Glitterbeat Records to release field recording album of Ghanaian band fra fra

 

Glitterbeat has announced a new album in its Hidden Musics series from the trio fra fra from Tamale (Ghana) recorded live by producer and author Ian Brennan.

The versatile record label Glitterbeat has gone out to meet fra fra, a trio from Tamale in northern Ghana, named after the ethnic group living in this region. It was on the outskirts of the capital of the north of the country, on the dusty road in Tamale, Ghana, that Ian Brennan met the group. The leader’s name is Small, a man who celebrates his diminutive size rather than seeing it as a lack. He plays the two-string “Kologo guitar” with dog-tags fastened at the head as rattles. In addition to percussion, the fra fra play tiny flutes that they call “horns”, as they are made of this material.

With a long experience in field recording, Ian Brennan explains that this kind of music is played following the funeral procession. On that day, the sound engineer takes advantage of a halt of the band in front of a concession to take out as many mics as possible, he says that: “As funeral songs are often done in procession, I took the mics to the group when they seemed reluctant to enter the compound, instead gyrating in circles on the gravel outside. In recording, coverage is more important than precision. Every microphone tells a slightly different version of the truth, so I quickly threw up as many as possible.”

Each records offering only a fragment of reality, the difficulty is to cover the whole spectrum of the music produced by the trio: “Every microphone tells a slightly different version of the truth, so I quickly threw up as many as possible”. It’s in free performances that can last more than ten minutes that this record comes to life, the tunes and melodies evolving as the performance progressed, as if they were medleys. “I simply let tape roll until things fell apart, but even then I feared that still greater things may have lay beyond if only the musicians had kept going.” Brennan says: “When we were through, Small asserted that he could see that music was “in my blood.” But I protested. Music is in all of us. Rhythm must run through our very veins to carry life.”

The producer and grammy award winner draws a parallel with the funeral music of the New-Orleans marching bands, whose processions always end joyfully. Far from being a coincidence (the history of the slave trade obliges), the music of the Fra Fra is at once a music of celebration as well as a funeral music.

You can now listen to “Naked (You Enter & Leave This World with Nothing)”. A title that says it all: The most important things in this world can’t be bought. “Naked” is indeed how you enter and leave this world.

The album Funeral Songs is scheduled for April 24th on Glitterbeat Records.

Glitterbeat Records annonce un nouvel album du trio fra fra, enregistré live au nord du Ghana

Le label Glitterbeat annonce un nouvel album de sa série Hidden Musics du trio fra fra originaire de Tamale (Ghana) enregistré live par le producteur et auteur Ian Brennan.

Le label tout terrain Glitterbeat est parti à la rencontre de fra fra, un trio originaire de Tamale dans le nord du Ghana, qui porte le nom de l’ethnie qui vit dans cette région. C’est dans la périphérie de la capitale du Nord du pays, aux abords de la route poussiéreuse de Tamale (Ghana), que Ian Brennan a fait la rencontre du groupe. Le leader s’appelle Small, qui porte bien son nom (il est de petite taille) mais l’arbore avec fierté.  Il a choisi la « guitare » Kologo à deux cordes et utilise des petites plaques métalliques comme des sonnailles qu’il s’attache autour de la tête. En plus des percussions, les fra fra jouent des minuscules flûtes qu’ils appellent « des cornes », puisqu’elles sont faite de ce matériau.

Fort d’une longue expérience en field recording (enregistrement de terrain) Ian Brennan explique que ces musiques se jouent en suivant la procession funéraire. Ce jour là, l’ingénieur du son profite d’une halte du groupe devant une concession pour sortir autant de micros que possible, chacun d’eux n’offrant qu’une parcelle de la réalité, la difficulté est de couvrir tout le spectre de la musique produite par le trio. C’est dans des performances libres pouvant dépasser les dix minutes, que ce disque prend vie, les airs et mélodies évoluant au fil de la performance, comme s’il s’agissait de medleys « J’ai simplement laissé la bande tourner jusqu’à la fin, craignant entendre quelque chose d’encore plus grand si les musiciens avaient continué », raconte Brennan. « À la fin de la session, Small a affirmé qu’il pouvait voir que la musique était «dans mon sang». Mais j’ai protesté lui disant que la musique est en chacun de nous. »

Brennan fait un parallèle avec la musique funéraire des fanfares de la Nouvelle-Orléans, dont les processions se terminent toujours dans la joie. Loin d’être une coïncidence (histoire de la traite oblige), la musique des Fra Fra elle aussi est à la fois une musique de célébrations autant qu’une musique de funérailles.

On vous fait découvrir en avant-première un première extrait, le titre « Naked (You Enter & Leave This World with Nothing) ». Un titre qui en dit long : Les choses les plus importantes de ce monde ne peuvent pas être achetées. « Tout nu », c’est en effet ainsi qu’on rentre dans ce monde et qu’on en sort.

L’album Funeral Songs est prévu pour le 24 avril prochain sur le label Glitterbeat Records.

Lire ensuite :  le voyageur intersidéral frafra