compilation

Deux ans après la sortie de leur premier album sur Nyege Nyege Tapes, le phénomène grindcore kenyan Duma signe deux titres sur la nouvelle compilation  de l’excellent label  Sub Pop, Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 6.

Composé par le chanteur Martin Khanja alias Lord Spike Heart et par le producteur et guitariste Sam Karugu, Duma s’est fait un nom dans la scène undeground punk hardcore de Nairobi aux côtés de Lust of a Dying, Breed et Seeds of Datura. Malgré l’existence d’une station de radio consacrée au metal, il y a quelques années, le groupe estime que cette musique est généralement perçue comme satanique. Le groupe estime ainsi qu’à Nairobi : « Les gens sont fatigués et ils s’emmerdent. » Sam Karugu propose donc :« Une musique barrée que je n’ai jamais entendue auparavant. »

Leur premier album éponyme, sorti sur Nyege Nyege Tapes en 2020, a profondément marqué les esprits. Pitchfork a même défini ce projet comme : « Peu de disques sortis cette année capturent mieux le chaos et l’anxiété de notre époque ». Dans Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 6, leurs chansons intitulées « Cannis » et « Mbukinya » révèlent la scène métal underground du continent africain, par le biais d’un subtil mélange des genres, entre guitares, trap-électro et batterie, transformant le métal, le punk et la musique électronique. Duma renouvelle ainsi totalement la scène musicale au Kenya.

Commandez Sub Pop Singles Club Vol. 6, via Sub Pop Records.

Écoutez Duma dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé